XXX - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

XXX Reviews

Page 1 of 635
Super Reviewer
January 17, 2017
If any future filmmakers are looking for inspiration in the guilty-pleasure high octane action genre, xXx is exactly the film to look into. What's not to like about it? Heck, even the horribly awful things are entertaining.

Back when Vin Diesel decided not to come back to the Fast & Furious franchise, he chose to join F&F 1 director Rob Cohen in taking on another ridiculous action extravaganza, xXx. Now, the Fast & Furious franchise has figured out the right balance of lighthearted humor, bada** action sequences, and developed characters who we actually care about. xXx certainly has fun action, but that's about it. The humor is there, but in no way do I believe it's intentionally funny. And the characters are pretty awful. Or, at least the dialogue coming out of their mouths is awful.

But does a film like this really need to have great dialogue? I guess not. Especially when it contains countless one-liners that do nothing but put a smile on my face from ear to ear. Essentially, this is just another Fast & Furious movie. Fast cars, explosions, women in scantily clad attire, incoherent plots, over-the-top villains, and catchy music. All are staples of the franchise, and Xander Cage's first film outing is no different.

The supporting characters are fittingly absurd and bizzare, led by a prototypical performance from Samuel L. Jackson & an equally clichéd turn from Marton Csokas. I think the bottom line is, this movie is so far-fetched and insane that it works as one of the best mindless action adventures of the last decade. No one would believe a guy like Xander Cage would be recruited as an undercover agent in any sort of organization, but that's not really the point. xXx sets out to entertain, and that it does.

+One-liners

+Full-throttle action

+Over-the-top

-Really, really awful dialogue

-Cliched

-Does anyone actually care about these characters?

6.4/10
January 6, 2017
It's a good film and he's returning even better
½ December 26, 2016
It's not James Bond, but its still a fun action-packed spy thriller despite the lack of class. Vin Diesel feels alive and open, and proves to be a interesting action anti-hero. The plot isn't anything too special, and some moments slow the story down.
December 1, 2016
Vin Diesel meets James Bond ! Unbelievably Brilliant ! Everything is here that the new James Bond has lost...Sexy cars, Sexy Girls and good action.
November 12, 2016
While it perhaps could've been better, xXx boasts a worthy performance from Vin Diesel, plenty of amazing action sequences and even a couple of laughs here and there that ought to keep the film's target demographic pleased. After all, Vin Diesel's fanbase does consist primarily of teens. Personally, I think this film could've been the start of another franchise for Vin Diesel following the Fast & Furious and Riddick franchises but it sadly got limited to half-assed spiritual successor starring Ice Cube and an upcoming belated sequel in which Diesel returns. Yay, I guess? Might as well see how xXx 3 turns out.
½ October 10, 2016
Cheesiest p0rno ever.
September 26, 2016
3.5/5 B+ Turn Off Your Brain Action Ride Alot Of Fun Find This Film Underrated Cant Wait For The Return Of Xander Cage in 2017!
July 18, 2016
Like James Bond for the Linkin Park fan. Which is exactly who I am.
July 18, 2016
I really enjoyed it. The plot was different and had a good villian. Vin diesel was very good in this. There was lots of great action scenes and the movie moved very quickly.
June 24, 2016
a thrill ride filled with adrenaline
June 19, 2016
Vin Diesel stars as Cage, aka XXX, who must help the government with an assignment or face prison time. It's action throughout but its action sequences seem staged but otherwise it's an entertaining flick.
June 14, 2016
Another movie that has some high points (some pretty fantastic not entirely CGI action scenes) and it's low points (Vin Diesel's "acting") but all in all it's worth another watch if you haven't scene it since '02.
May 6, 2016
This is a fun film with fabulous stunts and action- but it's only fun if you turn your brain off. I can't recommend much else about it.
April 25, 2016
Pour le premier film de Vin Diesel en temps que premier rôle d'un actioner de studio, xXx ne peut que confirmer ce que l'on pensait après le premier Fast & Furious. Oui, Vin Diesel a un charisme certain et parvient à ne pas trop se prendre au sérieux. Malheureusement, il ne peut sauver un film particulièrement vilain, extrêmement générique et surtout très idiot. Quelques séquences sont pas trop ratées, à chaque fois qu'elles permettent à Vin Diesel, Samuel L. Jackson et Michael Roof d'en faire des caisses, mais en l'état, difficile d'expliquer la bienséance autour d'un film qui n'a rien à offrir et qui tombe assez souvent dans le ridicule le plus effarant (mention spéciale aux quinze dernières minutes). C'est d'autant plus étrange que la suite est très réussie et que le troisième opus à venir s'annonce renversant.
April 22, 2016
fantastic....totally underrated. Its the modern day james bod. I wish they would make loads of these instead of all the crappy new bond films
March 11, 2016
I'm not sure why critics expected Bond or Bourne when they heard Vin Diesel was starring in a spy flick. For a spied out version of the Fast and Furious, XXX is plenty entertaining for me, even if it is a bit ridiculous.
March 6, 2016
I didn't know that Vin was the producer of this movie. He's so cool.
January 25, 2016
Jesus this is a dumb film ... irredeemably so. Asia Argento does not really help it, delivering English dialogue through an impenetrable accent that doesn't even match her character's nationality. I stopped caring about this thing 10 minutes into it.
Page 1 of 635