The Fault In Our Stars Reviews

Page 1 of 12
November 17, 2020
The winning combo of the shamelessly melodramatic and the slyly mischievous that powers the movie owes much to yet another pitch-perfect lead performance from Woodley.
November 10, 2020
Sadly, in Hollywood's hands all the things that made John Green's taut, touching and terrific 2012 novel transcend generation gaps have been jettisoned in favour of a hyperglycaemic tale of two star-crossed (cancer-riddled) teens.
September 7, 2020
In other words, this is real. If anyone tells you differently, they haven't a clue.
August 30, 2019
In a laudable attempt to seem heartfelt without blatant manipulation, the film generally succeeds, thanks especially to a winning performance from Shailene Woodley.
August 8, 2019
It's charming, well-written, superbly acted.
June 14, 2019
Heartfelt, sincere and altogether rather wonderful, The Fault in Our Stars will enchant audiences and leave behind very few dry eyes in its wake.
April 30, 2019
It all felt kind of manipulative and corny.
March 28, 2019
Woodley and Elgort are gifted in that they exude intelligence, thoughtfulness, and savvy, making smart dialogue sound smart, the corniest lines sound terribly romantic and natural.
March 26, 2019
Under the assured direction of Josh Boone, the film earns its emotions without grand manipulative gestures, and finds its heart through the fantastic cast and an effortless and appealing intimacy between the characters.
March 5, 2019
Dafoe is, as expected, solid in the role, but I felt the storyline on the whole could have been a little tighter. That's a minor fault however, in a script whose stars make it all worthwhile.
February 1, 2019
The talented cast and crew enhance what is already some pretty good material, making "Fault" a teenage tearjerker that doesn't fall into a typical Hollywood weeper formula.
January 31, 2019
It's sweet, cathartic and a bit beautiful. Just make sure you bring Kleenex.
November 20, 2018
In the end, this adaptation may not be all that different than effective screen tearjerkers of the past, but in staying true to its source material, its infinity is bound to be a little bigger than most.
November 1, 2018
It will certainly be a tearjerker for some, but the film's final triumphant message means that you shouldn't be too depressed when you leave the theatre.
August 21, 2018
The two-hour and five-minute running time of continuous sadness and unending pearls of wisdom made this viewer disconnect from the characters.
November 28, 2017
The problem may be that The Fault in Our Stars is based on a book by John Green; this certainly wouldn't be the first time a strong literary narrative had troubles translating to the screen.
November 14, 2017
Earnest performances lend depth to the characters, making them come alive.
September 8, 2017
Nothing beats the performances by Shailene Woodley and Laura Dern -- probably the two best reasons to see this film.
August 24, 2017
The Fault in Our Stars begs us to cry, and that's where it loses its composure.
August 10, 2017
I think you will taste the stars when you see The Fault in Our Stars. It is a love story for our time that encourages us to remember, Love is stronger than death.
Page 1 of 12