This Beautiful Fantastic - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

This Beautiful Fantastic Reviews

Page 1 of 1
September 8, 2017
A big mushy beautiful metaphor.
July 10, 2017
Loved this movie! Great quirky characters and a charming story.
½ July 8, 2017
Quite endearing..Nicely done.
July 3, 2017
Beautiful and inspiring.
June 29, 2017
Loved this sweet movie
½ June 29, 2017
Think of this film as a cross between an English Amalie and The Secret Garden. Satisfying- whimsical- touching- the story of a shy girl, a grumpy old man, a wise young Irishman, and a quirky inventor all surrounding an overgrown garden.
June 24, 2017
Breathtaking. If you feel like a misfit, or a little wounded .... this will make you want to blossom
June 24, 2017
A lovely movie of misfits learning to magically grow together. I only wish it was longer!
June 24, 2017
A whimsical story whose quirky characters made you wish the movie lasted longer.
½ May 30, 2017
It's so quirky that it is off-putting, but it's good enough to recommend anyway.
May 23, 2017
Grade: B

Rating: PG, 1 hour 32 minutes

In a Nutshell: Garden metaphors about life and friendship grow as this quirky "modern fairy tale" develops in this limited release.

Uplifting theme:
"Today I'm going to make a difference." - Bella Brown (Jessica Brown Findlay)
Responsibility
Friendship
Everything that matters takes time." - Alfie Stephenson (Tom Wilkinson)

Things I liked:
I loved the magical score throughout the film.
Jessica Brown Findlay does a great job as the odd protagonist who has a Keira Knightly quality about her.
The Nazi librarian, her signs, and her garden name (Bramble) were hilarious, played by Anna Chancellor.
Andrew Scott was entertaining as Vernon.
You're probably going to want to go outside and work in your garden or create one.
Luna was lovely.
I loved the last scene.
Clever, witty dialogue.



Things I didn't like:
So, the title....ummm
As a landlord, I wasn't amused by Bella's lack of interest in taking care of the property she was renting.
As a former employer, I also wasn't amused by how Bella was shocked about being fired after showing up late for work every day.
Pretty predictable.

Funny lines:
"I'm not a religious man, but I believe someone sent her here to test us." - Alfie
"Don't worry, tea is on its way." - Milly (Eileen Davies) Such a British thing to say.
"Slavery was abolished in 1834, just so you know." - Vernon (Andrew Scott)
"This country has been going down the drain ever since." - Alfie
"I was just trying to tidy up a bit." - Bella
"I think that's what Hitler said about Europe." - Alfie
"I'm speechless." - Bella
"If only that were true." - Alfie


Interesting lines:
"You should doubt only a man who changes his story. I only repeat myself in vague hope that one day somebody will actually hear me." - Alfie
"Look! These monkwoods, so beautiful and poisonous they'll kill a man. That's an interesting contradiction, isn't it?" - Alfie

Tips for parents:
Most kids will be pretty bored.
Clean language


MOVIE REVIEW MOM


@trinaboice
April 29, 2017
BEAUTIFUL,WHIMSICAL MOVE ,LOVED IT!!
½ April 1, 2017
My opinion-.

This Beautiful Fantastic is a very nice comedy with the dramatic sides
of: Simon Aboud who knew to master perfectly his realization that I
found very neat. It is a fresh and sensitive comedy with moving human
sides and it still makes a little think of the character "Amélie
Poulain" to another register of course Amélie Poulain being a wonderful
production while here it is a beautiful production. This comedy is
easily seen and the character of Miss Bella Brown is extremely well
interpreted by: Jessica Brown-Findlay, as to the other two actors: Tom
Wilkinson in the role of: Alfie Stephenson and Andrew Scott in the role
of: Vernon And finally Jeremy Irvine as Billy. All these actors render
a very beautiful quality to the movie by their respective talents with
a plus for the delicious Jessica Brown- Findlay. A comedy that I
advise, because it is filled with beautiful feelings.
March 13, 2017
Beautiful film with a great cast. Loved every minute!
½ March 12, 2017
This was such a touching film, I really enjoyed all the performances, it made me laugh and cry! Very memorable!
Page 1 of 1