Vacation Reviews

May 27, 2016
Wacky hijinks ensue, some of them very funny, some dipping desperately into bad taste, some just falling flat. (Which, it's worth remembering, was the case with even the best films of this franchise.)
Aug 23, 2015
It's hard to imagine even Hangover fans being satisfied by such middling vulgarity.
Aug 21, 2015
At its best, the film is very funny. At its worst, it makes you groan in dismay.
Aug 20, 2015
At least the National Lampoon films were memorable, which is more than can be said for the misbegotten and instantly forgettable Vacation.
Aug 20, 2015
It's similar to the recent comedy We're the Millers, with Jason Sudeikis and Jennifer Aniston in the dad and mom roles. That had more laughs and more heart.
Aug 20, 2015
The picture is ramshackle, episodic and mindless. But, with a comic hit-to-miss ratio of around 2:1, it must be accorded a success in its (admittedly unchallenging) field.
Aug 20, 2015
Go home, Vacation. You're drunk.
Aug 20, 2015
Less a reboot, more a hit-and-miss cover-version. The cast are game, Applegate especially, but the laughs flatten like a deflated tyre.
Aug 20, 2015
On the film rumbles, raising a few more smiles than moments when you want to wince in discomfort or eat cyanide, but only a few.
Aug 17, 2015
A solidly funny summer comedy.
Aug 13, 2015
I'm all for bawdy, politically incorrect, wildly inappropriate humor -- when there are consistent and genuine laughs to be mined from the material.
Aug 5, 2015
You can't do much worse at the movies than Vacation.
Jul 31, 2015
There's so much dead air in the film that I wondered whether punchlines had been cleaved out to secure a PG-13 rating, but no: it's a hard, inexplicable R.
Jul 31, 2015
It's as if Daley and Goldstein started with a list of disgusting topics - outré sex acts, human waste, pubic hair, projectile vomiting, cow cannibalism, et al. - and constructed a narrative around them.
Jul 31, 2015
Helms' Griswold is a dangerous, moronic maniac, and the filmmakers' disdain for him rubs off on the audience.
Jul 30, 2015
It holds on to the original's acrid cynicism for the first 40 minutes or so before turning predictable and bland. There are some real, nasty laughs to be had here, but they're front-loaded.
Jul 30, 2015
Vacation is lazy, idiotic, and gross - and I laughed my ass off at it.
Jul 30, 2015
It falls to Helms to carry the movie, and he's not quite up to it.
Jul 30, 2015
Respectably funny.
Jul 30, 2015
No one expects originality, but the new movie may end up making history: It's already looking like the worst movie of the year.
Do you think we mischaracterized a critic's review?