Inside Man - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Inside Man Reviews

Page 1 of 786
October 9, 2017
'Inside Man' is a fun bank robbery to watch. It doesn't pretend to be something it's not, and is buoyed by the charisma of it's lead, Denzel Washington. Spike Lee directs with nuance, and takes what could have been a clunky film and smooths out the rough edges. It's a smart joint that should have your attention from the opening bell. Final Score: 8.1/10
October 8, 2017
SPOILER DOWN BELOW...

This movie was so lame. The music is too hip sounding to make it sound like a thriller movie. Don't waste your time on this ridiculous movie.
The bank robbers kept threatening to kill anyone who disobeyed but they never shot anyone even those who disobeyed. Why did Denzel play bad cop to all the hostages back at the precinct?! It was soooo over the top. Jodie Foster's relationship with bank owner during their encounter was ridiculous as well. "The nuclear code numbers" blah blah. He's an owner of a bank not the Kim Jung-Un or whatever. Why are they hassling the Sikh guy as well?!
The hostage who is like "if they want to shoot me for taking off my mask then go on ahead" then he starts yelling. The hostage with the hearing aids can still hear even though his hearing aids aren't in his ears anymore? Why aren't the cops killing the three bank robbers who came out for the pizza?
This movie is the worst. This is not a "smart" genre film as much as it was a complete waste of time.
October 2, 2017
This film is brimming with suspense and will definitely keep your interest the whole way through. It's intelligent, deep and unpredictable. Worth seeing.
September 30, 2017
Catchy heist movie by Spike Lee. Nice performance of Denzel Washington too.
Super Reviewer
½ September 30, 2017
Don't look too closely, because a lot of this simply doesn't make sense. Beyond that consideration though it can be a wee bit of fun. Spike Lee gives each of his international cast of New Yorkers screen time to lay down their plot points and get out of the way, one has the feeling of being at a theater party. Standouts include Jodie Foster's slimy hatchet man, Willem Dafoe good guy (for once!!!) cop and, of course, Chris Plummer's Nazi collaborator (they'll put in on his tombstone!). Good fun all around.
September 8, 2017
Brilliant with Denzel truly representin' and Clive cute and clever as usual...an Underrated Joint Film. I also adore
August 11, 2017
Great heist Drama movie. Not seen many of Spike Lee's work, but this one has to be one of his best.

AMC Barrett Parkway 24
July 30, 2017
This is the second time I watch this movie. The best robbery movie at all time...
June 8, 2017
sure hit heist classic
June 1, 2017
smart film brill cast unusual plot great performances
½ May 29, 2017
Da grande fan di heist movie le mie aspettative per questo film erano elevate, ma in fin dei conti sono rimasto piuttosto deluso. Sotto gli aspetti tecnici il film convenzionale e accademico: la colonna sonora fuori luogo, la fotografia banale e il film in generale diretto senza uno stile preciso e senza scelte originali. Se sotto gli aspetti tecnici non eccelle, ha i suoi buoni momenti sulla trama e sulla sceneggiatura. Tralasciando rari dialoghi ridicoli, il film ha una storia ben strutturata e ben pensata, che funziona grazie ad un antagonista motivato, intelligente e realistico. Purtroppo questi aspetti positivi non riescono a salvare un film che non riuscito a coinvolgermi come voleva, soprattutto per la mancanza inaccettabile di uno stile personale e unico di un regista come Spike Lee.
½ March 28, 2017
Not bad, but a little slow and odd at times.
March 24, 2017
What's the meaning of inside man? Who's inside the game....... seems to be the criticism to the wealth, while the candle stand implies the most iconic moment in the movie.
March 14, 2017
Clive Owen carries this smart heist thriller as best he can, but Inside Man is overall a forgettable experience.
½ January 30, 2017
Had the feeling of a brian grazer production...perhaps would have ben better with Ron Howard taking the wheel...
January 25, 2017
Even a good Spike Lee film is shit.
½ January 10, 2017
An entertaining heist movie with some good plot twists. Denzel Washington carries this film from start to finish with a good supporting cast as well. Clive Owen, Jodie Foster, William Dafoe, Christopher Plummer, and Chiwetel Ejiofor are all good as well. This is a good addition to the bank robbing genre. Good job Spike Lee.
January 3, 2017
It's good movie to watch
½ December 29, 2016
Here's a film that rates just a little bit lower every time I see it. In many ways it's a decent genre exercise. A clear work-for-hire for Lee, but he clearly takes the assignment seriously and adds a lot of interesting touches to what could be generic fodder, and attracts a fine cast in the process. What he can't really fix though is a screenplay that needed more work. It has a good set up and at least one decent twist, but it drags it's feet during the middle hour and introduces entire characters (Jodie Foster) that are nothing but pointless red herrings. In the end, I can't buy a critical plot point that without spoiling anything, involves my needing to believe that Christopher Plummer is at least 20 years older than he clearly is, and would still be the active chairman of a major bank even if he was.
Page 1 of 786