XXX - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

XXX Reviews

Page 1 of 636
March 16, 2017
Maybe more like a 2.75/5. It was so stereotypical that it was more like a comedy than a thriller to me, but at the same time that lack of seriousness is what made it entertaining.
February 4, 2017
This movie is a lot of fun! Great story, great visuals & the characters are so much fun to watch! Vin Diesel & Samuel L. Jackson stole the show! GREAT MOVIE!
½ February 2, 2017
It's good movie to watch
½ February 2, 2017
Has action changed all that much since 2002? Because action in movies has. Back before about 10 years ago, characters were much less jokey, things blew up a lot more, and bad guys had terrible aim.

While dated as can be, xXx is an enjoyable watch. The film's inspiration is questionable, but Vin Diesel plays the title role exactly how you'd expect him to. There is no shortage of platitudinous quips, but he delivers them in a way that makes you forget that the dialogue is terribly written.

Diesel plays Xander Cage, aka Triple X, a criminal stunt man hired by the US government to infiltrate the international mercenary group, Anarchy 99. There's not a whole lot more to it than that, yet the film seems to be able to stretch itself to nearly 120 minutes (132 in the director's cut).

xXx is so 2002 that, at times, you can't differentiate it from a early 2000s Disney Channel Original Movie. It sacrifices practicality for spectacle whenever it gets the chance. But considering its action-based modus operandi, the film still tends to drag at times.

Ultimately xXx does nothing new. At all. The only reason why anyone would watch this film is to experience Vin Diesel's charisma and charm. Because that's really the only unique aspect brought to the otherwise trite premise.

But it's entertaining. Mindless, but entertaining. Despite the hackneyed script, you have to commend the movie for not taking itself too seriously, ultimately not making it a chore to watch. It's actually quite fun and ridiculous in all its glory.

Twizard Rating: 72
½ January 30, 2017
Amusing that a movie that postures itself as being grittier and tougher than the Bond movies it was knocking off ends up being as stodgy, pedestrian and cliched as any Bond movie (pre Casino Royale). All attitude, no bite.
January 27, 2017
Wanna see an Agent kick some ass and look dope while doing it? This is hands down One of the coolest movies I've ever seen. The stunts are crazy. The story is Unexpected. The pace of the movie is just perfect. Non-Stop adrenaline heart stomping action and thrilling from start to finish. Welcome to the XANDER ZONE!!!!
½ January 24, 2017
i can honestly say this was my first time sitting through the whole film. and i know why i never finished. terrieble. ..

I'll probably go see the new one. hopefully its better than this crap
January 21, 2017
Good no brain action film but very unrealistic in places.
January 19, 2017
It's no Bond or Bourne, but XXX delivers a new take on the spy thriller genre, with wild action sequences and Vin Diesel kicking ass, definitely delivers summer fun!
January 19, 2017
xXx I do not find intriguing nor very entertaining. Yes, there is some solid action, but the movie is just so mindless and stupid you cannot get into the action to enjoy it. There are some cool moments, and Vin Disel is made for this role, but that's about it.
January 19, 2017
Sound and fury signifying nothing.
Super Reviewer
January 17, 2017
If any future filmmakers are looking for inspiration in the guilty-pleasure high octane action genre, xXx is exactly the film to look into. What's not to like about it? Heck, even the horribly awful things are entertaining.

Back when Vin Diesel decided not to come back to the Fast & Furious franchise, he chose to join F&F 1 director Rob Cohen in taking on another ridiculous action extravaganza, xXx. Now, the Fast & Furious franchise has figured out the right balance of lighthearted humor, bada** action sequences, and developed characters who we actually care about. xXx certainly has fun action, but that's about it. The humor is there, but in no way do I believe it's intentionally funny. And the characters are pretty awful. Or, at least the dialogue coming out of their mouths is awful.

But does a film like this really need to have great dialogue? I guess not. Especially when it contains countless one-liners that do nothing but put a smile on my face from ear to ear. Essentially, this is just another Fast & Furious movie. Fast cars, explosions, women in scantily clad attire, incoherent plots, over-the-top villains, and catchy music. All are staples of the franchise, and Xander Cage's first film outing is no different.

The supporting characters are fittingly absurd and bizzare, led by a prototypical performance from Samuel L. Jackson & an equally clichéd turn from Marton Csokas. I think the bottom line is, this movie is so far-fetched and insane that it works as one of the best mindless action adventures of the last decade. No one would believe a guy like Xander Cage would be recruited as an undercover agent in any sort of organization, but that's not really the point. xXx sets out to entertain, and that it does.

+One-liners

+Full-throttle action

+Over-the-top

-Really, really awful dialogue

-Cliched

-Does anyone actually care about these characters?

6.4/10
January 6, 2017
It's a good film and he's returning even better
½ December 26, 2016
It's not James Bond, but its still a fun action-packed spy thriller despite the lack of class. Vin Diesel feels alive and open, and proves to be a interesting action anti-hero. The plot isn't anything too special, and some moments slow the story down.
December 1, 2016
Vin Diesel meets James Bond ! Unbelievably Brilliant ! Everything is here that the new James Bond has lost...Sexy cars, Sexy Girls and good action.
November 12, 2016
While it perhaps could've been better, xXx boasts a worthy performance from Vin Diesel, plenty of amazing action sequences and even a couple of laughs here and there that ought to keep the film's target demographic pleased. After all, Vin Diesel's fanbase does consist primarily of teens. Personally, I think this film could've been the start of another franchise for Vin Diesel following the Fast & Furious and Riddick franchises but it sadly got limited to half-assed spiritual successor starring Ice Cube and an upcoming belated sequel in which Diesel returns. Yay, I guess? Might as well see how xXx 3 turns out.
½ October 10, 2016
Cheesiest p0rno ever.
September 26, 2016
3.5/5 B+ Turn Off Your Brain Action Ride Alot Of Fun Find This Film Underrated Cant Wait For The Return Of Xander Cage in 2017!
Page 1 of 636