My Fellow Americans - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Fellow Americans Reviews

October 22, 2013
Using talent of this order on a script this weak, along with merely decorative appearances by the likes of Lauren Bacall and Wilford Brimley, amounts to the Hollywood equivalent of government waste.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 22, 2013
As political satire, My Fellow Americans makes a poor candidate.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 22, 2013
Yes, it's Grumpy Old Presidents, in which most of the comedy comes from the supposed shock of hearing two senior citizens cursing at each other in terms Beavis and Butt-head would find inelegant.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 22, 2013
I'd cheerfully vote the writers, director and producers of My Fellow Americans out of office.
October 22, 2013
The movie suggests we get the government we deserve, but do we really deserve this movie?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 22, 2013
It takes a special actor's grace to survive a script as lame as My Fellow Americans, and James Garner has it. Without appearing to break a sweat, Garner makes each grotesquely desperate attempt at humor look smooth and assured.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 22, 2013
An appalling piece of junk.
October 22, 2013
Garner and Jack Lemmon have enough charisma, and there are enough solid laughs, to mostly overcome My Fellow Americans' embarrassing moments and improbable ending.
September 7, 2011
Enthusiastic as one might be that Jack Lemmon has found a new lease on movie life with his Grumpy Old Men series, the funny-crankpots genre wears mighty thin on this road trip.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
May 20, 2003
Mr. Lemmon and Mr. Garner are such pros that they carry the movie smoothly over its dull patches.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
November 6, 2002
Not every joke works; some clunkers don't even come close. But just when you start to give up on it, the film comes back with a whopper that produces roars of laughter.
February 14, 2001
Shameless laughs flow off the prefab assembly line with sufficient regularity to please audiences with a taste for comfortable tradition spiced with a bit of contempo naughtiness.
February 14, 2001
A gang-written comedy that doesn't have a political bone in its body, or much evidence of a funny one, either.
January 1, 2000
A very bad, uninspired comedy with slight leanings toward self-importance.
January 1, 2000
This is not a great comedy and will be soon forgotten, but it has nice moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
The performers are first rate. Unfortunately, and all too often in movies these days, the script regularly lets them down.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Puts a very bright capper on this dismal political year.
January 1, 2000
There are times when I laughed, but, as a whole, this particular buddy film really isn't worth the price of admission.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
These two vets of showbiz wars smartly play off their own iconic pasts.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
A pleasing but mediocre film, with a great cast, a great story and a misguided script.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Segal loses his light-comedy touch after the first hour and makes an unfunny mess of the final, 'crackpot' chase sequence.
January 1, 2000
Pardons for Lemmon and Garner, but none for the filmmakers.
January 1, 2000
Relies heavily on the kick of seeing famous, aging actors muttering vulgarities, doing mildly naughty things and making feeble attempts at political satire.