Frankenhooker - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Frankenhooker Reviews

Page 1 of 18
August 26, 2016
The darker and edgier (and campier) adaptation that nobody asked for but we all needed. The ridiculous, over-the-top plot is actually matched in its insanity by the ludicrous special effects. One of the best exploitation films out there.
June 25, 2016
3 on 10.
They are who we thought they were and we let them off the hook!
I would still recommend that you check it tho.
May 6, 2016
Okay but this was actually really good??? 4 stars.
½ March 10, 2016
Exploding hookers, enough said.
January 21, 2016
The lead woman is pretty funny, the rest is pretty dumb.
January 10, 2016
Definitely a gem for B-Movie lovers!
½ January 6, 2016
A salad that was once known as Elizabeth.

A medical student believes he can bring back the dead due to a series of experiments he has been testing. When his finacee is killed in a horrible accident, he seeks out to gain body parts to perform an experiment and bring his fiancée back to life. He believes the perfect place to find his parts are on the mean streets of New York where hookers are plentiful. He finds his task more challenging than he expected.

"Look how sexy you are. I bet you get $1,000/night."

Frank Henenlotter, director of Basket Case 1-3, Brain Damage, Bad Biology, and Chasing Banksy, delivers Frankenhooker. The storyline for this is as dreadful as it sounds and combines elements of Basket Case with Frankenstein. The plot isn't worth following but some of the girls look nice. The cast delivers terrible performances outside of some nice bodies on display.

"When a man losses his ho he loses everything."

I recently came across this on Showtime Anytime and had never heard of it but decided to give this horror movie a chance. It's one of those films you hope is so bad it is good; well, Toxic Avengers it is not. This film falls flat and is bitterly disappointing outside of a few nice nude scenes. I recommend skipping this.

"Want to take my temperature, doc? I bet you have a big thermometer."

Grade: D
½ December 20, 2015
Frankenhooker is a lot of fun and is light on the graphic violence and that's always a good thing. The film is well done and is a very nice little spin on the Frankenstein story. It's basically a complete remake but spinoff at the same time of the original film. Ironically, the main actor pays no homage to his clear influence for his work, Victor Frankenstein. The film is a borderline black or dark comedy and basically is just pure nuts but is totally fun.
October 6, 2015
This is hilariously bad.
September 20, 2015
It was almost an hour before Frankenhooker showed up......very disappointing.
½ September 20, 2015
Juust soo bizarre! Camp at its finest. Not my thing though. But definitely one of those cult classics that seem to be popular around 80's B movie horror comedies. But I much preferred ReAnimator.
½ August 19, 2015
An adaptation of...duh...Frankenstein. And much like Frankenstein's monster, this movie is bizarre, loud, and fun to watch. And just when you think it doesn't have much more to offer, the disturbing finale is something to talk about.
½ August 10, 2015
It's the GONE WITH THE WIND of movies that have exploding prostitutes in it.

Really solid horror-comedy from the writer/director of BASKET CASE and BRAIN DAMAGE. It'll transport you immediately to the late 80s/early 90s and it's quite low budget but the special effects are decent to good. However, the absurd humor is what helps carries this one. It's one of those that Troma missed out on and we all missed out on getting more from the crazily creative Frank Henenlotter. Sure, it's a second-rate imitation of the superior RE-ANIMATOR but this still is an all-time great midnight cult movie.
August 7, 2015
Uninteresting piece of bad porn that's so bad the Mystery Science Theater crew would have a ball critiquing it.
August 5, 2015
a 90's black horror comedy that subdues itself in body horror and chuckle-worthy giggles
a modern take on the Frankenstein story spruced up in its own silliness
a drop-out med student loses his girlfriend in an accident involving a lawnmower and brings her back with spare parts from human hookers, of course, things don't go so smoothly as she goes on a murderous rampage and he tries to bring her back to her senses
the movie strangely takes a while for the plot to start and then it moves quite quickly after
at least it zips by and delivers the goods however horrific they may be
stupid but a lot of fun to be had
being so good with science is still a deadly thing in itself when it comes to bringing the dead back to life
June 27, 2015
So ridiculous, but so much fun. Patty Mullen is soo hilarious and great in it.
April 9, 2015
Just great lol, so bad it's good
March 29, 2015
This is a really underrated film. I know that the acting, the script, and the jokes were bad but there are a hell of a lot worse horror-comedies out there; this is a lot more enjoyable than any George A Romero film I've seen. It's a pretty funny film and well worth gathering a bunch of mates to watch this for a guaranteed laugh.
Super Reviewer
½ February 7, 2015
A pretty prime example of horror comedy. Dumb as Hell (as is anybody who was expecting anything else) but lots of fun. Takes what people were laughing AT in the 70's and 80's, and makes you laugh WITH it.
February 6, 2015
Written and directed by Frank Henenlotter (Basket Case (1982) and Brain Damage (1988)), this black comedy horror is inspired by Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, but you get the impression that Shelley would never have dreamt that her book would have inspired something like this. It has to be seen to be believed, and there's stuff in this that'll have you absolutely howling with laughter, it's absolutely hilarious!! When Elizabeth Shelley (Patty Mullen) is accidentally killed by a remote controlled lawnmower at a birthday barbeque, her fiancee Jeffrey Franken (James Lorinz) is devastated, but he's also an amateur scientist, and he comes up with a plan to bring Elizabeth back to life, he salvaged her head and a few other parts from the accident, and decides to kill prostitutes to fill in the missing pieces. He kills them in a massive orgy using some industrial strength "super meth". He uses the parts to put her back together, and it seemingly works, but the reassembled Elizabeth doesn't want Jeffrey, she wants to have sex with stranger for money, or she'll kill them!! You cannot believe a film like this got made, but thank god it did!! It's refreshing to see a comedy-horror with it's tongue firmly in it's cheek, and it's a shame that Henenlotter hasn't made more films, as he has a true talent. This is a prime example of a film so bad it's absolutely brilliant!!
Page 1 of 18