The Smurfs - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Smurfs Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Will Leitch
June 23, 2013
If your kid loves this, your kid needs to read a book, or even, heck, play a video game. At least you can tell video game characters apart.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Amy Curtis
We Got This Covered
February 28, 2013
The Smurfs is a cute family film that suffers from being a little formulaic and uninspired, and the CGI smurfs don't look like the original characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Ben Kendrick
October 2, 2012
Filmgoers who enjoyed the cartoon (or comic strips) as a kid will very likely be left with the taste of sour Smurfberries.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
R. L. Shaffer
January 29, 2012
The kids might enjoy it, but The Smurfs is nothing but an annoying, noisy commercial for Sony products. Save for Hank Azaria's amusing take on Gargamel, the film is fatty junk food.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
Marsha McCreadie
Film Journal International
January 6, 2012
...a cynical extension, not even an earnest spin-off.
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
December 29, 2011
The Smurf's is a cute film . . . if cute's your thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Linda Cook
KWQC-TV (Iowa)
December 22, 2011
Once in awhile, a movie sets me searching for its origins. That's what 'The Smurfs' did. I guessed this movie wasn't quite what their creator had in mind - and I was right.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Sean Axmaker
November 30, 2011
Call me Grouchy, but I say grown-ups should just say smurf it and avoid the film completely.
Clem Bastow
The Vine
October 26, 2011
The film indulges in a level of product placement not seen since the glory days of Mac & Me.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
September 29, 2011
full review at Movies for the Masses
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Matt Neal
The Standard
September 15, 2011
The Smurfs isn't smurfing awesome, but it's also not a complete pile of smurf.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
September 15, 2011
It is something of a relief that this energetic kids flick is partially better than it had any right to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Sarah Ward
September 15, 2011
The current incarnation of The Smurfs bears little resemblance to the classic cartoon, in a film likely to leave anyone other than hyperactive children feeling blue.
Clarissa Meffan
September 15, 2011
Takes the 80s favourite kids' cartoon and embellishes it with special effects, New York cliches and gutter humour so that the end result is a shiny but shallow copy of all that was great about the original TV series.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)
September 14, 2011
The Smurfs will likely be the best, most enjoyable kid film of 2011. And, yes, adults have been catered for. Dive in.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Annette Basile
FILMINK (Australia)
September 13, 2011
It's predictable kiddie fare and lags in the middle, but it's visually impressive, spirited and often fun.
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
September 11, 2011
A smurfection of blue cutedom, The Smurfs (in 2D and 3D) makes good the promise that feeling blue can be a happy thing
Cynthia Fuchs
Time to Play Magazine
September 8, 2011
Everyone knows the Smurfs sing all day - and also that their song is repetitive and annoying.
James Luxford
The National (UAE)
September 8, 2011
Likely to enthral very small children only, The Smurfs starts with promise but peters out into something bland.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Brian Gibson
Vue Weekly (Edmonton, Canada)
September 1, 2011
As the Smuppets take Manhattan, the script runs a blue streak of snappy self-marketing and sappy smurfimentalism. It's all so calculatingly self-smurmotional.
Page 1 of 6