Talk to Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Talk to Me Reviews

Page 1 of 116
½ September 25, 2016
"Wake Up Goddammit!"
I actually watched this back in January 6, 2015 when the Selma movie was being released, Eric Garner's death not long before, and Ferguson, Missouri not long before that. It was timely!
Another stellar performance from Don Cheadle. Was heart-wrenching during the scene with news of MLK's death. Great film about a very interesting figure who matured during the civil rights era and making an impact in his own way.
February 13, 2016
hilarious when it needs to be, and serious when it needs to be. it's a much see movie.
January 31, 2016
Really strong cast and pretty funny. This is the story of Petie Green a DJ who went from being a prison message announcer to a US celebrity. The start of the film is great, it does get a bit slow and formulaic near the end though. Still, I really enjoyed this, mainly due to Don Cheadle who was splendid.
½ October 24, 2015
Cheadle and Ejiofor are terrific in this fun,fast paced biopic.
July 24, 2015
7/24/2015: A pretty decent movie with a great cast. Cheadle can make any movie great and Henson is just WOW!
½ October 1, 2014
An imperfect picture that's alive every minute, a movie that perfectly captures the vibe of a person, a place, a time and a way of being, and even gets, indirectly and without a whiff of sanctimoniousness, to the heart of what being an American ought to mean.
½ August 16, 2014
The script was kind of weak but Cheadle still made it work.
August 14, 2014
Brings back memories of seeing Shaft, and earlier the riots after the death of Dr. King. Love Don Cheedle, who can play almost anything.
June 19, 2014
Don and Chiwetal were both great.
June 1, 2014
Excellent film driven by the performances of the two lead characters. An excellent view of an iconic radio icon. Too bad they left the Howard Stern interview out as that is one of the more famous moments of both their careers.
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
May 26, 2014
Brilliant drama, Talk To Me based on the life of radio DJ Ralph "Petey" Greene, manages to be an engrossing picture, one that is engaging from the first frame onwards. I thought that the film's story was well written, and it boasted a great script, only elevated by two great performances its lead actors Don Cheadle and Chiwetel Ejiofor, who have terrific on-screen chemistry, which makes this a stunning and accomplished drama. Greene was a controversial figure, and he wasn't afraid to speak his minds, and stand up for what he believed in. Cheadle channels that perfectly, and his performance here ranked as one of his finest of his career. Talk To Me is an accomplished drama, one that has hints of humor, just adds something a bit more to the serious story, and it works. The story and acting is sure to delight genre fans, and overall this is a compelling drama worth seeing due to its subject, it's acting and exceptional direction. Don Cheadle is always great to watch on-screen and here he delivers something unique and elevates his filmography even further because, he simply commands the screen with his presence, and the pairing of him and terrific actor, Ejiiofor is what makes this film definitely worth your time. I have a background in Radio, studied for four years in college, and seeing this film was a treat. "Petey" Greene was unique, and it's great to see Cheadle playing such a great figure and he brings his unique style to the role, which adds so much depth to the screen. Talk To Me is a great drama that is elevated by its cast, story and direction. If you love the genre, give this drama a shot, you'll surely find it very entertaining.
½ May 17, 2014
Cheadle is outstanding even though the film itself loses steam.
½ May 12, 2014
Kasi Lemmons has an authentic voice as a filmmaker and they don't come along that often.
½ January 28, 2014
Insanely well acted and wonderfully engaging. You will find yourself transported to this troubled time. It only looses points for its jumpy narrative that leaves you wanting more.
Super Reviewer
December 20, 2013
There has been some question as to how much of this story of Petey Greene is accurate. Nonetheless, these are outstanding performances from Don Cheadle and Chiwetel Ejiofor that deserve kudos. The characters are fabulously well developed and the story is poignant.
December 19, 2013
Some very funny moments, well made and performed but pretty conventional and somewhat flat overall.
½ August 9, 2013
Fine performances from all involved (especially Cheadle and Taraji Henson) Talk to Me is a story about relationships that shouldn't work but do. Though it isn't brilliant in any way and relies heavily on the performances of its actors for its credibility it succeeds in telling the story of Petey Greene and his unlikely successes because of its actors. Talk to Me is worth the watch if for nothing more than to see Cheadle give an award winning performance of a man that most people have never heard of but who changed the lives of those who had heard of him.
May 27, 2013
Don Cheadle works with yet another great topic of the recent history of the U.S.
February 11, 2013
Man, the first entire half of this movie was amazing. I laughed my ass off and was really getting into the characters. Unfortunately, the movie takes a dramatic turn towards too serious after that. Suffers from, what I like to call, the "Jack Syndrome". Remember that movie with Robin Williams where he was a kid who aged rapidly and it was all cute and funny, but then his disease takes hold of him and the rest of the movie's supposed to be one tearjerk after another. Lame. Regardless, Cheadle is the shit and the movie's still worth checking out.
½ January 24, 2013
This was a great movie, funny, and sad, and very entertaining, I am a Don Cheadle fan he did great but Chiwetel Ejiofor perfomance was phenomenal!!!
Page 1 of 116