Species - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Species Reviews

Page 1 of 68
½ January 14, 2017
One of my other guilty pleasure films. My parents never let me watch it, so I had to be sneaky. When I finally did see it in its entirety, I couldn't help but cringe at every punchline, and also saw a boom mic very clearly reflected off the patio door in one of the films many disturbing sex/rape scenes. This film made Natasha Henstridge a 90's sex symbol for about 6 minutes, now she's "retired" from acting as far as I can tell.
½ November 29, 2016
People you do realize smoking crystal meth makes your poor score inaccurate right? Anyone with any real type of acting ability or at least the ability to appreciate what these actors go through would rate this masterpiece with nothing less than three stars.

First off Forest Whitaker was brilliant with an Oscar worthy performance! Michael Madsen was delightfully refreshing. Ben Kingsley was strange and mysterious and Natasha Henstridge was just plain hot! A must see for The Predator type sci-fi enthusiast!
September 3, 2016
Y'all want too know what's better than an alien film? An erotic alien film, wich "Species" delivers a satisfying amount of, but the story itself isn't too be taken too seriously. It's got good performances by good actors, and the special effects are descent, even though they could've done a better job on some of the CGI, but, Sil still manages to be quite scary. The music is very good and eerie too. But I do have to hand it out to Felix Vasquez Jr., that the ending is pretty silly and unecessary, but it's still a descent flick. Recommended !!
August 28, 2016
Brilliant Movie and Natasha Henstridge is the hottest Species! One great movie does not matter when or how many times you see it!
½ August 23, 2016
Species is somewhat entertaining, but the horrible performance, CGI, terrible story, and no actual intense moments leaves this film very stale.
June 6, 2016
Not a bad flick for the time - that is if you can put aside the likelihood of the actual science.
April 25, 2016
It's watchable for aspects, but it's all around junky and thin on the plot.
½ March 3, 2016
This has an intriguing story and a great cast. The CGI was dreadful.
February 27, 2016
I love this movie a lot and I've never understood why it's not revered as like a great monster movie. It's really well told, I love the pace and vibe, Henstridge is brilliant..The only thing that I can think of that's weak is the CGI, but who cares? I love it start to finish.
February 6, 2016
Original but a bit too gross.
October 7, 2015
Le film se laisse regarder mais passe un peu pour une serie B aujourd'hui. Mal vieilli.
½ August 28, 2015
So campy and fun. Full of awful dialog, bad acting and a story so implausible you have to wonder how drunk the writers were. But it has so much charm, and is just such a fun movie to watch. Great cast too!
July 20, 2015
Michael Madsen hunts a horny human/alien hybrid in what is basically a soft-core porn reimagining of alien crossed with an episode of CSI. It's a cult classic.
April 25, 2015
Nice premise but an average poorly shot movie.
March 23, 2015
One of the most gratuitous and sexiest sci-fi movies, Species's visual style, bloody violence and Natasha Henstridge's eye catching fanservice distracts everybody from the skimpy plot underneath.
March 22, 2015
Finally a SF-Movie i liked completly , not to difficult story , Forest W , Sexy alien Sil , one of the best SF-Movies of the 90's ! SOMDVD
March 22, 2015
Finally a SF-Movie i liked completly , not hard to follow , Forest W , a Hot Natasha ( alien ) , one of the best SF-Movies of the 90's ! SOMDVD
February 23, 2015
Caught this on Encore over the weekend as it's one of those movies I saw in the theater in the mid 90's but have since forgotten about. Now I remember there's really only 2 reasons to watch this shitslopper and they're both located right in the middle of Natasha Henstridge's chest. Whatever happened to her? She was smoking hot in this movie (her debut) but after "The Whole Nine Yards" what else did she ever do? The answer...nothing.
½ January 20, 2015
Species is an amusing B-grade thriller that entertains intentionally and unintentionally. It's a curiosity how this garnered such a good cast, and the pay-off is good, as the actors mingle well, even Whitaker and his ridiculous character. With some very cheesy and cliché moments, this movie takes itself so seriously it becomes funny with its absurdity. The special effects are terrible and yet fun, and the dialogue is very basic. It becomes an entertaining movie as it is so bad. Few movies can claim that art.
Page 1 of 68