Les géants (The Giants) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Les géants (The Giants) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Super Reviewer
½ March 1, 2016
Reminiscent of Stand By Me and Mean Creek, only without the golden nostalgia of the former and the bite of the latter, The Giants is beautifully shot and engrossing enough while it lasts.
August 6, 2014
"The Giants" is Stand By Me's style blends with Tom Sawyer's. Authentic, fun and fit performances.
½ February 6, 2014
Not exactly gripping but very interesting nonetheless. And the three young actors nailed it.
½ November 30, 2013
Stand By Me, Belgium edition.
williamhunt2
Super Reviewer
½ September 20, 2013
Huckleberry Fin set in the Ardennes. The fantastic sound track by 'The Bony King of Nowhere' is what lifts this film up. It scored two prizes in the Quainzaine des Réalisateurs section in Cannes
January 30, 2013
While beautifully shot this movie suffers of flat and implausible plot. Big up for the performance of the three teenagers which makes the movie, somehow, more interesting...
December 16, 2012
Sporadically beautiful and engaging, but it soon gets restless and meanders off into the unknown, which was a little disheartening.
November 19, 2012
The best thing to come out of Brussels? This film is charming and childish.
November 4, 2012
On se demande ou va nous mener cette histoire invraisemblable qui toutefois repose quelque part en chacun de nous. Trois ados en vacances, photographie de ces instants que l on vie entre l enfance et l age adulte ou il n existe aucune place. Pourtant Bouli Lanners réussi a évoquer ces quelques instants de plénitude que nous ne revivrons que très rarement. Dérision, spontanéité et volonté sont bien de la partie et si le trait a parfois été grossi de façon rocambolesque, les sentiments s expriment avec finesse et densité. Un film magnifique, inspirant et intemporel.
September 25, 2012
Though not much is going on, the saturated colours and high visibility of luminescent greens mean almost every scene is a marvel of childhood fantasy.
½ September 25, 2012
Avec "Eldorado", on avait découvert, en la personne de Bouli Lanneers, un cinéaste singulier qui observait son environnement avec un mélange d'humanisme, de fatalité et d'humour noir et filmait son pays natal en lui rendant ses couleurs (contrairement aux frères Dardenne, les seuls réalisateurs à pouvoir vous persuader qu'un bidonville roumain, c'est quand même mieux que chez vous). En suivant les pérégrinations d'une bande d'ados livrés à eux-mêmes, "Les géants" emprunte à son tour la voie du road-movie rural teinté de l'esprit des contes de fées : pour ces jeunes pas tout à fait sortis de l'enfance, les figures adultes rencontrées deviennent celles de l'ogre ou de la bonne fée. Si "Les géants" est incontestablement une oeuvre originale, imaginative et parfois drôle, il tourne pourtant assez vite en rond, et on ne peut s'empêcher d'y voir à nouveau à l'oeuvre le syndrome de moyen-métrage artificiellement gonflé et étiré en longueur. En revanche, on peut mettre au crédit de Bouli Lanneers de s'approprier avec talent, pour mieux le "régionaliser", un genre aussi typiquement américain que le road-movie. Si le concept de "Belgique" s'accorde a priori mal avec celui "d'immensités vierges", le réalisateur contourne on ne sait trop comment l'obstacle une fois de plus : si, dans "Eldorado" la Hesbaye semblait devenir une de ces plaines infinies du Midwest, c'est cette fois la Semois c'est la Semois qui se met à prendre les allures du Mississippi et les Ardennes, du bayou de Louisiane !
August 14, 2012
nice atmosphere and not too long but really nothing happens in this movie.
July 28, 2012
Not that good, really.
July 14, 2012
A Huckleberry Fin and friends movie for the summer hols
½ March 23, 2012
un road movie sous forme de conte bien dans l esprit de bouli lanners
March 8, 2012
Un roadmovie initiatique bourre d'envie de vrai cinoche avec des grands espaces pour projeter des reves demesures de momes qui n'en sont deja plus vraiment. Un chouette sentiment de liberte avec des jeunes interpretes bien diriges qui font oublier un peu les inconsequences du scenario.
½ February 14, 2012
Not the kind of film you have any chances to remember for the rest of your life.
February 12, 2012
The tale of growing up: During watching this film, I was a bit sceptical. It's true that some scenery shots are truly beautiful and some scenes are (supposed to be) funny. I find the humor is somewhat predictable, or it is just not my kind of humor. But I give this film a credit because one single message that comes over me. It came at the end of the movie.

The story tells a friendship among three teenagers, two of them are brothers. They are raised at an unlucky environment: lack attention of parents, an older brother who beats and sells and uses drugs. With their still naive view of the world, they try to have fun and survive.

The two brothers are left alone in their dead grandpa's house in a village. The parents seem not to care. They are having fun with a joyride in their grandpa's car, smoking joints and stealing food from the neighbour's cellar. So far so good, until they run out of money. They are told that they can earn money by renting the house for weed planting. From here things are gone wrong and they are forced to move out of the house with very little money. This is a recipe for a story: adventure, humorous and heartbreaking scenes.

The film did not succeed to intrigue me. It was somewhat predictable and it does not offer something new, in my opinion. Bit if you seek for an evening of good entertainment, this film would not disappoint you. It is 'light', but with a somewhat serious message. These young people finally choose adventure above security, a daring and exciting choice. Adventure into the wild, at the same time beautiful landscape. It's a symbol of growing up.
½ November 20, 2011
Pas vraiment ce à quoi je m'attendais, dà (C)çu...
½ October 19, 2011
nice moments of humour between the teenagers, let down a bit by stereotyped minor characters
Page 1 of 2