Lady in the Water - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lady in the Water Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Luke Goodsell
Empire Magazine Australasia
November 7, 2012
Once again Shyamalan is a maddening storyteller, by turns inspired and insipid, and he still manages to conjure some odd, unnerving moments.
| Original Score: 2/5
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 30, 2009
Peevishly defensive, intransigently personal and serenely indifferent to critical (and audience) reaction
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
While the film's performances are intriguing and the direction tight, Shyamalan's fairytale ends up being more interesting than the actual film.
Steve Biodrowski
ESplatter
July 4, 2008
... to put it bluntly, badly paced and completely trivial, not to mention utterly juvenile.
Amber Wilkinson
Eye for Film
June 13, 2008
This could have made a decent movie but the mythology comes so thick and fast that it mixes to a slurry as you watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Brian Holcomb
Beyond Hollywood
April 20, 2008
What is most annoying about "Lady" is that no one ever considers the possibility that nothing magical is actually occurring.The film starts out silly and just gets sillier.
Brandon Fibbs
BrandonFibbs.com
February 28, 2008
While I love where Night's head and heart are at, I think he tried to communicate them in a way that was clumsy, cumbersome, lacking in suspense and menace, and frankly, unexciting.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com
July 23, 2007
Ignore the critics on this movie. Yeah, I am one. Which means I'm telling you to ignore me, too.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jamie Gillies
Apollo Guide
April 25, 2007
The film is a mess, a ramshackle affair. Its silliness cannot sustain itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 52/100
March 24, 2007
It's a fairy tale that never flies the way it should.
Frank Lovece
Film Journal International
February 7, 2007
We get it. We just don't want it. Because this Lady is the Showgirls of fantasy films.
James O'Ehley
Sci-Fi Movie Page
December 28, 2006
High on talk-heavy exposition and low on actual scares and thrills . . .
Michael A. Smith
Nolan's Pop Culture Review
December 13, 2006
A return to storytelling in the first order, "Lady in the Water" is highly recommended.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
December 8, 2006
Once the filmmaker spells everything out for us in the first fifteen or twenty minutes, the rest of the plot simply unfolds in a jumbled series of incomprehensible events.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Jason Anderson
CBC.ca Arts
November 4, 2006
Lady in the Water exposes Hollywood's master of suspense as a wet noodle.
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
October 30, 2006
review in Greek
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Enrique Buchichio
Uruguay Total
October 4, 2006
El director toca fondo con una fábula para adultos tan ridícula como pretenciosa. Solo Paul Giamatti logra mantener a flote este fiasco.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Todd Hertz
Christianity Today
September 25, 2006
It lacks the heart that made you care when you realized Sixth Sense's secret. It lacks the connection with the characters that made Signs' ending feel so triumphant.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
September 20, 2006
I've not been overly impressed with Shyamalan's last few films, but this one is better.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
RogerEbert.com
September 13, 2006
[Perhaps it's] improvised and protracted, nonsensically and unnecessarily, just for the sake of stringing us along. And, maybe, putting us to sleep.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 11