XXX - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

XXX Reviews

Page 1 of 636
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
August 9, 2017
Basically this is an American James Bond film made for 12 year olds, Full of over the top action which I never really liked as it ruins the whole film for me, But it's pretty fun at times, Predictable but fun, Maybe the age certificate didn't help in the action scenes though, Although it's pretty poor acted and the one liners and dialogue were pretty awful Vin Diesel was fun to watch as he wasn't a morbid, Croaky bore like he usually is he actually looked like he wanted to be there for once, The plot is Ripped off from every Bond film so we know what's going to happen and when, If I reviewed this when I was 12 I'd of given it 5 stars but age and maturity kicked in and it gets a solid 3 stars just for being brain dead fun.
July 15, 2017
Within the first half hour, we get 5 zoomed-in shots of Diesel's xXx neck tattoo, usually right after he's been captured by someone. That, along with a soundtrack consisting of Drowning Pool & Hatebreed, captures this glistening collection of testosterone pretty succinctly. It's certainly not as bad as it could (impressive stunts, upbeat attitude), but it's also not very good (sloppy editing, corny dialogue, ridiculous lead character). Put a more confident, funny actor in the lead, & you may have something.
½ July 12, 2017
A silly, stupid mash-up of James Bond and extreme sports, but it knows that it's silly and stupid. And that makes it watchable.
June 15, 2017
The plot wasn't the best, but the outstanding action and adrenaline-boosting scenes were simply awesome! Vin Diesel is truly every teen's fantasy action hero (Including me).
It was obviously very action-packed, unique and loads of fun to watch.
May 26, 2017
It was not as good as I expected ??
May 21, 2017
Wanna see an Agent kick some ass and look dope while doing it? This is hands down One of the coolest movies I've ever seen. The stunts are crazy. It has twists. The pace of the movie is just perfect. Non-Stop adrenaline heart stomping action and thrilling from start to finish. Welcome to the XANDER ZONE!!!!
Super Reviewer
½ May 6, 2017
Some of the action scenes are okay but the story is dull and Diesel is no James Bond with the ladies. The kissing scenes are way too much to bear and these are extended shots. Rob Cohen is far from a great filmmaker and you only need to see how the dialogue is delivered to know he isn't looking for anything with substance. The avalanche scene is probably the most memorable thing about this dull misfire that was looking to kickstart a new franchise. This film might appeal to the fast and furious crowds but anyone else will find nothing but boring Diesel attempts at being a central character. Riddick is the only character I've enjoyed. 07/07/2017.
May 5, 2017
A new kind of action hero was ready to take on the bad guys!
March 16, 2017
Maybe more like a 2.75/5. It was so stereotypical that it was more like a comedy than a thriller to me, but at the same time that lack of seriousness is what made it entertaining.
February 4, 2017
This movie is a lot of fun! Great story, great visuals & the characters are so much fun to watch! Vin Diesel & Samuel L. Jackson stole the show! GREAT MOVIE!
½ February 2, 2017
It's good movie to watch
½ February 2, 2017
Has action changed all that much since 2002? Because action in movies has. Back before about 10 years ago, characters were much less jokey, things blew up a lot more, and bad guys had terrible aim.

While dated as can be, xXx is an enjoyable watch. The film's inspiration is questionable, but Vin Diesel plays the title role exactly how you'd expect him to. There is no shortage of platitudinous quips, but he delivers them in a way that makes you forget that the dialogue is terribly written.

Diesel plays Xander Cage, aka Triple X, a criminal stunt man hired by the US government to infiltrate the international mercenary group, Anarchy 99. There's not a whole lot more to it than that, yet the film seems to be able to stretch itself to nearly 120 minutes (132 in the director's cut).

xXx is so 2002 that, at times, you can't differentiate it from a early 2000s Disney Channel Original Movie. It sacrifices practicality for spectacle whenever it gets the chance. But considering its action-based modus operandi, the film still tends to drag at times.

Ultimately xXx does nothing new. At all. The only reason why anyone would watch this film is to experience Vin Diesel's charisma and charm. Because that's really the only unique aspect brought to the otherwise trite premise.

But it's entertaining. Mindless, but entertaining. Despite the hackneyed script, you have to commend the movie for not taking itself too seriously, ultimately not making it a chore to watch. It's actually quite fun and ridiculous in all its glory.

Twizard Rating: 72
½ January 30, 2017
Amusing that a movie that postures itself as being grittier and tougher than the Bond movies it was knocking off ends up being as stodgy, pedestrian and cliched as any Bond movie (pre Casino Royale). All attitude, no bite.
½ January 24, 2017
i can honestly say this was my first time sitting through the whole film. and i know why i never finished. terrieble. ..

I'll probably go see the new one. hopefully its better than this crap
January 21, 2017
Good no brain action film but very unrealistic in places.
January 19, 2017
It's no Bond or Bourne, but XXX delivers a new take on the spy thriller genre, with wild action sequences and Vin Diesel kicking ass, definitely delivers summer fun!
January 19, 2017
xXx I do not find intriguing nor very entertaining. Yes, there is some solid action, but the movie is just so mindless and stupid you cannot get into the action to enjoy it. There are some cool moments, and Vin Disel is made for this role, but that's about it.
January 19, 2017
Sound and fury signifying nothing.
Super Reviewer
January 17, 2017
If any future filmmakers are looking for inspiration in the guilty-pleasure high octane action genre, xXx is exactly the film to look into. What's not to like about it? Heck, even the horribly awful things are entertaining.

Back when Vin Diesel decided not to come back to the Fast & Furious franchise, he chose to join F&F 1 director Rob Cohen in taking on another ridiculous action extravaganza, xXx. Now, the Fast & Furious franchise has figured out the right balance of lighthearted humor, bada** action sequences, and developed characters who we actually care about. xXx certainly has fun action, but that's about it. The humor is there, but in no way do I believe it's intentionally funny. And the characters are pretty awful. Or, at least the dialogue coming out of their mouths is awful.

But does a film like this really need to have great dialogue? I guess not. Especially when it contains countless one-liners that do nothing but put a smile on my face from ear to ear. Essentially, this is just another Fast & Furious movie. Fast cars, explosions, women in scantily clad attire, incoherent plots, over-the-top villains, and catchy music. All are staples of the franchise, and Xander Cage's first film outing is no different.

The supporting characters are fittingly absurd and bizzare, led by a prototypical performance from Samuel L. Jackson & an equally clichéd turn from Marton Csokas. I think the bottom line is, this movie is so far-fetched and insane that it works as one of the best mindless action adventures of the last decade. No one would believe a guy like Xander Cage would be recruited as an undercover agent in any sort of organization, but that's not really the point. xXx sets out to entertain, and that it does.

+One-liners

+Full-throttle action

+Over-the-top

-Really, really awful dialogue

-Cliched

-Does anyone actually care about these characters?

6.4/10
Page 1 of 636