Lemon Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 25, 2017
Be prepared for what will prove to be far and away the longest 83 minutes you'll spend watching a movie this year.
August 23, 2017
It's a case of truth in advertising.
August 23, 2017
A grating protagonist alone does not a bad film make, but the episodic, unsatisfying Lemon revels in purposeful nails-on-a-chalkboard unlikability.
August 18, 2017
[Lemon] has some legitimately peculiar traits, and moments that flash with true absurdity. But there's a flatness in the end-result. The quirky is utterly predictable.
August 17, 2017
Bravo and Gelman find a transcendent absurdity in the mundane that's awkwardly enchanting. It's more tart than sweet, but deliciously weird nonetheless.
August 17, 2017
One of the more original films in recent memory.
August 17, 2019
Lemon balances a fine line of brilliant and bizarre.
July 20, 2019
Lemon's tonal inconsistency ultimately overshadows its faint, offbeat appeal.
December 25, 2018
If Lemon is about one thing (and I'm not sure it is), it's about the way people demean each other to make themselves feel better.
October 31, 2018
Lemon doesn't take the easy road in any aspect of its being. It's a confrontational film willing to put the audience in a series of uncomfortable situations that only grow with each passing moment.
October 24, 2018
"Lemon" is one of the funniest, most delightfully strange movies I've seen in the past ten years. I can't wait to see what Janicza Bravo does next.
August 23, 2018
There are more cringe-inducing touches of grossness than I need, and it undermines the assured writing and character development in service of easy potty jokes.
November 18, 2017
Sour comedy-drama about a creep.
October 11, 2017
The level of eccentricity is so high that it is very difficult to connect with the characters. [Full review in Spanish]
September 16, 2017
Although there are some scattered deadpan laughs, the film prefers to mock rather than offer a shred of sympathy to Isaac over his painfully awkward romantic travails.
September 14, 2017
[Janicza] Bravo and co-writer/spouse [Brett] Gelman have crafted something so intentionally and self-reflexively off-putting that I'm still banging my head against the wall trying to figure out if it's comic gold or just lives up to its title.
September 7, 2017
The button-pushing indie comedy Lemon seems like a character study of an obnoxious loser, but it's much more than that.
August 29, 2017
This film operates on such a self-absorbed level of disconnect, that it feels like a parody of hipsters and the perceived notion of independent arthouse cinema.
August 28, 2017
[Janicza] Bravo and [Brett] Gelman may have been aiming for comedy, and they come close with a spliff-saturated barbecue sequence, but Isaac's bumbling often seems more tragic than not.
Page 1 of 3