Showgirls - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Showgirls Reviews

Page 1 of 153
½ October 14, 2017
So I do not know why the movie gets a tonne of libel and I would also like to know why this movie always appears on lists of the worst movies of all time.

Showgirls is fucking awesome. The film is clearly a parody on the whole 80s sex movies and the exaggerated Stage-Shows and of course a satire how Hollywood treated their actresses.

In addition, it is an art to make a film with so much skin, nudity, women with model body, wiggling butt + breasts and yet the film is not a bit erotic. [BRAVO]


I do not know if Paul is 100% serious about the film or not, whether he did it all on purpose or not. But every case he is a whole man that he has accepted the "Golden Raspberry" and still stands to the film and you know what I am doing the same:
In my book is Showgirls is one of the best films of all time.
½ October 3, 2017
There are so many reasons to hate on this movie. For me what it boils down to is the character of Nomi. I simply hate her. She's rude, crude and socially unacceptable. Her sudden and violent mood swings leave me to question her mental health. If I don't care about the main character, why should I care about what is happening in her world?

I don't blame actress Elizabeth Berkley. She was only doing what she was told to do. I blame Joe Eszterhas, the writer who created Nomi. Have you ever met a woman, Joe? Have you ever met a human being? Judging by the dialogue you wrote, I don't believe you have.
½ September 29, 2017
one of the best unintentional comedies ever
September 21, 2017
I Don't Watch And Get Critically Panned Movies On DVD And At The Theater.
August 8, 2017
Story about a woman who "works" her way up the ladder to become a famous showgirl in Vegas. One of those its so bad that its good movies. Some of the dialog in this is unintentionally hilarious. Doggy chow. LOL. The nudity wasn't even needed really. It kind of hurts the movie. But I do like this movie.
July 4, 2017
Hi, Elizabeth Berkeley did a great job. She sold out to the part. This movie is a bit much in the nudity department. I had to take three intermissions to make sure I didn't get caught up in the lustness of nudity. Particular points I took breaks were the first a place she worked at boss makes a comment about what you have to do on the job in the first week. Second and third were the sex scenes with each of her potential mates. Thanks. God bless. Aaron
June 20, 2017
Not a good film by any standard, except for maybe its glitter-spangled scenery and the amusement of the ineptitude provided by its performers! Characters that are so thin, they disappear any time they turn sideways, and then have you going "Oh yeah, 'her." Complete, filth, and such schlock that Douglas Sirk would be proud!
April 25, 2017
I absolutely love this movie. Watched it for the first time 17 years ago and still loving it today. Seen it 10+ times. It's so trashy that it's good.
½ February 14, 2017
all this is one really bad porno
½ February 11, 2017
Was this supposed to be a dark comedy? The codeine and the Carolla\Robert Davi commentary from Groove music made it bearable. 20 years on, history is not kind to this abomination.
February 3, 2017
Esse filme ter o rótulo de um dos piores dos anos 90 é uma das maiores injustiças da história do cinema. Concordo que o longa tem defeitos, o roteiro tem diálogos pavorosos e alguma atuações são muito fracas, mas vejo esse filme do grande Paul Verhoeven como uma grande crítica ao show business e a indústria, ao mesmo tempo em que faz uma jornada de alto afirmação feminina. É objetivo e brega, como se propõe desde o início e mostra como o diretor é muito direto em sua abordagens, sem medo de causar polêmica. É um filme que merece ser redescoberto. É a obra prima do Verhoeven? Longe disso, mas também não é nem de longe o fracasso que foi dito.
½ January 19, 2017
Stupid. Not worth your time
January 11, 2017
not great but a lot of fun to look at
January 6, 2017
Showgirls (1995) C-131m. ?? D: Paul Verhoeven. Elizabeth Berkley, Kyle MacLachlan, Gina Gershon, Glenn Plummer, Robert Davi, Alan Rachins. Ludicrous film about young drifter who arrives in Las Vegas and has uncontrollable urge to become a top Vegas showgirl. Needlessly long and overencumbered with hideous acting, ghastly dialogue, though there's no shortage of female nudity . . . Totally inept film is also reminiscent of some of the decade's worst reviews (and is now often considered "so bad it's good") but I can't promise that you'd actually enjoy it. Written by Joe Eszterhas, clearly with something else on his mind.
November 23, 2016
This movie is much better than it gets credit for. Yes it was over-hyped, but it certainly doesn't warrant a 19% score. Its a great middle of the day cable TV movie.
Super Reviewer
November 14, 2016
I'm undecided over whether or not the film is actually some brilliant satire (you can make strong arguments either way), but it's undeniably re-watchable and hilarious.
November 11, 2016
Lovely women's lingerie and Beauty things frilly and girly ! What's not to love. . mmm really good time! !
June 28, 2016
Liz Berkeley tried way too hard to make anyone of us care one bit!
Just post this on pornhub and call it free to watch already!
June 27, 2016
Stripper falls in love in this cheesy erotica drama.
½ May 8, 2016
Yes everybody knows Showgirls is a bad movie. But I think it's good to watch bad movies from time to time. Not only because they are often unintentionally funny. But also because if you pick them apart and analyze them to find out what went wrong, you'll have a new found respect for story structure and filmmaking in general.
Page 1 of 153