The Last Boy Scout - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Last Boy Scout Reviews

Page 1 of 93
May 23, 2018
Humor is bland. Action is slightly above average for a film. Acting is so-so. Great to watch for a simple 90's action flick.
Super Reviewer
½ May 7, 2018
Tony Scott and Shane Black sounds like a match made in heaven but this film is quite uneven. Black is the master of mismatched buddy films and the connection isn't the issue here, it's the plot. The genre was running rampant during this era and the success and failure was mainly due to the release structure and quality. I thought this was an interesting film and this is mainly due to Tony Scott in the directors seat. The film has a relentless pace and the violence is dialled up to 11, like most to Scott's films. The biggest downfall with this film is the over the top storytelling, it reaches heights of implausibility and too much. If you're looking for a film with mindless action and something to fill the void, this might appeal to you. 05/05/2018.
February 6, 2018
Better 1 liners and more Bruce Willis getting beat and taking it like a man than Die Hard
February 4, 2018
As much as I love Die Hard, I'm going to just tell you the details about The Last Boy Scout. This movie is very similar to Lethal Weapon and I can't believe that I haven't been reviewing all Lethal Weapon films. Including the scene where Darian, Joe's daughter watching it. While I was thinking about this recently I watched the opening credits from this and the guy who wrote the story and screenplay is Shane Black. He just wrote the screenplay for the Lethal Weapon films and now The Last Boy Scout. That is why the story is done twice. Why didn't I think of this before? What really surprised me is that it bombed at the box office which was crazy and aside from that I'm surprised that it had a cult following. So it's directed by Tony Scott and all I can see is the same location as Beverly Hill Cop and Beverly Hills Cop 2. The action scenes are awesome as usually like the ending where Joe and Jimmy heading to the football stadium to take down Marcone and Milo before they take down the president. This movie is awesome, well, not as good as the Lethal Weapon films and the Die Hard films which stars Bruce Willis but it's still awesome. So this buddy cop action flick will make you dance a jig and have Friday night's a great night for football.
January 31, 2018
Epic action thriller. Bruce Willis in near Die Hard form with action and one liners. You'll be dancing the jig by the end!
½ January 15, 2018
Fun action film that shines when focusing on the crackling chemistry of the lead actors & sharp script, but falters due to uneven direction. Willis & Wayans have fun in their respective and whenever they trade barbs, many due to Shane Black's superb dialogue (a running joke about Wayan's expensive leather pants is a highlight). Black's script does keep the twists coming, and the ultimate villainous plot is intriguing. Unfortunately, it is not handled well by director Tony Scott, who does gives some stylish action sequences but gives the film too many plot holes to follow (Willis's character, Hallenbeck, figures into the plot to conveniently). Plus, Scott downplays the Christmas atmosphere so much (a hallmark on any Shane Black script) that it's not even noticed, and thus you can't even call it a Christmas movie (unlike "Lethal Weapon" or "The Long Kiss Goodnight"). Overall, a fun action film but not the best by either Tony Scott or Shane Black.
October 29, 2017
The two leads are charming and fun, even though its a cliched buddy cop movie.
½ October 21, 2017
While it has an amazing performance by Willis and some great action scenes, the pace is muddled up and the characters are clear-cut from what goes on.
October 14, 2017
Under rated typically 80s/ early 90s buddy film that ticks the usual boxes. Elevated by a funny script, particularly some very amusing one liners, and a good chemistry between the leads.
August 19, 2017
Hilarious and violent! Fantastic dialogue (what else should we expect from Shane Black?) with fun action sequences. Enjoyable for multiple viewings.
Super Reviewer
½ August 4, 2017
Early 90s buddy action comedy that really did not age well. While Scott's style is already similar to his later masterpiece True Lies, the story here is simply not all that interesting with its setting in the football betting milieu and lackluster minor characters. There are some good one liners, but even Willis is far too close to his McClane routine to turn this into something special. Even the action isn't much to write home about. Forgettable.
January 25, 2017
The dialogue alone would be enough to dislike this movie but the acting is subpar as well (especially from Damon Wayans) and the "plot" isn't anything to be impressed by either. I suppose if one likes cheese and action movie cliches its alright, otherwise it will be hard to get through for anyone with any kind of standards.
January 7, 2017
Bring back more movies like they were in the 80's and early 90's !!! Good fight scenes , humour ...fun to watch ! Some movies these days goes so fast in fighting scenes that it doesn't matter if you hit another guy with 50 centimeters between it ...the modern technology will fix it ! SOMVIDEO
January 1, 2017
One of the best action movies ever. Every scene is jammed with shit talking.
½ November 8, 2016
Bruce Willis provides the quick wit whilst playing the stereotype dishevelled cop come good. Other than a fleeting appearance from Halle Berry there is nothing else memorable about this slipshod film. Poor plot, poor acting, tedious twists in the storyline and lame villain all make for a terrible early 90s thriller fully resplendent with yo moma so fat jokes, making it particularly easy to date. Dross.
September 18, 2016
Another action movie with the star of this genre Willis.
½ September 11, 2016
Whilst terribly hackneyed and cliched and with a script that sounds like it was written a decade earlier this is one of those guilty pleasures from a director who at least manages to keep things moving fast enough to stop you thinking too deeply about what's on screen. Fun, entertaining nonsense.
September 9, 2016
Private investigator teams with burnt out football player to take down a villainous team owner. It's got all the ingredients for a superb action flick.
½ June 19, 2016
Kinda not that great. Has some of the stupidity of Lethal Weapon but none of the charm.
June 10, 2016
Manly, explosive, violent, fun.
Page 1 of 93