The Last Boy Scout - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Last Boy Scout Reviews

Page 1 of 92
September 18, 2016
Another action movie with the star of this genre Willis.
½ September 11, 2016
Whilst terribly hackneyed and cliched and with a script that sounds like it was written a decade earlier this is one of those guilty pleasures from a director who at least manages to keep things moving fast enough to stop you thinking too deeply about what's on screen. Fun, entertaining nonsense.
September 9, 2016
Private investigator teams with burnt out football player to take down a villainous team owner. It's got all the ingredients for a superb action flick.
½ June 19, 2016
Kinda not that great. Has some of the stupidity of Lethal Weapon but none of the charm.
June 10, 2016
Manly, explosive, violent, fun.
½ May 26, 2016
One of THE defining 90s action movies. Can't explain why this one seems often to be forgotten. Typicals quibs of the time, good action and also one of Willis best action movies after Die Hard.
May 17, 2016
Created with the same recipe as a Lethal Weapon movie (opposing and distinctly different investigative partners, clever one-liners, hot girls, and things blowing up). You've seen it before. It got a little old and felt unoriginal. Rating: 6.5 / 10
Steve Grady
Super Reviewer
May 7, 2016
"The Last Boy Scout" is a good movie but has issues with acting and its script. The plot to "The Last Boy Scout" is that an ex-secret service agent named "Joe Hallenbeck" portrayed by "Bruce Willis" one night gets a job to guard a woman at work named "Cory" portrayed by "Halle Berry". Later on "Hallenbeck" meets "Jimmy Dix" portrayed by "Damon Wayans" who is "Cory's" boyfriend. "Dix" and "Hallenbeck" are brought together when a murder takes place, which affects them both. The movie opens with a football game taking place when ends horribly. The scene is a great, unexpected and a dramatic start to the movie. Throughout the movie it shows "Hallenbeck" and "Dix's" characters become friends in a way, the movie doesn't really show much of a character change other than "Hallenbeck's" alcoholism slowing down and this movie is meant to be a drama which most of the time feels more like an action film then a drama. The movie kind of felt like it had two climaxes; the final climax isn't all that entertaining and after doesn't make sense. "Darian Hallenbeck" portrayed by "Danielle Harris" for the first part gives a dramatic performance but after becomes more of a third wheel. Another issue is the movie's title "The Last Boy Scout" isn't the best due to one reference in the movie. "Bruce Willis" as usual gives his best in a movie but in "The Last Boy Scout" it doesn't feel like he gives his best; throughout most of the film he has more of a calm performance. Whether that's his fault or the director's fault is unknown. The music in this movie is okay, in some scenes it fails to excite but in others it does an amazing job at suspense. The cinematographer "Ward Russell" film's perfectly for suspense and drama, during action sequences he sometimes fails to shoot everything as well as he usually does. If you are a person who enjoys action/drama's then I recommend you watch "The Last Boy Scout" as it has good cinematography, a splendid introduction and okay music. Although the movie is not perfect it has some issues, these being climax not entertaining, script issues and some annoying characters. I give "The Last Boy Scout" a 6/10.
½ April 16, 2016
4/16/2016: A fun and entertaining 90's action flick with a great cast.
February 21, 2016
An underrated fick for sure. Bruce and Mr. Wayne have great screen chemistry. The writing is a little cheesy here and there, but it is a great 90s action film.
½ January 16, 2016
The last boy scout is an awesome, gritty and really fun action film. The opening song is great, The last boy scout is a perfect example of the fact that best action movies were made in 1980s and 1990s.
November 19, 2015
This movie has every action cliche in the book but it's still a fun flashy movie.
November 9, 2015
Même 24 ans après, Le Dernier Samaritain reste un film qui tient bien les multiples visions (espacées), grâce à un script extrêmement drôle et bien ficelé de Shane Black, des scènes d'action très musclées et habile d'un Tony Scott qui savait encore filmer à cette époque et un duo principal plutôt complémentaire entre un Damon Wayans canalisé pour l'occasion et surtout un Bruce Willis au top de sa forme, qui délivre ses one-liners tout en finesse, entre deux bourre-pifs. Absurdement violent et sanglant, complètement démesuré et surtout outrancier, Le Dernier Samaritain possède aussi quelques bonnes performances en dehors des deux acteurs principaux : Taylor Negron, Bruce McGill et Kim Coates sont particulièrement bons. Le Dernier Samaritain reste un des grands thrillers 90's.
August 20, 2015
I like football and buddy cop flicks sooooooo HELL YEAH! Very funny, great acting, good action. It didn't need to be funny to make this a good movie but the funnies made it a great movie. It helps that Joe Hallenbeck is everyman relatable, but for the record I've gotten only drunk enough to fuck a squirrel to death twice before!
½ August 12, 2015
the last boy scout was watchable bruce Willis's character is what saves this movie I did not like damon wayons character or Danielle Harris's foul mouth character
July 20, 2015
Completely hilarious, ultra violent, insanely quotable ("She's so fat I had to roll her in flour and look for the wet spot. Motherfucker, if you wanna fuck her you gotta slap her thigh and ride the wave in. Now I'm not saying she's fat, her high school picture was an aerial photograph") totally overblown to cartoonish, satirical level's, stylish as hell and genuinely nuts. The Last Boy Scout is so fucking underrated it actually makes me fucking mad, I'm not sure why it never became a hit, and I'm nit sure why it never climbed beyond cult status, the idea that this isnt bandied around as one of the greatest action movies of all time (which it is, top ten material even) is a strange, strange notion. Clearly i love this movie, so you will too, if not im not so sure you like things that are good, weird person. Ally Thug: hey you want a bullet? Hallenbeck: After fucking your wife i'll take two.
March 15, 2015
An odd action film that never really gets off the ground. There's a lot nonsensical moments which results in a disjointed mess of a movie. It's not necessarily terrible, but just weird and confusing. Bruce Willis and Damon Wayans don't have a ton of chemistry together, possibly due to the fact that Wayans' acting isn't very good. The daughter in this movie is annoying. On the plus side, Bruce Willis does as good as he can with the role he was given. Although he's pretty much just being John McClane. If the script were rewritten, it likely would have been a much better movie.
March 3, 2015
With Tony Scott's slick direction, Shane Black's snappy, dark humored screenplay, and Bruce Willis and Damon Wayans' fun buddy film dynamic, The Last Boy Scott is an rollicking thriller that is among the best of '90s action cinema.
½ February 7, 2015
Good action, good actors. Not a bad movie if you never seen it.
½ January 13, 2015
I'm a Bruce Willis fan so I'm bias when I give rating...
I liked this movie and I dug Bruce as a chain smoking private eye who was a former secret service agent.

Together with Damon Wayans they look to find out who killed a girl he was protecting and why...

They cover up a big scandal and a plot to kill a senator.

Yea it's silly...the one liners are silly but it's good fun.

Chemistry between 2 was good.
Page 1 of 92