Isn't She Great - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Isn't She Great Reviews

Page 1 of 4
½ June 19, 2016
Bette Midler stars in this autobiographical tale of the "Valley of the Dolls " writer and her ups and downs throughout her literary career.
½ August 17, 2014
(First and only viewing - December 2009)
½ March 4, 2013
Cute and entertaining
½ January 5, 2013
Bette Midler pulled through, but there was just something missing... and it was missing the entire film.
½ July 16, 2012
No, she isn't. Not in this movie, anyway.
½ May 12, 2012
what a disappointment. i couldn't even watch the whole movie. it was that bad... and I really like all of the actors here. save yourself the time. its really slow and cheesy.
½ September 27, 2011
what a disappointment. i couldn't even watch the whole movie. it was that bad... and I really like all of the actors here. save yourself the time. its really slow and cheesy.
September 2, 2011
This was a huge disapointment for me. You have a talented cast:Bette Midler, Nathan Lane, John Cleese, David Hyde Pierce, Stockard Channing and Amanda Peet. Plus, a talented screenwriter Paul Rudnick(In & Out)and a talented director Andrew Bergman(The Freshman)now why did this movie failed? The film does not flow very well and the movie seems choppy due to large portions of this film probably ended up on the cutting room floor giving the audiences no time to care for the two main characters and the supporting players are used as decorations and wasted. Midler tends to become annoying in certain places and not allowing sympathy in key moments like her struggle with cancer. Channing delivers the one liners with such zest, she would have captured the spirit of Jacqueline Susann better than Midler. The enjoyable scenes are with Midler and Pierce but if the movie would have been a satire instead of being a biopic, it would have worked.
August 27, 2011
Isn't She Great? More like Isn't She Awful? This movie is fast paced and more of a spoof rather than a bio-pic. It has a ghastly script and the cast seems very energetic like they wanted to get this movie over with! I can see why!!
½ July 25, 2011
one of the best comedies ive ever seen , its was soo good , and it was formed as a film almost like a drama , it was just great ... good job on Bette midler and Nathan lanes parts... good job :)
½ July 24, 2011
The story left me a bit cold, but Bette Midler was great.
½ June 30, 2011
many perfect sentences, soooo funny!
April 23, 2011
A great comedy, and that pink dog makes it worth seeing as well.
½ January 17, 2011
even w/ quite a few comedians, this movie's still not as funny as it could've been.
November 11, 2010
It was ok, not great but ok
March 3, 2010
Loads of fun and sweet. Very enjoyable performances by all.
½ December 31, 2009
She's not that great
November 1, 2009
the movie wasn t so great but Midler is always!!
June 9, 2009
It was funny but not really what I had expected at the time.
½ June 5, 2009
Disappointing comedy with too much talent gone to waste. The sort of thing you'd watch on TV on a rainy Sunday afternoon if it happens to be on.
Page 1 of 4