The Last Picture Show - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Last Picture Show Reviews

Page 1 of 46
September 13, 2016
A bleak view of small time life so perfectly done.
August 20, 2016
Saw again today 45 years after I saw it for the first and only time as a freshman at UT. Incredible movie. Moved me a lot more today than it did 45 years ago. Impressive movie.
June 16, 2016
Peter Bogdanovich manages to deliver a masterpiece coming-of-age tale about a city in decay and the lives and choices its inhabitants make with impressive eye for detail and wisdom in its simplicity, supported by winning performances from its ensemble cast.
May 30, 2016
Great movie about adolescent sexual small town desires.
April 26, 2016
This Peter Bogdanovich's movie is a realistic fresco of American poor society of '50s. It deals with the passage from the adolescence to the adult age, the depression of middle aged women and the homesickness of days gone bye.
The Last Picture Show is terribly melancholic, terribly "hot" and terribly beautiful. This is one of the best movies of all time. Thank you Peter for this masterpiece.
½ March 25, 2016
In a small dying town in Texas a handful of teenagers are coming of age in The Last Picture. The entire towns entertainment includes a pool hall, a theater and a cafe. As a result, the teenagers in the town resort to sex, and drinking like any other town. The main character Sonny (Timothy Bottoms) is having an affair with a woman about twice his age (Cloris Leachman). The sexy wealthy girl in town (Cybil Shepard) is wanting everybody, and the drama ensues. Keeping the town together is the owner of the entertainment joints Sam the Lion (Ben Johnson). The Last Picture is a bleak coming of age story because of the small dying town, and paints an interesting light on what is sure an accurate portrayal of many small towns of this size. The Last Picture Show has excellent performances and the sex and nudity shown in the film is quite shocking for a film of its time.
½ February 28, 2016
Good coming of age film from Peter Bogdanovich and starring a young cast including Jeff Bridges, Cybil Shepherd and Timothy Bottoms. It takes place in the early 50s in a small Texas town, which is in a clear decline, and we follow the coming-of-age exploits of the teens in this town as they have their first sexual experiences, graduate, deal with death, and head out on their paths in life. It's a well made film, it holds up and is definitely an entertaining way to spend a couple hours.
½ October 16, 2015
Very possibly the single worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. I never knew a film could be THIS bad. If I set out to make the worst movie in the history of the world, it would still inevitably be better than this. Full of empty symbolism layered so high that one may miss the lack of plot beneath it all. Just a bunch of melodramatic monologues with camera pulling slowly in. useless.
This is one of those films that took advantage of the removal of the film code. Gratuitous sex & fetishistic exploitation of the rating system. Indistinguishable from The Graduate or Nashville or Midnight Cowboy, in this sense. They all suffered from the very same thing. Seems as though it was written by a teenage boy trying to live out his high school fantasies on film, since clearly they were never experienced in his teen years. And this boy was actually given access to a film crew (!?).
Typical modern cynical attack on universal morality, social norms, etc. Trying to take everything that is considered honorable & valuable & turn it into something cynical, twisted & most of all, sexual. These movies are LOVED by critics, who are the biggest pervs of all. Here, humans are nothing more than libidinic animals with secret sex fantasies that must be satisfied at all costs. This tells us more about the filmmakers than anything. 2 hours of sexual indulgence, & then everything falls apart at the end, culminating with the requisite empty dustbowl town shot at the end... THE quintessential critics' film (so cliche. exact same as Raging Bull, Brokeback Mountain, etc.). Just cultural & cinematic pornography.
(the only thing that even bordered on poignant were the scenes involving sam & his quite excellent performance).
But seriously...good luck finding one scene where somebody isn't have sex.
The death scene at the end was more predictable than Ritchie Valens' in La Bamba.
(And can Cloris Leachman EVER stop crying?? seriously)
September 1, 2015
I seem to disagree with most critics on The Last Picture Show. I would guess that the difference is my inexperience growing up in a small town in Texas or not living through the New Hollywood era. It was interesting. It broke many rules. It is almost a love letter between Bogdanovich and the French New Wave or Italian Neo-Realists. The score was the weakest category for me followed by the story, it is possible that a couple more viewings may turn me around but my expectations coming in did not do the film any favors.
Super Reviewer
August 24, 2015
There have been other teenage/high school/college drama films in the past. This movie was the cross-over and combination of those angst filled dramas to the raunchy teen comedies to come. Like American Graffiti, but with more melancholy, it asks what's over the horizon. An exceptional cast! After a recent re-watch along with viewing special features on the DVD, I was struck by how the 1960s seem to be so clearly and ominously approaching this small 50s Texas town. Of course, McMurtry's hometown of Archer City, the model for the fictionalized Anarene, achieves perfection in black and white as the location for the filming of this tale.
July 25, 2015
Wonderful Period Movie set outside of Wichita Falls, TX. Sound Track with Hank Williams. Cloris Leachman and Cybill Shepard offer up great roles. a Texas Classic.
½ July 19, 2015
A realistic and prime example of a coming-of-age drama, "The Last Picture Show" is as well-acted as it is emotional.
April 18, 2015
best nudity in any non-porno other than the godfather
January 12, 2015
A classic of its era.
December 27, 2014
Peter Bogdanovich perfectly recreated the look of early 1950s movies for this risque coming-of-age pic. Everyone remembers the pool party scene where Cybill Shepherd does an infamous strip tease on the diving board that's interrupted by Randy Quaid wearing a T-shirt tucked into his speedos.
December 14, 2014
Amazing movie. Very beautiful filming, great acting, great story, just an all-around good movie.
October 2, 2014
I did not like this movie at all. There really wasn't a complete plot to this film and I felt the nudity was not necessary!!!!
August 30, 2014
An excellent, even paced film that delves deep into the happenings, daily life, and fabric of a small town.
Page 1 of 46