Center Stage - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Center Stage Reviews

Page 1 of 4
January 2, 2011
Melodramatic, a bit racy -- some teens will love.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 28, 2006
Assuming that every generation needs its own dance film, Hytner revists the turf of films like Turning Point (classic ballet), Chrous Line (Broadway dancing) and Saturday Night Fever (disco) and blends together their themes and persona to little effect.
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 31, 2005
If I was a 12 year old girl who takes any sort of dance classes, this would be my favorite film of all time...but I'm not.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
August 8, 2002
...not only insultingly stupid but weirdly dull.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: D
August 2, 2002
Ethan Steifel's unforgettable dancing seems to defy the laws of gravity -- and without computerized special effects.
June 23, 2002
Does one kid turn out to be bulimic? Does someone proclaim, "I'm not dancing for them anymore -- I'm dancing for myself"? You need not see "Center Stage" to correctly guess the answers to those questions.
March 16, 2002
Offers insights into the rigors, foibles, physical pain, and competitiveness in the modern world of ballet.
September 20, 2001
Center Stage proves that it's hard to make a bad dance movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 19, 2001
[Hytner's] widescreen direction of the many dance sequences has a snap to it the likes of which hasn't been seen in studio musical filmmaking for years.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 1, 2000
With a plot that is constructed entirely out of formula situations and familiar plot elements, Center Stage feels like a rerun of Flashdance grafted onto The Cutting Edge.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Center Stage has moments of joy and moments of insight.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Embarrassingly enjoyable.
January 1, 2000
What Fame would have been if it had been a poorly acted soap opera.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 1, 2000
The plot, like the ballerinas, is wafer-thin, but the dancing is impressive, and you'll find yourself rooting for the dancers' success.
January 1, 2000
Center Stage is the same old stuff, not an arabesque more.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 1, 2000
If you like campy dance movies, this one won't let you down
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
The aim of the film was to be entertaining, the art part it dumbed down for mass consumption.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 1, 2000
What a joy to see a young woman say 'no' to sexual advances, even from a former lover, while maintaining a sense of power and purpose.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
It is so bad, it actually made me realize that life doesn't hold try-outs and I should use my time doing better things than watching Center Stage.
January 1, 2000
An unbelievably hokey, and, in spite of the terpsichore on display, resolutely lead-footed piece of mawkish melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Page 1 of 4