Freaks - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Freaks Reviews

Page 1 of 88
½ August 11, 2016
Simply terrifying. I think the most disturbing thing portrayed in this film is the social attitude toward those with disabilities and the prevalence of eugenics that was a very real problem less than a century ago - an attitude that we see re-emerging in our current culture. Gubble gobble gubble gobble.
August 11, 2016
I knew Freaks is real in circus shows. And It is GREAT!
½ July 31, 2016
There is so much substance in this film, and it adds to it that these are all real people in the circus troop. Such an achievement for such an early film. I only wish the deleted scenes towards the end weren't lost over time (scenes that were deemed too inappropriate for audiences) which made for such a short running time at 64 minutes... I didn't want the film to end.
June 27, 2016
4/5

How strange it is to see almost 100 years later a film that has shocked the ages and that still has some strange charm that comes from seeing the Freaks going through perfectly relatable situations and suffering through feelings that extend to the major plot point of the film.
June 8, 2016
This is quite touching in parts. I guess their choices were limited under the circumstance but its let down some by some poor acting, and quite a flimsy plot that just seems tagged on at the end.
March 13, 2016
A big step up for Browning after his stodgy, stage-bound version of "Dracula". His genuine love for circuses, carnivals and sideshows definitely inspired him to make a more lively and energetic film. He still doesn't seem completely comfortable with sound film. The soundtrack is not clear and he employs actors with dense accents that have difficulty with English dialogue. You can understand this in the case of a few of his actors playing the titular freaks, but a couple of the leads have thick accents too. What he achieves though is both a genuinely creepy and disturbing film that doubles as an impassioned plea for acceptance and understanding.
March 5, 2016
Revolutionary

8/10

Review from Italy.
½ March 1, 2016
This highly disturbing film has gone on to become a cult Classic. Directed by Tod Browning who directed the original "Dracula"(1931), it follows a bunch Circus freaks, who are played by real-life circus performers. It is at times stylistic, scary, and unnerving. It's only 64mins long due to cuts for the censors so it's a short watch. Check it out if a fan of the bizarre, you can see its influence on people like David Lynch. it not a fan of the bizarre, then skip it.
February 20, 2016
Colorfully bizarre, thoroughly original, well acted, and one of the most unnerving finales in movie history. "Freaks" hits all the marks.
½ January 25, 2016
A Tod Browning masterpiece. As one of the greatest horror directors of all time, Browning broke new ground with Freaks that has not necessarily been retread since. In fact, this film was banned in several jurisdictions for decades. The recent season of American Horror Story borrowed heavily from this film, including poaching characters directly. Such has been the influence of this film on the horror film genre.

The shocking final scenes of the movie and the "Google Goggle" dinner chant are classic scenes, repeated several times subsequently in films, The Wolf Of Wall Street among them.

This film is not for everyone, especially those squeemish to see real-life "freaks". Overall, a disturbing and unsettling classic.
½ January 11, 2016
This movie was a gem, it was ahead of it's time.
It was really sad however that this movie was badly received by the audience at the time of it's premier and later became the decline of Tod Browning's directiong career, the man who directed Dracula a year prior. I even bought the movie after seeing some clips of it on youtube and i were NOT disappointed. I recommend this movie for you who like a good thriller horror movie.
½ November 26, 2015
Very unique and disturbing for it's time.
November 8, 2015
Super interesting to hear the speech and manners of 1932. Beautiful black and white.
October 31, 2015
Tod Browning‚??s 1932 tale¬†of love and deception among the members of a carnival sideshow was banned for years by the BBFC on the grounds that it ‚??exploited for commercial reasons the deformed people that it claimed to dignify‚??. Today, Browning‚??s sympathies¬†are clear; if there are ‚??freaks‚?? on display here, they are not the versatile performers to whom the title seems to allude.
October 26, 2015
Weather you see it as a horror film or a unique drama, Freaks is a memorable experience that keeps you thinking about yourself and others. The characters stand out, but the real actors are what make them. The story may be typical when used with normal people, but here it just shows how normal people with deformities can be. It doesn't hit every knock, and it's highly conversational, but it leaves a mark in cinema history.
October 11, 2015
i feel like it's about time i actually watch this movie -- it's been on my "to watch" list for a while now and i just never got around to it. it's a classic in the genre & obviously the fuel for AHS's 4th season; it was quite fascinating, actually, to see what they took from this film and how they twisted it to fit their story... i'm quite impressed. this movie really does make you step back and realize who the real monsters really are, though; makes you feel uncomfortable. it's not even an hour long so don't blink or you'll miss something.
October 8, 2015
It might give up the ending quite soon, but the structure and the substance of the film really pays off, making this possibly Tod Browning's best film ever.
½ August 29, 2015
They just do not make 'em like this anymore.When a movie made 80 years ago holds up this well today then that's one fine horror classic.They'll be images you just will not be able to get out of your head.
August 25, 2015
I enjoyed seeing the freaks themselves but I feel the story is a little simplistic for modern times.
August 12, 2015
Love this movie! it's funny, witty, and really freaky. For being made in the 30s this movie was probably very tongue in cheek at the time.
Page 1 of 88