Tropic Thunder - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tropic Thunder Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Justin Stewart
Stop Smiling
June 27, 2016
More exhausting than funny, though it is often both, Ben Stiller's latest excoriation of ego wears you down with its smothering, pop-savvy cynicism.
Christian Toto
HollywoodInToto.com
January 10, 2015
Tropic Thunder pushes more buttons than most comedies dare.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
October 21, 2014
Tropic Thunder is probably the best war-movie spoof of all time, playing around with all those cliches and conventions we've seen a million times before.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Ali Gray
TheShiznit.co.uk
October 14, 2012
Tropic Thunder is an easy film to enjoy. It appeals to the basest levels of humour without patronising its audience, while pricking the pomposity of the movie industry without going too 'meta' - this is far from self-fellation.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
August 10, 2012
perfectly parodies the 'kill everything in sight and then blow it up for good measure' summer movie mentality.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
August 15, 2011
Comes down to exactly the same type of heroic finale they're supposed to be parodying in the first place. You bettah off renting Rescue Dawn.
Ben Rawson-Jones
Digital Spy
July 14, 2011
A clever structure, glorious ensemble cast and above all conviction ensure that laughter will be rippling like thunder inside the cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Ken Eisner
Georgia Straight
July 7, 2010
Stiller one-ups his Zoolander fashion-world creation with Tugg Speedman, an action hero trying to revive his flagging, Sly Stallone-type career by appearing in the most expensive war movie ever made.
Kristian M. Lin
Fort Worth Weekly
July 7, 2010
[Cruise] alone would make Tropic Thunder worth watching, but this shaggy, likable comedy offers up tons of other hearty laughs besides.
June 12, 2010
There are a lot of sacred entertainment industry cows being sent to the slaughter, and Stiller & co. skewer every stereotype with vicious glee.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.8/10
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 26, 2009
Not a third as "dark" or "ferocious" as it believes it is
Dragan Antulov
Index.hr
July 15, 2009
bilo je te%u0161ko izbje%u0107i jo%u0161 jednu tre%u0161nju holivudske gore koja je rodila mi%u0161a
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Clay Cane
BET.com
July 7, 2009
Sure, there are some moments when the plot falls right down a gun barrel, the comedy is too over the top and the jokes are downright gross. Still, in comparison to the other slapstick comedies this year, this movie-within-a-movie strikes above the rest.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Peter Keough
Boston Phoenix
April 23, 2009
Sounds predictable and academic, but what's unexpected is how deftly Stiller manages to explore these issues and allude to war films from The Bridge on the River Kwai to Platoon to Rambo while still recognizing the value of a well-placed fart joke.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Tony Macklin
Fayetteville Free Weekly
February 1, 2009
Tropic Thunder is one humongous vanity project for Ben Stiller. His initials aren't BS for nothing. If you can't get enough of bouncing Ben, Tropic Thunder is the movie for you. Ben Stiller acted in, co-wrote, produced, and directed Tropi
Full Review | Original Score: 1.0/5
Gregory Weinkauf
▄berCinÚ
January 12, 2009
Is this a comedy -- or a cry for help?
Jolene Mendez
Entertainment Spectrum
January 4, 2009
Tropic Thunder turns out to be a very funny film with an immensely talented cast that will be the topic of any water cooler conversation.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeffrey Chen
Window to the Movies
December 31, 2008
Stiller's parody of Hollywood opportunism and insecurities is fairly lacerating, but perhaps could've been more so had not the whole thing been played so broadly.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Ken Fox
TV Guide
December 21, 2008
Cruise is downright scary. It's the creepiest -- and most entertaining -- performance since his unforgettable appearance in that Scientology video.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Ryan Cracknell
Movie Views
December 8, 2008
The action movie has been spoofing itself for years. Half of the time it's no even intentional. Ben Stiller's hilarious and surprisingly intelligent Tropic Thunder takes the genre spoof to a new extreme.
Page 1 of 12