The Pianist - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Pianist Reviews

Page 1 of 567
March 16, 2018
This war period drama is Roman Polanski's masterpiece.
February 24, 2018
1001 movies to see before you die.
January 28, 2018
Sublimely heart rending depiction of one of histories greatest atrocities. Adrian Brady is superb on the role. It's odd, then that his career went into such a downward spiral after this. But if, at the end of it all you've got this on your CV, I think you can be proud of the achievement. Can we forgive Roman Polanski because of it? No. No, we can't.
December 24, 2017
M-F-O

9.3

[Roman Polanski]
December 18, 2017
Puntaje Original: 6.0

The Pianist es solo otra película que trata temas re-tocados acerca de la Segunda Guerra Mundial, la buena actuación de Adrien Brody no le salva de, aunque al inicio resulta intrigante, ser un pobre versión de la guerra y aburridísima al final.
½ November 20, 2017
An absolutely stunning Roman Polanski film. Possibly the most honest and authentic tale of the horrors of world war II to date.
November 4, 2017
Puts today?s life in perspective seeing what people went through in Warsaw
October 16, 2017
Adrien Brody has crafted one of the best performances these eyes have ever seen, matched with terrific cinematography, a gripping score, and a direction from Roman Polanski that shines as being one of his best works in decades.
September 5, 2017
I Want To See This One SOOOO Much
August 8, 2017
The Pianist is certainly a bit of white-suffering-porn, a subject that was tired even back in 2002. I also couldn't help but notice that the end title sequence states that our real-life protagonist, Wladek, died in 2000 - two years before this movie came out. That makes me wonder if there was some reason they wanted to wait til his passing to make this film.
But whatever. The Pianist is certainly powerful, perhaps even moving - even though that is accomplished via 2.5 hours of sheet brute force. But the acting is superb, the direction impeccable, and the script believably naturalistic. Good film all around, but I don't think it will teach you much more about this conflict and its innocent victims than you already knew.
June 11, 2017
very slow............
May 3, 2017
a great great movie.
April 30, 2017
one of the best films i have ever seen
April 27, 2017
Very entertaining and beautiful looking film
April 9, 2017
It's wonderful when a movie has such a beautiful meaning. I hope with the help of music, genocides, and every action of suffering stop it's course in humankind. Respect each other, love each other.
April 4, 2017
A very engaging and fantastically shot WW2 film which is one of Polanski's best films in years.

This movie retells the events of Wladyslaw Szpilman, a famous Polish pianist as he attempts to survive during WW2 and narrowly escapes death multiple times.

This movie may not be as brutal as "Schindler's List" was but it still contains several dark scenes which can be hard to watch. It showed to us that surviving the Holocaust was based on luck and it was easy to get killed. If you were weaker and unable to work, you'd be in danger of getting shot. "The Pianist" captures this element very well and that was what I really liked about it.

This movie is pretty tense because his fate is uncertain throughout the movie. He often hides in Nazi infested areas and his allies have to try their hardest to hide him. Often when his cover is blown, he only narrowly escapes death. Also, one scene in the film (which I won't give away because of spoilers) is so tense that it is guaranteed to make everyone who is not familiar with the true story tense up unlike anything else.

Also, I really love the cinematography. It really captures the sense of barrenness very well. Some of its scenes are so jaw-dropping, it's surprising that any movie could be able to film them. This movie is definitely a visual treat unlike anything else.

Adrien Body gave a great performance. In the beginning, he seems somewhat calm. As the movie continues on, however, his performance gets better as the tension gets higher. In my opinion, he gave the best performance in the movie. He stole the whole show. He is the actor we see most in this movie and he carries the movie expertly by himself.

In conclusion, this movie is by far a masterpiece. It contains everything I think is necessary is Holocaust films. It captures the brutality of the Holocaust very well, it has incredible cinematography, a consistent level of suspense, and it has a great lead acting performance. It fulfilled and went far beyond all of my expectations and it is a must-see film for these reasons.
March 15, 2017
Different look at the holocaust. Follows one man through his entire ordeal as a Jewish victim by the Nazi's during WWII. Polanski deserved his awards for this. Wonderful. Everything about it. .
February 8, 2017
A truly moving film, up there with Schindler's List in getting a dramatic glimpse of the suffering and dehumanization the Nazis inflicted on Jewish people during WWII.
½ January 19, 2017
Depressing and bland. There wasn't much of a plot or not one I could make out anyways after losing interest. A wretched film that is extremely overpraised. (First and only viewing - 2/14/2009)
January 13, 2017
Nothing about this film is exceptional, but solid performances and a solid script make for an effective if not vivid film.
Page 1 of 567