Showgirls - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Showgirls Reviews

Page 1 of 153
June 28, 2016
Liz Berkeley tried way too hard to make anyone of us care one bit!
Just post this on pornhub and call it free to watch already!
June 27, 2016
Stripper falls in love in this cheesy erotica drama.
½ May 8, 2016
Yes everybody knows Showgirls is a bad movie. But I think it's good to watch bad movies from time to time. Not only because they are often unintentionally funny. But also because if you pick them apart and analyze them to find out what went wrong, you'll have a new found respect for story structure and filmmaking in general.
½ April 22, 2016
what the hell was in that suitcase...
½ April 20, 2016
Since I just turned 17, i took a look at this film. To be honest, i really loved, and enjoyed it.
While the overall story may look thin, Showgirls shows that is an intense, emotional and entertaining film. All the credit goes to Elizabeth Berkley's blowsy and most importantly ''very cute" performance. Thumbs Up ð'Ã,?ðÃ,? 1/4 Delivers the Goods.
April 2, 2016
I couldn't think of a better movie to watch before my trip to Vegas.

A lot of people complain that Showgirls is over the top, trashy, and ridiculous. That is EXACTLY what Vegas is! This film perfectly captures the essence of what Las Vegas is without sugar coating it. The environment that this film portrays could only exist in Las Vegas. On the surface LV seems like a glamourous place, but on the inside its a very gritty and sleazy place. The visuals in this film only add to the perfect environment that Verhoeven has created. There are some truly masterful shots of the city in the backdrop throughout the entire film.

I personally love all the performances. Kyle MacLachlan plays the ultimate slime ball. Elizabeth Berkley plays a character that is just trying to make it in this world and she will do whatever it takes to get there. Gina Gershon plays the perfect villainous goddess. Both of these ladies are so fierce and I was captivated by both of them. Everyone in this film over-acts, but that's the point!

Showgirls is a movie I will defend until the day I die. This film is a look at the America's obsession with money, power, and fame and how the three are intertwined in the downfall of our culture. Money, power, and fame changes people and usually for the worse. This film is a perfect exploitation and satire of America. This film is not so bad its good. Showgirls is genuinely a great film. I also have to give a ton of credit to Joe Eszterhas, the writer. This film's script is perfect. Do we really think the master of satire, Paul Verhoeven didn't know what he was doing with this film?
March 27, 2016
Just all kinds of bad, but maybe I'm missing the satire premise. Exploitation as hell.
March 20, 2016
Elizabeth Barkley ð~?
March 11, 2016
I loved this movie, I just think it was a little before it's time and the people who criticized it so harshly. Other than that Ms Beckly did a great job.
½ January 31, 2016
This is a very bad film, for so many reasons. I think that those responsible for making this figured that there are enough customers out there who will just be happy to see nudity and that'll be enough for them. Perhaps they're right but they gotta understand that there is a different market for people like that. Try and make a film like this for the mainstream and you are gonna get crucified, which they did. I just wanna give a few examples of how bad this was. An early scene shows the main actre... no, cast member playing a fruit machine by staring about 2 foot higher than where the reels were. So obvious it was cringeworthy directing. The same person kept on being told what a great dancer she was yet, compared with the other dancers, she glided across the stage as gracefully as a pathetic bimbo trying to run away from a mouse whilst wearing high heels for the very first time. There was one dance routine that lasted all of 20 seconds and was repeated in every dance scene throughout her entire career. I'm no expert but I'm sure she wasn't supposed to look like a drunk exhibitionist cousin at a wedding but she did. This is not to mention how offensive this film is to women, it would not have been possible to glamourise the unfortunate world of lap-dancing and stripping any more. I'm sure that Vegas do not really have productions like this; it is just some perv's fantasy put into film.
January 26, 2016
Showgirls is a 2+ hour long porno with some of the worst acting and dialogue ever. It's an absolute disaster, but kind of mesmerizing in its horridity. Good for laughs, but make no mistake, it's awful even by porn standards.
½ January 24, 2016
Although this film gets the lowest possible 1/2 star, I actually get more of a five level of entertainment value out of this film. I remember seeing John Waters on "The Tonight Show" or some other late night now when this came out and he totally had this movie's number, saying it was the first time that Hollywood had made a gloriously trashy bomb since "Beyond the Valley of the Dolls." I remember Waters noting that he knew this film was going to be deliciously awful the moment Elizabeth Berkley pulled a switchblade on the guy who picks her up hitchhiking in the film's opening scene. Re-watching this film now, it's even more ironically awful with all of the 1990s fashion, hair and music. And for anyone old enough to have watched "Saved by the Bell," the film does still have the shock value of seeing the brainy Jessie Spano playing a tawdry Vegas showgirl. The story is essentially a classic tale of a rising young star, ALA "All About Eve" or "A Star is Born," but now with copious amounts of hilariously choreographed sex and nudity. Besides the laughably bad dialogue from writer Joe Eszterhas (who actually wrote some decent films early on in his career), but the scenes that are supposed to be sexy in this racey NC-17 film managesto be so wildly unsexy. There's one scene in particular with Berkley and Kyle MacLauchlan in a pool that is gut busting hilarious. I actually suspect MacLauchlan may have known what a bad movie this was and may have been on of only two actors who gave a purposefully campy performance). Back to bad dialogue, I think Robert Davi, one of my favorite character actors, also knew this was going to be an unintentionally funny movie and seems to go over the top, but in a somewhat subdued fashion. He actually has probably my favorite crass line when he visits Berkely at her big Vegas show. The cast also features Glenn Plummer (who seemed to be in every movie around this time period) and also Gina Gershon, who is probably the actor in the film who I feel worst for, thinking she's far too good an actress to be exploited in trash like this. There's no way to make the cast that this is a good film or even a halfway decent one, but I do think a case could be made that this is a film of Ed Wood preparations of awfulness and therefore an immensely unintentionally entertaining film. A truly great film for all the wrong reason.
½ January 17, 2016
This movie is cinema magic. Dolphin pool sex for the win! "We could have had Paula...or Janet...but we chose Nomi".
January 5, 2016
These reviews are total crap. This movie is much muuch better than people give it credit for. If you don't get Verhoeven, you won't get this film. The guy in the reviews below who says this should be shown as a "what not to do" movie to film students is an idiot.
½ January 2, 2016
"Showgirls" es una inmortal (o más bien inmoral) película clase B con más senos al descubierto que una edición especial de la National Geographic sobre tribus africanas. El director Paul Verhoeven ("Robocop") con o sin intención, confeccionó una divertida y ridícula cinta "camp"acerca de una joven que busca triunfar en la vida y que termina descubriendo el mundo del sexo por dinero. Un triunfo para las actrices Elizabeth Berkley y Gina Gershon y toda una tragedia para el alumno de David Lynch Kyle Mclachlan.
Super Reviewer
½ October 26, 2015
If Verhoeven's intention was to make a satire of Las Vegas as a place of exploitation and hypocrisy then his film is brilliant, but it does feel like he is trying to make something serious, which makes its hilarious campy vibe come off as trashy and completely unintentional.
October 11, 2015
So trashy that you just like it. Too many titties and asses though, you just get tired of them.
½ October 4, 2015
A Titploitation film. And there are hot girls getting naked. And did I mention the tits? It's a campy exploitation movie and a very enjoyable guilty pleasure.
Loved it in 1995, still like it today!
½ September 4, 2015
This erotic, bad-acted, bad-scripted flick deserves both the title of one of the worst movies ever made and its current cult status.
½ August 23, 2015
Completamente incomprendida y devaluada por muchos críticos que se atreven a decir que es una de las peores películas de todos los tiempos. Quien afirme lo anterior, quiere decir que no ha visto suficiente cine, porque puedo nombrar cientos de películas que son peores... Tampoco será la mejor película (muchos diálogos son ridículamente malos y algunas escenas y situaciones son cómicas de manera involuntaria), pero sí es MUY divertida y entretenida... Todo un "guilty pleasure"... Si se escarba un poco por ahí, hasta puede encontrarse una sátira del éxito y la fama, con sus excesos, ascensos y caídas... Ah, y Gina Gershon toda perrona jaja (love her!!)... Gratamente sorprendido... 20 años después de su estreno puedo ver por qué ya se ha ganado su estatus de culto... (3.5/5)
Page 1 of 153