Iron Man 3 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Iron Man 3 Reviews

Page 1 of 877
½ January 20, 2018
This movie was the first movie after the amazing Avengers movie so I did not expect it to be as good and fairly disappointing especially after the tragedy that was Iron Man 2. The answer is yes,this is disappointing but no, it is not bad or meh. It is actually pretty good. The only MCU movies that are better than this are Iron Man 1 and The Avengers. This is directed by Shane Black who had some good ideas but also some terrible ones. First off, this movie is pretty much a way worst version of The Dark Knight Rises. For most of the movie Tony Stark is not in an Iron Man suit. Frankly I would rather him be in his suit for at least a flipping quarter of the movie! Another terrible choice is The Mandarin twist. The trailers and the first half of the movie set up an amazingly menacing villain in the form of The Mandarin. If you did not know The Mandarin is Iron Man's arch-nemesis. He was even acted by Ben Kingsley! It looked like he would be the second best MCU villain besides Loki but they squandered it. They made him into a bumbling idiot who was forcefully taken out of the movie. Instead of that great spectacle we got a guy who breathes fire and is acted by Guy Pearce. I mean Guy Pearce is great and all, his best movie is easily Memento, but he is no Ben Kingsley. Terrible! To make matters worst he is killed by a raging Gwyneth Paltrow. A great idea is Stark made around a hundred Iron Man suits and in the end battle he unleashes them on Killian's men. Though the biggest of the bunch is only used to lift a container. It makes for a great end battle. Another bad decision is Stark blows them all up at the end for a Christmas special for Pepper's delight. This should have been a great movie but it was just good. Overall good movie but disappointing compared to The Avengers. Thumbs up.
January 14, 2018
An improvement on the mechanically so-so previous film, "Iron Man 3" comes close enough to matching the original.
January 13, 2018
Really fun movie filled with lots of humour. Interesting twist in regards to the Mandarin. Not a ton of great fighting scenes in the suit, but the scenes *MINOR SPOILERS* where Iron Man has to catch the free-falling passengers and escape two Extremis infused henchmen were probably the most exciting.
January 7, 2018
An improvement over its predecessor, but still disappointing. Maybe I'm just too much of a nerd, but I was really hoping for The Mandarin to be just like he is in the comics, and this movie subverted those expectations with something far less interesting. Having a twist like that is fine, but you better make sure that whatever you're doing instead is better than the obvious, and this isn't. I still really enjoyed how Tony Stark has to deal with a type of PTSD after all of his near death experiences fighting super-beings and aliens, but the whole Mandarin twist was such a dud that it dragged the movie down significantly. Also, the final fight with all the AI-controlled Iron Man suits is hilariously over-the-top and had me asking "Are the suits really this fragile, or are they just letting them get destroyed because it looks cool?"
½ January 6, 2018
Another Marvel bore fest
½ December 29, 2017
Such a fitting tale for Tony Stark ! Loved it !
December 22, 2017
Another let down from Iron Man. It should have been called Tony Stark as it is more about the man inside the suit.
Not a bad film but the twist is a little frustrating and the end just passes you by...
A stepping stone for Marvel
December 21, 2017
a really horrible take on the mandarine. marvel should be ashamed of themselves.
½ December 18, 2017
Though I enjoyed seeing a changed Tony Stark in the aftermath of The Avengers, this movie is an improvement over the previous Iron Man film, but lacks the depth and emotion of the first Iron Man. The villain was bland and had a very dull motivation for going after Tony Stark, The Mandarin was portrayed as nothing more than a drunk/drug addicted actor (the twist was idiotic), the final battle against Aldrich Killian was quite lackluster, and the humor is definitely hit-and-miss. But the movie does a great job of portraying Tony Stark struggling with the aftermath of the Chitauri invasion and showcasing his development.
December 17, 2017
A bigger and much broader Iron Man movie that never shies away from its action or humanity. My favorite out of the three.
½ December 17, 2017
Puntaje Original: 6.5

Por momentos forzadamente cómico, pero aún así resulta lo suficientemente entretenido y lleno de acción.
½ December 16, 2017
Though I was really put off by the twist at first, I have come to accept it. Everything else in the film is utterly fantastic, and makes it the best Marvel film to date behind only "The Avengers" and the original "Iron Man".
December 16, 2017
What they did with Mandarin is criminal
December 13, 2017
Solid MCU film that after distancing it from it's infamous plot twist, holds up as the best in the "Iron Man" franchise, along with being a fun holiday film. Downey is his usual excellence as Tony Stark, bringing his usual humor & charisma to the role while also portraying him with PTSD after the events in "The Avengers". He gets nice support from the rest of the cast, especially Ben Kingsley as the Mandarin (get past the twist, he's fun to watch) and Guy Pearce is nicely slimy as Killian. Behind the screen, Shane Black brings his trademark humor & one-liners to the MCU while also showing he's a darn good action director (the final action sequence is a showstopper). While the big twist on who the villain is jarring at first, it does work on repeat viewings, commenting on the theatrically on superheroes & their villains. However, one still wishes it was a bit more polished, thus maybe it wouldn't have affected the viewers so much originally. Overall, an entertaining film from beginning to end, and thanks to another Shane Black trademark setting it during Christmas, a great addition to the holiday movie rotation.
December 10, 2017
I only say Mandarin????
½ December 9, 2017
They runied the mandarin role, i hate it
½ December 5, 2017
Better than the second movie, but still worse than the first movie. You can see RDJ develop quite a bit during this movie, as he goes through the hardships of not having anything or anyone for some time. The comedy was tremendous, but the plot itself lacked what the first Iron Man movie did. Should've had more backstory to the villain, and remove some key-points that would be useless in the future. (Such as the Arc Reactor, as he will just get it back in Infinity War.)
½ December 3, 2017
Can get pretty boring and twist is insulting and awful but the action does deliver when it arrives. amazing performances
½ December 2, 2017
the only thing that that was not good is the Mandarin flop
November 28, 2017
Even with some noticeable tonal problems, Iron Man 3 is still a very enjoyable film.
Page 1 of 877