Scooby-Doo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Scooby-Doo Reviews

Page 1 of 448
½ February 13, 2017
Scooby Doo is stale and predictable, and the cast acts like their in a teen slasher flick.
February 1, 2017
Not good movie to watch
January 16, 2017
The live adaptation of Scooby-Doo is my favorite movie of all time! The jokes are consistently hilarious, high brow and all around good laughs. The story is emotional, profound, and well thought out with no unnecessary plot devices. The only thing better than the story is the set. I WANT TO LIVE ON SPOOKY ISLAND...what a fun place. Last but not least, this film gave us one of the most iconic and complex characters to ever exist in fiction...MELVIN DOO. With only one line ("Uh melvin doo?") he captivated a nation. America was forever changed by Mr. Doo and I think we owe him some respect. In conclusion, I think that a 30% on the tomatometer is a disgrace. Zoinks.
December 29, 2016
The live-action incarnation of Scooby-Doo stars a talented cast among them a show stealing Rowan Atkinson and a surprisingly committed Matthew Lillard and ought to keep Scooby-Doo diehards diverted but with Raja Gosnell in the director's chair and special effects that even for a PG-rated movie released in 2002 look a bit cheesy, the film ultimately will end up leaving most audiences less than thrilled.
December 10, 2016
I loved this movie as a kid and I still do. It's got a great script and cast and opens a new look on the classic scooby cartoon.
November 14, 2016
For a die hard Scooby fan, It's gratuitous, but always a good guilty pleasure
October 15, 2016
I'm surprised to see this movie has such a low rating. Any part that's not great is intentionally done so, and it's overall a pretty funny movie that's amazing for anyone who likes Scooby Doo. Definitely recommend.
½ September 10, 2016
Let's get one thing straight, there are good trash and bad trash movies. But this? This falls perfectly along the lines of good trash. Can I give it any other compliment than entertaining, no, but that's not what it set out to do anyway. Guilty pleasure.
August 28, 2016
Scooby-Doo (2002) C-82m. ?? D: Raja Gosnell. Matthew Lillard, Freddie Prinze Jr., Sarah Michelle Gellar. Worst. Movie. Ever. . . . okay maybe not, but it's still pretty awful. A feature-length rendition of SCOOBY-DOO, WHERE ARE YOU! is just as monotonous and repetitive as the TV show; Mystery Inc. investigates very bizarre island (because apparently, the police are off-duty.) Scooby himself is as convincing as one of those Viagra ads. Everything is perfectly dreary, except--perhaps--Gellar's exceptional legs. Followed by sequel. Chuck Jones, where are you!
½ August 18, 2016
I was pleasantly surprised by how fun this live-action adaptation of Scooby Doo was to watch. It was well cast, with maybe the exception of Freddie Prinze Jr. (his acting seemed a little stiff). Matthew Lillard was a spot-on Shaggy. There were some great inside jokes for the adults and made for a fun ride. Scooby Doo's CGI was fairly pitiful considering the advancements available at the time of the release. Rating: 7 / 10
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
July 25, 2016
I must admit that I really enjoyed it, Faithfull to the cartoons and the cast look great, Scooby looks pretty good and I did laugh a few times, Kids will love it, Deserves more credit.
July 23, 2016
Absolutely terrible. Nothing else to say.
July 16, 2016
Captures the spirit of the cartoon, but fails to entertain as much as it should.
July 15, 2016
The film goes to Lillard and Cardellini for their spot-on portrayals as "Shaggy and Velma".
July 7, 2016
Matthew Lillard dominates every scene he's in.. But it's not enough to save this movie from itself
June 19, 2016
Despite one or two decent performances, scooby doo: the movie is a terrible adaptation of the beloved cartoon, filled with lame jokes and mean spirited characters (presumably Fred and Daphne).
½ May 30, 2016
Scooby Doo, Where Are You? I know exactly where he is: burying himself alive so he doesn't have to witness this pathetic film adaptation of the classic show. While all the Mystery Inc crew are brilliantly cast, they can't save this trainwreck of a script that the relies on Scrappy Doo pissing on people and CGI monsters that look like they were made by a four year old.
½ May 29, 2016
Perfectly casted, but other than that I would say it was executed pretty poorly. Still, it's fun if you're in the right mindset!
½ May 26, 2016
Matthew Lillard is spot on as Shaggy, he was fantastic in the movie. Linda Cardellini does a pretty good job portraying Velma as well. However, two good performances doesn't save this movie from being a poorly executed adaption of the beloved cartoon.
May 20, 2016
Zoinks!! This movie is great relly evolved!!!!
Page 1 of 448