Crimson Peak Reviews

Page 1 of 14
July 14, 2020
I felt like I was on a ride with a storyteller who knew exactly what he was doing.
July 3, 2020
A melodramatic gothic romance mystery that's as unusual and compelling as that sounds.
June 29, 2020
Crimson Peak is a fantastic gothic romance that's filled with plenty of mystery, punctuated with several bumps in the night.
April 10, 2020
A spectacle that does not hold any surprises and that fails in its ability to keep in suspense. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 24, 2020
If Merchant-Ivory made a horror film it would look something like this.
February 13, 2020
There's nothing else like it out right now, and if you've got an inner Goth or English major, this will be right up your alley. It's utterly unique, and could only have been made by Guillermo del Toro.
January 10, 2020
There are so many holes in [the] story, I just don't think it's salvageable.
November 18, 2019
Overall, Crimson Peak is gorgeous to look at, but is ultimately let down by its half-baked plot.
November 13, 2019
Crimson Peak is visually stunning and offers sophisticated performances but the tragic story won't be remembered for its content as much as its presentation.
October 16, 2019
The greatness and failure of Crimson Peak as a film are altogether at war with each other.
April 18, 2019
The master of magic has created something wonderful to look at but emotionally null and void.
April 10, 2019
Thoroughly engaging, del Toro delivers a stylistically classy film that is sure to please.
March 30, 2019
Each of the actors handles the drama with aplomb, and they sell the fright with vigor - especially Chastain, who gives a stirring performance as a grave woman whose grating demeanor suggests a cat with ready claws.
March 2, 2019
I unapologetically LOVE Crimson Peak for everything that it is ... yes, even Charlie Hunnam as Edith's sad-eyed, shafted suitor. Incredible, I know.
February 28, 2019
Nothing, however, could distract from the stunningly detailed gothic imagery which, like in many del Toro pictures, supersedes everything else.
February 23, 2019
It's all a little over the top, at times, but that's all part of the fun and del Toro sustains the interest throughout.
February 13, 2019
The characters don't have real motivations and the romance does not exist in this film. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 7, 2019
The director commits to a full-bodied re-visualisation of the haunted-house genre. And fittingly, he succeeds, somewhat, in creating a gothic cathedral amidst an overpopulated landscape of modern skyscrapers.
January 30, 2019
As a fangirl, I guess that I see this one as akin to Mimic, something that is good but incomplete.
January 18, 2019
Crimson Peak is well made and the cast is very good, but the problem lies in the pacing of the film. Del Toro's story unfolds slowly, perhaps too slowly, with the audience way ahead of the story.
Page 1 of 14