What Just Happened? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

What Just Happened? Reviews

Page 1 of 65
May 17, 2016
Expected to see more of Sean Penn. De Niro was really good though, been while since he performed a respectable character. Though this film is 8 years old.
August 23, 2015
"What Just Happened" is a decent caustic satire that maintains the viewer's interest all the way through. The humour is fresh, the most dramatic sequences revolve around Bruce Willis's "fuckin' beard" and the romantic part, although familiar, leads to a totally satisfying solution. The acting ensemble is adorable: De Niro gives a terrific performance, Bruce Willis is good when shouting and even better when quoting and John Turturro has the most interesting stomach problems in cinema history.
May 2, 2015
There are some funny and inspiring moments, but overall What Just Happened is too shallow and doesn't have much satirical bite. De Niro and Willis are great though.
March 21, 2015
Without doubt a film that assumes that the audience is as interested in the behind the scenes of the Hollywood movie making industry as it is, yet for all its assumptions I still kind of enjoyed this one. Whether or not you may take anything from this depends on how much you like the idea of following around Robert DeNiro as a typical movie producer for just shy of two hours. Despite this supposedly on the outset to use a more subtle form of comedy, it in fact is full of much more simplistic methods to draw out the laughs, so expect many actor/director based outbursts, people falling into open graves, animal death based black humour, and test screening score cards covered with insults. None of which comes close to ever being subtle, but I thought overall it worked okay. The film in the long run doesn't have enough puff to go the distance, but as successful failures go, this ain't too bad at all.
February 6, 2015
It has a couple of laughs, but all in all this movie is pretty disappointing. One of De Niro's worst films.
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
Not quite a movie in my taste. The story was rather boring actually even tho some parts of the movie were better. Robert De Niro plays a producer that "must" get his movie made for Cannes but problem on both the personal life and Hollywood makes its hard.. Bruce Willis have a smaller role aswell and i prefer him to stay on making good actions movies instead. John Turturro , Sean Penn can be seeing aswell.. Overall ,, not good for a comedy and not good for a drama.
½ November 11, 2014
I didn't enjoy this film at all. It's not a comedy. The 'goings on' in the Hollywood Film industry are probably silly enough to be true ! And the Marriage counselling scenes make you cringe not laugh ! How did the big name stars agree to be involved in making this film ? Give it a miss !
July 24, 2014
Wait--this was supposed to be funny? Nevertheless, it wasn't bad just meh.
July 12, 2014
[Interested: cannot find.]
April 11, 2014
I gotta try it again.
½ March 8, 2014
Not as bad as I was warned. From Flixster comments this movie was too "inside". No, it really wasn't. In some ways you can watch this film as if "What if Neil McCauley had become a Hollywood producer?" Lots of storylines De Niro has to follow which kept it interesting in my opinion. I agree with the criticism that the overall effect of the film is lacking due to a lack of resolution. Lots of storylines, but not much closer or comeuppance for them. But sometimes, the dog has to die. And horribly.

Before Seeing: What a cast! But this looks terrible. Another film about making films... So only film people are going to go. We all know how this goes.
½ March 8, 2014
Tame "inside Hollywood" satire that pales in comparison to other Hollywood satires like David Mamet's "State and Main" and Levinson's own "Wag the Dog."
March 4, 2014
I'm truly bewildered after watching this movie. Gotta hand it to them though, the name is spot on; WHAT JUST HAPPENED?
February 5, 2014
A veces de manera realista y a veces bastante exagerada y ridícula, What just happened? hace bien en mostrar ese lado al que algunos le prestan poca atención, eso que hay detrás del arte, es decir, los productores, el dinero y los negocios.
Con diálogos no muy inteligentes, música agradable pero no remarcable, un Robert de Niro que siempre actúa de Robert de Niro y un ritmo bastante estable, What just Happened? logra mantenerte entretenido durante casi dos horas, sin llegar a ser espectacular. Más que buscar la reflexión, lo que buscan Levinson y Linson es meramente entretener con un tema que puede resultar interesante y hasta polémico dependiendo del punto de vista, sin dejar de lado el deseo de obtener la mejor respuesta posible en taquilla, valiéndose para este fin de actores de renombre (De Niro, Penn, Willis).
Me parece que más allá de que sea o no una buena película, a la crítica en general no le agradó simplemente por el tema que toca y la manera en la que lo hace.
No es una basura, pero tampoco una joya.
January 4, 2014
The title of the film is "What Just Happened?" The answer to the title is "Absolutely Nothing."
December 30, 2013
Not the best movie ever but was ok.
½ November 28, 2013
DeNiro is decent and Willis is a riot, but this is a lame, uninspired look behind the Hollywood curtains, trouble is, the inside jokes just aren't that funny.
November 21, 2013
This movie, though well acted is made in the style of reality TV come documentary which makes it come across as really boring. If you close your eyes for a few seconds you may be able to fall asleep, a godsend. Who really wants to see the depraved and empty lives of those that live in tinsel town. Nibbles: Dog Chocs.
½ July 25, 2013
What the hell happened with this movie, should be the title.
July 10, 2013
2/5 Funny at times, interesting at times, but usually just boring.
Page 1 of 65