The Golden Compass - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Golden Compass Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Emine Yildirim
Today's Zaman (Turkey)
February 29, 2016
Director Chris Weitz... manages to bring out the best in his ensemble cast and never fails to lose the attention of the viewer throughout 114 minutes.
David N. Butterworth
September 5, 2015
Begets the less than ringing endorsement, 'Yeah, whatever. It was OK I suppose.'
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Joshua Starnes
March 22, 2011
The Golden Compass isn't bad, it's cast is too good and it's too well made, but something fundamental to good storytelling - heart - has been lost, leaving a final product as icy and impossible to care for as Mrs. Coulter herself.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Fernando F. Croce
August 27, 2009
Excruciating pap
Steve Biodrowski
July 14, 2008
An engaging fantasy adventure that, albeit no masterpiece, is hardly the disaster one might have imagined.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Adam Tobias
Watertown Daily Times
May 20, 2008
I realize that when you make a book into a movie you cannot include every single detail, but it seems like Weitz purposely tried to take all of the magic out of the story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 1, 2008
This plot may sound somewhat ludicrous on paper, but Pullman has created a logical, well-thought-out world that Weitz has brilliantly translated to the big screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Prairie Miller
April 30, 2008
This kid film noir touching on magic dust substance abuse, cranky clerics, worrisome wizards, goth grownup child abusers and computer-generated homicidal polar bear throat slashers, is less likely to dazzle the senses than exhaust minds of all ages.
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
April 24, 2008
...if I hadn't liked Pullman's books so much, I probably would have liked this movie version more than I did.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Rossiter Drake
San Francisco Examiner
April 9, 2008
Will it be enough to satisfy fans of Philip Pullman's widely read 'His Dark Materials' trilogy? Hard to say. But for the uninitiated this is an engaging adventure, even when Chris Weitz's screenplay lacks the compelling clarity of Pullman's prose.
| Original Score: 3/4
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
March 4, 2008
Sam Elliott shows up as a cowboy, who would normally be a pick-me-up, but with Golden Compass I just wanted to find my direction home.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Brandon Fibbs
Colorado Springs Gazette
February 28, 2008
The Golden Compass should be fun, but it rarely is. It should sweep you away, but it rarely does. For a film suffused with magic, it is, regrettably, far from magical.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Bob Grimm
Reno News and Review
February 25, 2008
No, I didn't read the novel before seeing the film, and nothing in this shimmering disaster made me want to read it, either. Made me hate polar bears, and I used to love the darned things, so that's saying something.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 16, 2008
Read this review, skip this movie, and instead read the excellent books. Poor Dakota Blue Fanning is the perfect Lyra in a terrible adaptation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
February 2, 2008
A beautiful, thought-provoking fantasy film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly
January 29, 2008
Lyra surpasses the timid drone of Pan's Labyrinth or the Pevensies' do-gooder sap, she's brave, smart, and the best liar in the universe.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Christian Toto
Washington Times
January 19, 2008
This Compass points to the end of a would-be franchise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Cynthia Fuchs
January 17, 2008
Suggesting at once Mrs. Coulter's devotion to her Magisterial mission, her fears of soulful and sensual embodiment, and yes, her own split self, her slap-and-hug of her damon all but stops the film's action.
Michael W. Phillips, Jr.
Goatdog's Movies
January 14, 2008
Deus ex machina ... is the only driving force.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
January 14, 2008
koyrastika amihani kai sygkehymeni kritiki sto thriskeytiko systima, den parehei oyte kata dianoia arketo allothi gia toys ano ton 16 na asholithoyn idiaitera me aytin tin yperparagogi, poy ehei aytapates megaleioy tin ora poy pashei sto rythmo kai ti syn
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 10