Species - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Species Reviews

Page 1 of 68
½ October 19, 2017
a decent little flick is gory it has decent acting a hot chick lots of nudity but it seems familiar still this is a fairly entertaining time

although not anything special it's not garbage either so if you see this at in a store discount self (which is very likely) pick it up.
August 27, 2017
Bad movie. The plot isn't very original nor compelling, the visual effects aren't very strong (especially the computer effects), the performances are lame, but the direction is pretty stylish.
June 3, 2017
I kinda hated this film when it first came out; so cookie~cutter. The alien design is like what a 12 year old boy would dream up; especially with those hugely exaggerated nipple~tentacles. But I've mellowed over time and have learned to enjoy it for what it is: a competently made B~movie with dated looking CGI. And truth be told, it's no worse than 2017's Alien Covenant. Some of the scenes are nearly identical, if not plagiarized. The characters may even be smarter. I greatly admire HR Giger's studio work, and accept that it's not an easy translation to film. In fact, a literal translation might be to sickening to create, or watch. The original Alien is still the best Giger interpretation; with Prometheus a close 2nd.
½ May 21, 2017
I saw this and I quickly stopped after it clearly is a cheap sci-fi/horror that went through a rewrite from a porno executive
½ April 2, 2017
An A-list cast performing B-movie schlock with a straight face. Good luck trying to keep a straight face while watching it.
February 22, 2017
Natashia so hot! Her monstrosity so scary! Great flick. Saw when it came out. How can these RT scores be so low?? Set in Los Angeles! Great cast of stars. great plot.
½ January 14, 2017
One of my other guilty pleasure films. My parents never let me watch it, so I had to be sneaky. When I finally did see it in its entirety, I couldn't help but cringe at every punchline, and also saw a boom mic very clearly reflected off the patio door in one of the films many disturbing sex/rape scenes. This film made Natasha Henstridge a 90's sex symbol for about 6 minutes, now she's "retired" from acting as far as I can tell.
½ November 29, 2016
People you do realize smoking crystal meth makes your poor score inaccurate right? Anyone with any real type of acting ability or at least the ability to appreciate what these actors go through would rate this masterpiece with nothing less than three stars.

First off Forest Whitaker was brilliant with an Oscar worthy performance! Michael Madsen was delightfully refreshing. Ben Kingsley was strange and mysterious and Natasha Henstridge was just plain hot! A must see for The Predator type sci-fi enthusiast!
September 3, 2016
Y'all want too know what's better than an alien film? An erotic alien film, wich "Species" delivers a satisfying amount of, but the story itself isn't too be taken too seriously. It's got good performances by good actors, and the special effects are descent, even though they could've done a better job on some of the CGI, but, Sil still manages to be quite scary. The music is very good and eerie too. But I do have to hand it out to Felix Vasquez Jr., that the ending is pretty silly and unecessary, but it's still a descent flick. Recommended !!
August 28, 2016
Brilliant Movie and Natasha Henstridge is the hottest Species! One great movie does not matter when or how many times you see it!
½ August 23, 2016
Species is somewhat entertaining, but the horrible performance, CGI, terrible story, and no actual intense moments leaves this film very stale.
June 6, 2016
Not a bad flick for the time - that is if you can put aside the likelihood of the actual science.
April 25, 2016
It's watchable for aspects, but it's all around junky and thin on the plot.
½ March 3, 2016
This has an intriguing story and a great cast. The CGI was dreadful.
February 27, 2016
I love this movie a lot and I've never understood why it's not revered as like a great monster movie. It's really well told, I love the pace and vibe, Henstridge is brilliant..The only thing that I can think of that's weak is the CGI, but who cares? I love it start to finish.
February 6, 2016
Original but a bit too gross.
October 7, 2015
Le film se laisse regarder mais passe un peu pour une serie B aujourd'hui. Mal vieilli.
½ August 28, 2015
So campy and fun. Full of awful dialog, bad acting and a story so implausible you have to wonder how drunk the writers were. But it has so much charm, and is just such a fun movie to watch. Great cast too!
July 20, 2015
Michael Madsen hunts a horny human/alien hybrid in what is basically a soft-core porn reimagining of alien crossed with an episode of CSI. It's a cult classic.
Page 1 of 68