Showgirls - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Showgirls Reviews

Page 1 of 153
June 20, 2017
Not a good film by any standard, except for maybe its glitter-spangled scenery and the amusement of the ineptitude provided by its performers! Characters that are so thin, they disappear any time they turn sideways, and then have you going "Oh yeah, 'her." Complete, filth, and such schlock that Douglas Sirk would be proud!
April 26, 2017
This Film Did Get A ''Two Thumbs Down'' On Siskel & Ebert.
April 25, 2017
I absolutely love this movie. Watched it for the first time 17 years ago and still loving it today. Seen it 10+ times. It's so trashy that it's good.
½ February 14, 2017
all this is one really bad porno
½ February 11, 2017
Was this supposed to be a dark comedy? The codeine and the Carolla\Robert Davi commentary from Groove music made it bearable. 20 years on, history is not kind to this abomination.
February 3, 2017
Esse filme ter o rótulo de um dos piores dos anos 90 é uma das maiores injustiças da história do cinema. Concordo que o longa tem defeitos, o roteiro tem diálogos pavorosos e alguma atuações são muito fracas, mas vejo esse filme do grande Paul Verhoeven como uma grande crítica ao show business e a indústria, ao mesmo tempo em que faz uma jornada de alto afirmação feminina. É objetivo e brega, como se propõe desde o início e mostra como o diretor é muito direto em sua abordagens, sem medo de causar polêmica. É um filme que merece ser redescoberto. É a obra prima do Verhoeven? Longe disso, mas também não é nem de longe o fracasso que foi dito.
½ January 19, 2017
Stupid. Not worth your time
January 11, 2017
not great but a lot of fun to look at
January 6, 2017
Showgirls (1995) C-131m. ?? D: Paul Verhoeven. Elizabeth Berkley, Kyle MacLachlan, Gina Gershon, Glenn Plummer, Robert Davi, Alan Rachins. Ludicrous film about young drifter who arrives in Las Vegas and has uncontrollable urge to become a top Vegas showgirl. Needlessly long and overencumbered with hideous acting, ghastly dialogue, though there's no shortage of female nudity . . . Totally inept film is also reminiscent of some of the decade's worst reviews (and is now often considered "so bad it's good") but I can't promise that you'd actually enjoy it. Written by Joe Eszterhas, clearly with something else on his mind.
November 23, 2016
This movie is much better than it gets credit for. Yes it was over-hyped, but it certainly doesn't warrant a 19% score. Its a great middle of the day cable TV movie.
Super Reviewer
November 14, 2016
I'm undecided over whether or not the film is actually some brilliant satire (you can make strong arguments either way), but it's undeniably re-watchable and hilarious.
November 11, 2016
Lovely women's lingerie and Beauty things frilly and girly ! What's not to love. . mmm really good time! !
June 28, 2016
Liz Berkeley tried way too hard to make anyone of us care one bit!
Just post this on pornhub and call it free to watch already!
June 27, 2016
Stripper falls in love in this cheesy erotica drama.
½ May 8, 2016
Yes everybody knows Showgirls is a bad movie. But I think it's good to watch bad movies from time to time. Not only because they are often unintentionally funny. But also because if you pick them apart and analyze them to find out what went wrong, you'll have a new found respect for story structure and filmmaking in general.
½ April 22, 2016
what the hell was in that suitcase...
½ April 20, 2016
Since I just turned 17, i took a look at this film. To be honest, i really loved, and enjoyed it.
While the overall story may look thin, Showgirls shows that is an intense, emotional and entertaining film. All the credit goes to Elizabeth Berkley's blowsy and most importantly ''very cute" performance. Thumbs Up ð'Ã,?ðÃ,? 1/4 Delivers the Goods.
April 2, 2016
I couldn't think of a better movie to watch before my trip to Vegas.

A lot of people complain that Showgirls is over the top, trashy, and ridiculous. That is EXACTLY what Vegas is! This film perfectly captures the essence of what Las Vegas is without sugar coating it. The environment that this film portrays could only exist in Las Vegas. On the surface LV seems like a glamourous place, but on the inside its a very gritty and sleazy place. The visuals in this film only add to the perfect environment that Verhoeven has created. There are some truly masterful shots of the city in the backdrop throughout the entire film.

I personally love all the performances. Kyle MacLachlan plays the ultimate slime ball. Elizabeth Berkley plays a character that is just trying to make it in this world and she will do whatever it takes to get there. Gina Gershon plays the perfect villainous goddess. Both of these ladies are so fierce and I was captivated by both of them. Everyone in this film over-acts, but that's the point!

Showgirls is a movie I will defend until the day I die. This film is a look at the America's obsession with money, power, and fame and how the three are intertwined in the downfall of our culture. Money, power, and fame changes people and usually for the worse. This film is a perfect exploitation and satire of America. This film is not so bad its good. Showgirls is genuinely a great film. I also have to give a ton of credit to Joe Eszterhas, the writer. This film's script is perfect. Do we really think the master of satire, Paul Verhoeven didn't know what he was doing with this film?
March 27, 2016
Just all kinds of bad, but maybe I'm missing the satire premise. Exploitation as hell.
March 20, 2016
Elizabeth Barkley ð~?
Page 1 of 153