We Were Soldiers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Were Soldiers Reviews

August 9, 2002
Read More | Original Score: B
July 20, 2002
Probably the best thing you can say about We Were Soldiers is that it does justice to an awful conflict.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
June 1, 2002
The Vietnam setting looks authentic enough, but the action is as inert and unpersuasive as Gibson's attempt to fashion Bill Mauldin poetry out of his $20-million-plus smirk.
March 22, 2002
Makes you cry for the hundreds of thousands of men and women who died so pointlessly with Geoghegan. And their orphans.
March 14, 2002
As I settled into my World War II memories, I found myself strangely moved by even the corniest and most hackneyed contrivances.
March 13, 2002
After suffering through We Were Soldiers, I think I've seen all the war movies I care to endure for quite some time.
March 5, 2002
By comparison, Oliver Stone's Platoon plays like the experience of a sensibly outraged man worthy of our sympathy.
March 4, 2002
The battle sequences in We Were Soldiers aren't quite as head-spinning as in Black Hawk Down -- but this film does a much better job of establishing the characters before they plunge into battle.
March 1, 2002
... the first film in recent memory that a major studio has chosen to release early in the year with palpable filmmaking passion and production heft.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 1, 2002
Goes beyond the familiar.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 1, 2002
The story it tells is both forgotten and relevant, a neat trick.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 1, 2002
Even those stout hearts who managed to sit through the gore of Saving Private Ryan and Black Hawk Down will likely find it difficult to watch scenes such as the one where a soldier's face is burned away by a phosphorus grenade.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 1, 2002
The film feels formulaic, its plot and pacing typical Hollywood war-movie stuff, while the performances elicit more of a sense of deja vu than awe.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 1, 2002
... one of the best war movies of the past 20 years.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 1, 2002
Mel Gibson fights the good fight in Vietnam in director Randall Wallace's flag-waving war flick with a core of decency.
March 1, 2002
... a winning, balanced and compassionate war movie, one with room for both heroism and command incompetence, sacrifice and its consequences.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 1, 2002
At its best, it's Black Hawk Down with more heart. At its worst, it's Rambo- meets-John Ford.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 1, 2002
Often stirring, but crude and cliche-ridden.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 1, 2002
Wallace has fashioned a gung-ho piece of conventional entertainment that would have been a natural fit for John Wayne but today feels a bit too naive for its own good.
Read More | Original Score: .5/4
March 1, 2002
We Were Soldiers is embarrassingly inept, but it has the kind of ponderousness and serious air (not to mention the ability to wring tears) that can fool people.
Read More | Original Score: C
March 1, 2002
Though it falls short, it's an ambitious movie that ranges from intense peaks to embarrassing lows.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 1, 2002
By attributing intelligence, bravery and above all, humanity, to enemy forces as well as to U.S. troops, We Were Soldiers does itself proud.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 1, 2002
It is something of a tribute to Wallace the director that the shamelessness of Wallace the screenwriter doesn't sabotage this mission altogether.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 1, 2002
Yet, lest one think Soldiers is rousing, be forewarned. It is patriotic in that it is loyal to its American soldiers, although it is surprisingly respectful to their enemy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 1, 2002
Gibson is exceptional here in the leading role of Moore ...
March 1, 2002
For much of its length, the movie consists of battle scenes. They are not as lucid and easy to follow as the events in 'Black Hawk Down,' but then the terrain is different, the canvas is larger, and there are no eyes in the sky to track troop movements.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 1, 2002
As in Black Hawk Down, the combat sequences are filmed with great skill and pulse-pounding immediacy.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
February 28, 2002
Indeed, while the battle scenes aspire to the grisly ferocity of Saving Private Ryan, this war saga often elicits as many howls of laughter as growls of anguish.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 28, 2002
... as directed by Wallace, We Were Soldiers is not a lightning-paced, emotion-filled war movie but a turgid, platitudinous work of calendar art.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 28, 2002
Like the best war movies -- and like martial literature going back to the Iliad -- it balances the dreadful, unassuageable cruelty of warfare and the valor and decency of those who fight.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
February 28, 2002
It's unfortunate that Wallace, who wrote Gibson's Braveheart as well as the recent Pearl Harbor, has such an irrepressible passion for sappy situations and dialogue.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 28, 2002
The film succeeds as an homage to human spirit in the most shattering of circumstances.
Read More | Original Score: B
February 28, 2002
These men deserve a medal, but their movie could use a rewrite.
Read More | Original Score: B-
February 28, 2002
The writer-director bestows honor -- generously, apolitically -- not only on the dead and still living American veterans who fought in Ia Drang, but also on their families, on their Vietnamese adversaries, and on the families of their adversaries too.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 28, 2002
We Were Soldiers' battle action is as intense and unsparing as that of Black Hawk Down, yet the movie is richer because the characters are more fully realized.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 27, 2002
Has an impact that transcends politics and some dramatic overreaching by writer-director Randall Wallace.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 26, 2002
The film's major contribution to the Vietnam War movie is its willingness to view the enemy as human beings.