Keep the Lights On - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Keep the Lights On Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Super Reviewer
December 9, 2015
The kind of gay-themed drama that is becoming increasingly rare nowadays: one that is brutally honest and devastating like real love can be when ruined by drug addiction and by one person's dependence on another - which, if at first enraging, earns its place as the true core of the story.
November 29, 2015
For me this story is uneven and not fully developed I never quite sure what is the catalyst for any of the decisions eric and paul make and in the context of the narrative, while we are meant to feel sympathy or empathy for erik I found him to be a vain and ego driven narcissist, not at all someone I eouod "care" about
July 25, 2015
good honest unfliching look at the complexities of relationships
April 11, 2015
One of the very few gay films of late that actually has something of meaning to both show and say.
February 13, 2015
It's a wonderful film though many find it incredibly depressing, which doesn't really bother me at all.
January 21, 2015
A real perspective to the harshness of every day life and the doom of relationships.
½ January 11, 2015
Beautifully told and shot, Keep The Lights On really stands out from the crowded field of Gay Indie Films.
January 3, 2015
Great realistic emotional movie!
December 30, 2014
Beautifully filmed and heart breaking.
November 26, 2014
Las historias de amor en la vida real raramente son ideales. La unión física y emocional entre dos personas deja sus secuelas y es difícil mantener un balance. Erik y Paul son una pareja que no lo logran. Se conocen durante una llamada erótica y deciden encontrarse cara a cara para tener relaciones. Es claro desde el principio que tienen una gran química sexual, pero eso es todo. En contra de todos los pronósticos empiezan una relación, y es al principio cuando Erik es testigo de el uso de drogas de Paul, pero no le da gran importancia. Esto más adelante será la razón más importante por la cual deciden no seguir juntos, pero antes recorren un camino tortuoso, donde el amor que Erik siente por Paul es lo que los mantiene a flote.

Erik interpretado por Thure Lindhardt es un hombre que no tiene mayores ambiciones. Vive una vida simple llena de sexo casual, y es un aspirante cineasta. Paul interpretado por Zachary Booth es en la superficie el más estable de los dos. Tiene un trabajo estable, pero las drogas arruinan toda su vida. Durante toda la película me pregunté quien era Paul. Mientras que conocemos a Erik y sabemos sus intenciones, Paul se mantiene como un enigma. Una frase de la crítica de Ebert hacia esta película se ha quedado conmigo y es la mejor descripción de Keep the Lights On. Dice: " That's what I took away from the film: How a chunk of Erik's life broke loose under the power of another person he could never understand."

Uno simpatiza con Erik por su inocencia al pensar que puede rescatar a Paul sólo con su amor. Una escena en particular demuestra el final de su relación y lo que uno hace para salvar algo que inevitablemente está roto. Paul en una de sus desapariciones, invita a Erik a una habitación que esta alquilando especialmente para drogarse, y luego de un rato le pide que se vaya. Erik no entiende su cambio de parecer, hasta que un hombre entra con intenciones de tener sexo, y Erik acepta esta situación y los escucha desde la otra habitación. En un momento Erik entra y se sienta en la cama y le agarra la mano a Paul con ternura pero con un dolor que lo carcome por dentro. Esta escena es una de las más crudas que he visto y su carga emocional me dejó sin palabras. Lo que uno está dispuesto a hacer por aquel que ama.

En retrospectiva, durante la película no recuerdo casi momentos felices entre los dos, sólo sufrimiento y deseos un cambio. Su relación se basa en algo superficial, y no puede mantenerse a flote por más que Erik trate. Es doloroso ver como no se rinde, y esa es su propia adicción. Su relación con Claire, su amiga y potencial madre de su hijo como bromeaban, es la estabilidad que tanto le falta en su vida. Sus consejos y preocupación son sinceros, y es la única constante que tiene.

La ´última escena, donde es Paul le da un ultimatum a Erik. Tiene dos opciones, mudarse juntos o terminar la relación para siempre. Es Erik quien se retracta de su decisión. Se nota que tuvo que sacar fuerza de donde no tenía para finalmente alejarse de Paul. La despedida entre los dos me rompió el corazón, porque a pesar de que no estaban destinados a estar juntos desde el principio, existe una complicidad y cariño luego de pasar tantos años juntos que es innegable. Tanto sacrificio y sufrimiento para estar juntos, y todo eso se acabó en 1 segundo.

Keep the Lights On es una película cruda acerca de la relación entre dos personas. No es fácil verla porque es inevitable relacionarse con situaciones de tu vida. El realismo termina siendo lo que más impacto tiene y cada persona se puede reflejar en los personajes ya que se sienten tan cercanos especialmente a Erik, y el personaje de Paul es un misterio. El director Ira Sachs se basó en sus experiencias para dirigir esta película, y me pregunto si esta decisión fue tomada a propósito o inconsciente ya que era demasiado doloroso para él recordar o simplemente porque así ve su relación con un poco de distancia.
Super Reviewer
½ September 10, 2014
A word of warning: It took me several days to pick myself up off my own puddle of tears after watching this film. Keep the Lights On goes well beyond the boy-likes-boy storyline. It progresses as an alluring and intimate story of two charming men, Erik and Paul, meeting and tenderly falling for one another. But their soon-to-be romance tale is contorted by Paul's consistent drug abuse, landing him in hospitals and rehab centers. The damaging struggles they deal with tear at their relationship in this deeply moving yet cynically somber film. Ultimately, its striking realism makes it important viewing.
½ September 8, 2014
Rather entertaining.
August 19, 2014
Sleek, modern, and grounded in realism, "Keep the Lights On" is an effortlessly effective romance that I didn't want to end.
½ August 9, 2014
An often painful and brutally honest look at love and romance. This film proves that gender makes absolutely no difference... love is love.
June 4, 2014
I don't really enjoy the whole movie. Maybe this is how real life is where romance doesn't happen always but I do think that the development of the whole story is just too heavy for me to handle and digest.
May 9, 2014
Average and infuriating even if the lead was great.
May 1, 2014
It was quite a good film, albeit a little shallow. The love was not convincing enough at times, it was also hard to believe the addiction and the way Paul was still able to keep a job. The sex was hot, though :)
½ April 5, 2014
Una película de amor entre dos hombres, la relación tiene sus altibajos. Mucho drama y un poco pesada.
½ February 13, 2014
THOUGHT PROVOKING...

and presented through the eyes of an almost naive character. The good times are few and the bad times seem to overshadow the few good memories. The ending, although probably the best possible decision both main characters could have made, was still painful and nothing was as hard-hitting for the viewers as the lack of outward show of emotion during an event we all knew must have torn both of them inside. Thure Lindhardt made a lifetime fan of me after his performance in this movie
Page 1 of 7