Splice - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Splice Reviews

Page 1 of 353
April 14, 2018
This is hands down one of the worst movies that I have ever seen. I saw it when it first came out. (I was 13 and still am a horror freak) After I left that movie I swore to myself I would write a letter someday to the producers, writers, actors, even the lighting man just to let them know how horrible and displeasing this movie was. PLEASE SAVE YOUR PRECIOUS TIME AND DO NOT WATCH.
April 5, 2018
Dumb woman gets what is coming to her. Movie is mostly just bickering between her and her boyfriend. Waste of time. This is a cliched formula that I don't believe has held up well
½ March 30, 2018
Splice is an underrated creature feature about the dangers of tampering with mother nature. The performances from Sarah Polley and Adrian Brody are quite good, as is the interesting story. It's a story that combines themes about tampering with nature, as well as horrifying body horror with effectively disturbing scenes that will make your skin crawl. It's a creepy, atmospheric horror flick that is both intelligent and horrifying. It's one of the most underrated films of the decade.
March 14, 2018
ok, this movie wasnt great but watchable.
January 30, 2018
I am a bit shocked about this weird horror. That is good I guess. But there is no much more about that: the shock for some weird moments!
½ October 7, 2017
An amazing thrill ride for those interested in science and not brain dead retards that spend all day on facebook and instagram.
July 19, 2017
This film's story is one of the best constructed I have seen in the genre (sci-fi/horror). The lab is very credible, the biology not too far off except maybe impossible, and the psychology completely understandable. I think the film went very far and made the spliced girl a bit too monstrous in the end. Maybe they had to for an horror film, but maybe there is a more terrible ending that does not make the monster a killer. Then again, they tried to kill the monster first, so it is monsters against monster in this case. Very good progression and I give it a 5 stars until when Dren change sex.
June 23, 2017
this movie deserve much love is a great movie to see
June 9, 2017
The ending made it such a waste of concept.
May 2, 2017
A good idea but a poor execution on the 3rd part of the film. The most horrifying aspect is the potential the film had.
½ April 24, 2017
Adrien Brody and Sarah Polley are husband and wife genetic researchers who have cross bred a slew of animals creating a new species that they hope to farm proteins of medical use from. They want to push on and introduce human DNA into the mix, but the company that's funding their research says no. They do it anyway, and kind of accidentally create a creature that kind of becomes their daughter ... a daughter they have to hide in barn because she isn't exactly allowed to exist. Canadian director Vincenzo Natali is obviously influenced by Cronenberg here, and the parts of this film that really work feel his presence. Unfortunately, the movie ultimately only kind of works, totally running out of steam in the final act.
April 14, 2017
A particular case of family tragedy. A man and a woman create a special child by an genetic experiment. I liked to watch it. Rather low budget but well done, well played, sufficient special effects. Still looking forward to splice 2.
March 29, 2017
This was so stupid! omg!
February 21, 2017
I thought this was very well-acted by the 3 leads, and a gripping sci-fi story.
January 4, 2017
Love horror genre from campy to slasher to torture porn and horror comedies; however this move was horrible and wasn't even good enough to be a sci fi thriller or horror. My horror movie buddy and the other cinema patrons loutloud said "what the f*** did we just pay to see?!???"
½ December 4, 2016
Monsters are better than humans. I agree!
½ November 30, 2016
Splice has an interesting idea but does not use it to its full potential and is rather light on the scares for a sci-fi horror film.
November 18, 2016
I so wanted to like this... interesting premise, like the actors... but.... I don't know. I think they tried too hard. Left m flat.
October 18, 2016
Unlike casual zombie horror's , Splice dances with the devil instead of destroying it. The plot focuses most dangerously on the benevolent creature, fails to create any type of character empathy for the sake of sting when things go wrong, and fails to reach out to the viewer for the purpose of fear interaction. Splice carriers a well amount of flare, but It's flat-lined feel will make it, oh so hard to finish.
½ September 27, 2016
Every possible lame ass cliche imaginable without any believable plot.
Page 1 of 353