Scooby-Doo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Scooby-Doo Reviews

Page 1 of 448
July 16, 2017
It a bad movie with bad jokes, but it can at times be enjoyable. Some moments are unintentionally funny which may satisfy older viewers.
July 10, 2017
Although it's no where near as good as the cartoon that it's based on, that doesn't mean that there isn't anything to enjoy about this movie. This really isn't all that great of a movie but there are some good moments. I found myself laughing during some moments of this movie. I did enjoy this movie more when I was smaller but as I got older, I found some new things to enjoy in this movie. The cast is pretty good too. The cast all play their characters pretty well. Especially Matthew Lillard as Shaggy. He was awesome in his role. The CGI for Scooby wasn't great or anything but compared to the made for TV movies that came afterwards, Scooby looks pretty good. Overall this is a decent reboot of the original Scooby-Doo tv show. With some funny moments and a good cast, this movie can hold up pretty well. There were some things that didn't fit though. Sometimes it could get scary for the little ones and it almost didn't feel like the original Scooby-Doo show. But like I said, with those good moments and a good cast, this movie would just collapse. C+
June 10, 2017
This movie is very good :v
½ May 20, 2017
Not only does it have a terrible CGI character, it has nothing to do with the franchise at all.
½ April 24, 2017
AHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!, THIS MOVIE IS TERRIBLE,!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
April 13, 2017
The beginning of the movie very much reminded me of the original cartoon. I used to watch this and its future variations heavily. That being said this movie was so silly and goofy and I could not take it seriously. I am not sure if I would watch this again other than as a joke.
April 11, 2017
Matthew Lillard does a great Shaggy voice. And even though Daphne didn't have the cleavage like in the cartoon, Linda Cardellini more than made up for it. And screw it, I like Sarah Michelle Gellar.
April 5, 2017
Matthew Lillard is spot on as Shaggy, he was fantastic in the movie. Linda Cardellini does a pretty good job portraying Velma as well. However, two good performances doesn't save this movie from being a poorly executed adaption of the beloved cartoon.
½ March 31, 2017
really fun family movie. my daughter enjoys these movies.
March 30, 2017
Scooby Doo is stale and predictable, and the cast acts like their in a teen slasher flick.
February 1, 2017
Not good movie to watch
January 16, 2017
The live adaptation of Scooby-Doo is my favorite movie of all time! The jokes are consistently hilarious, high brow and all around good laughs. The story is emotional, profound, and well thought out with no unnecessary plot devices. The only thing better than the story is the set. I WANT TO LIVE ON SPOOKY ISLAND...what a fun place. Last but not least, this film gave us one of the most iconic and complex characters to ever exist in fiction...MELVIN DOO. With only one line ("Uh melvin doo?") he captivated a nation. America was forever changed by Mr. Doo and I think we owe him some respect. In conclusion, I think that a 30% on the tomatometer is a disgrace. Zoinks.
December 29, 2016
The live-action incarnation of Scooby-Doo stars a talented cast among them a show stealing Rowan Atkinson and a surprisingly committed Matthew Lillard and ought to keep Scooby-Doo diehards diverted but with Raja Gosnell in the director's chair and special effects that even for a PG-rated movie released in 2002 look a bit cheesy, the film ultimately will end up leaving most audiences less than thrilled.
December 10, 2016
I loved this movie as a kid and I still do. It's got a great script and cast and opens a new look on the classic scooby cartoon.
November 14, 2016
For a die hard Scooby fan, It's gratuitous, but always a good guilty pleasure
October 15, 2016
I'm surprised to see this movie has such a low rating. Any part that's not great is intentionally done so, and it's overall a pretty funny movie that's amazing for anyone who likes Scooby Doo. Definitely recommend.
½ September 10, 2016
Let's get one thing straight, there are good trash and bad trash movies. But this? This falls perfectly along the lines of good trash. Can I give it any other compliment than entertaining, no, but that's not what it set out to do anyway. Guilty pleasure.
August 28, 2016
Scooby-Doo (2002) C-82m. ?? D: Raja Gosnell. Matthew Lillard, Freddie Prinze Jr., Sarah Michelle Gellar. Worst. Movie. Ever. . . . okay maybe not, but it's still pretty awful. A feature-length rendition of SCOOBY-DOO, WHERE ARE YOU! is just as monotonous and repetitive as the TV show; Mystery Inc. investigates very bizarre island (because apparently, the police are off-duty.) Scooby himself is as convincing as one of those Viagra ads. Everything is perfectly dreary, except--perhaps--Gellar's exceptional legs. Followed by sequel. Chuck Jones, where are you!
½ August 18, 2016
I was pleasantly surprised by how fun this live-action adaptation of Scooby Doo was to watch. It was well cast, with maybe the exception of Freddie Prinze Jr. (his acting seemed a little stiff). Matthew Lillard was a spot-on Shaggy. There were some great inside jokes for the adults and made for a fun ride. Scooby Doo's CGI was fairly pitiful considering the advancements available at the time of the release. Rating: 7 / 10
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
July 25, 2016
I must admit that I really enjoyed it, Faithfull to the cartoons and the cast look great, Scooby looks pretty good and I did laugh a few times, Kids will love it, Deserves more credit.
Page 1 of 448