Long Shot - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Long Shot Reviews

Page 1 of 13
May 19, 2019
A formidable comedy that comes to trace the structure of another modern classic of media decompensation and issues of authority in couples, 'Notting Hill.' [Full Review in Spanish]
May 17, 2019
Feels so genuine and so cleverly written that the lack of originality in its structure takes a back seat to the witty dialogue and winning performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 17, 2019
Long Shot is a pleasant enough romantic comedy about a mismatched couple. But its attempt to balance adult sophistication and adolescent silliness, and the romantic with the raunchy, never quite gels.
May 17, 2019
Long Shot is not a bad movie. I laughed out loud multiple times, and I'm glad I saw it. It's just not a 10-buck movie, either.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 17, 2019
The Longest Shot of all: What are the odds that this zany rom-com would turn out to be the funniest crowd-pleaser of 2019 so far?
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 17, 2019
a traditional romcom that also says a lot about media and politics, while at the same time serving as a plea for reconciliation between the Hillary and Bernie wings of the Democratic Party.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 16, 2019
A GOOD romantic comedy. It's so rare to find one of this level that it feels like a small miracle. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 16, 2019
Female presidents of the United States may be in short supply (or, sadly, in no supply) in the real world, but they've become surprisingly common on screens big and small.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
May 15, 2019
Long Shot does not bring back the romcom so much as it reminds viewers why that genre resembles a corpse today.
May 14, 2019
Long Shot has a few good laughs but they're not quite enough to make up for its broader shortcomings.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
May 14, 2019
A snappy script with just the right amount of political awareness helps make this one of the funniest romantic comedies in recent memory.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 13, 2019
Intelligent, witty, and profane. Charlize Theron can do anything, apparently.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 13, 2019
A good dose of comedy. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 13, 2019
I didn't buy it for a moment, and while male adolescents and their later day arrested development brethren might eat it up, I simply couldn't get past the constant distraction of none of it remotely being believable. (Content Review also Available)
May 12, 2019
Surprisingly it is the seemingly oddball coupling of Charlize Theron and Seth Rogen which renews my hope in the whole genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 11, 2019
Long Shot repeatedly lets the air seep out of its premise. Yet the comedic content is on point, and the cereal-related quip is likely to remain the funniest line I'll hear in all of 2019 cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 10, 2019
The movie's lack of political substance empties out the relationship at its center; having little to work with and little to hold them together, the actors appear to be meeting each other for the first time in every scene.
May 10, 2019
this seemingly simple film actually has a lot to say about life and the world we live in today, and is a sure bet for a great date night and to wind up on my 10 favorites list at the end of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 10, 2019
[A]n often hilarious, occasionally uncomfortable rom-com for the liberal stoner crowd.
May 10, 2019
At the end of the day, Long Shot exists to be a crowd-pleaser, a heart-warmer. Though it falls away, the good does outweigh the bad but, honestly, not by a long shot.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
Page 1 of 13