Lakeview Terrace - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lakeview Terrace Reviews

Page 1 of 260
½ August 4, 2016
Actually wasn't a bad movie.
May 12, 2016
entertaing at some parts can get boring
½ February 22, 2016
equal time is given to both sides and it's the tragedy of the character that makes this work
½ February 3, 2016
Samuel L. Jackson not just being the neighborhoods biggest douchebag, but is a criminal with a badge as well. I've already seen this premise in the award winning film "Training Day", and the only difference here is that the filmmakers are tackling the issue of interracial couples! It had potential, but, falls flat due to a weak storyline, so in the end, this feature was, "meh"!
½ December 18, 2015
Though it wasn't perfect and could've been much better, it's a pretty enjoyable character study. It seems like the film, in most spots, doesn't completely get off the ground and falls a little short before it gets too intense. The three lead performances -- particularly Patrick Wilson and Samuel L. Jackson -- are quite strong and the story keeps you hooked despite some cliches. Good film, could've been better though.
October 26, 2015
At the time this film came out (the summer before Obama was elected President south of the 49th parallel) I viewed it as an throwback to the Intimacy Thrillers that flooded the movie theaters in the Bush/Clinton era following the success of Fatal Attraction. Actually it comes across as a more mean-spirited and more realistic variation on the Paul Haggis film Crash. Samuel L. Jackson is superb as a veteran LAPD officer. A widower, he has definite ideas on how to raise his kids. As a cop, he has definite ideas on how to police the worst neighborhoods in his city. But when an interracial couple moves in next door, we discover that Jackson's character has definite ideas about race relations and is actually a racist. Jackson's character is charming and helpful but he gradually reveals his resentment of his young neighbors (Patrick Wilson and Kerry Washington) and tries to drive them out of the exclusive neighborhood they live in. He becomes more unhinged and angrier as the movie progresses. After he is suspended by the LAPD pending an IAD investigation into his actions during a violent take-down of a suspect (in which point the IAD investigator's suggest that he retire) he makes Wilson and Washington the outlet for all his frustrations. Wilson and Washington as also good as the young newlyweds. Wilson is very good, polite, middle class, and liberal and finds his beliefs and world shaken by Jackson's relentless crusade. Washington displays a great deal of inner courage and strength as the film progresses, and remains unshakable in her convictions even as a wildfire threatens their home as much as Jackson's character. Also featuring Ron Glass as Washington's very successful father who resents his new son-in-law for both racial and class reasons.
September 21, 2015
A nail biting thriller that leaves you at the edge of your seat from start to finish! Also having a few laughs in the mix, it's just brilliant! A+
September 15, 2015
Good movie . Have on DVD.
½ August 4, 2015
An ok thriller that has it's flaws but does it well. I thought Jackson was very good in his role but overall the movie just didn't work with all its racial politics and what not.
July 27, 2015
Samuel L. Jackson being Samuel L. Jackson, a little questionable in some of the content about it's views on inter racial couples but not bad I guess.
½ July 19, 2015
Although I will be frustrated as heck watching it.
May 9, 2015
A meaningless suspense/thiller that lacks suspense, thrill, strong characters, and a bit of everything else that goes into a decent film. Don't waste your time here, but should you choose to, I guess you could've done worse. (42%)
½ March 3, 2015
It's fun watching Samuel L.'s intensity but other than that it's campy and laughable.
½ February 13, 2015
First off, the decision to make this PG-13 was foolish. This is material begging for an R-rated treatment. Second...it's just not very good. There are moments where, instead of the territorial disputes playing out like Patrick Wilson's lamb trying to take on Sam L. Jackson's lion, it seems more like an unfunny segment from a "Grumpy Old Men" movie. That is a definite sign your psychological thriller isn't all that thrilling psychologically. This should have been a whole lot better.
January 29, 2015
The first half of Lakeview Terrance works as a race-related drama and Samuel L. Jackson is at his menacing best, but sort of faulters the moment the film radically shifts into a thriller in the last act.
½ January 15, 2015
Samuel L is a racist cop in a neighborhood who is controlling and who sees the interacial relationship of his neighbor as wrong. It could of been a lot more tense than it was and the plot sort of got out of control towards the end. It could of been an intense study of race relations and how we cope with it but instead it seemed to be something else.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
The man who appears in almost all movies are back once again .. Samuel L Jackson. And well he makes pretty good movies usually so i end up watching mostly of them aswell. In this flick he plays a cop with strictly rules especially against his new neighbours... a worthy drama / thriller with a decent plot.
November 24, 2014
I liked the story; a fresh take on racism. But in true Samuel L Jackson form, the overacting in places and unbelievable plot twists lost me (without spoiling: the chainsaw/tree seen is a prime example). Still, it wasn't a TOTAL waste of 2 hours. I was entertained.
½ November 23, 2014
Lakeview Terrace is a decent film. It is about a LAPD officer who will stop at nothing to force out the interracial couple who just moved in next door. Samuel L. Jackson, Patrick Wilson, and Kerry Washington give good performances. The screenplay is a little slow in places. Neil LaBute did an alright job directing this movie. I liked this motion picture because of the drama.
Page 1 of 260