Game of Thrones: Season 8 Episode 4 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 8 Episode 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Huw Saunders
Cultured Vultures
August 22, 2019

Are you not dramatically satisfied? Because I'll be honest, I'm not, and they've got two episodes left to fix that.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Ian Thomas Malone
Ian Thomas Malone
July 23, 2019

The second half of the episode felt weirdly rushed for a show that took its sweet time taking in the post-apocalypse high.

Jorge Rivera Rubio
QiiBO
June 5, 2019

No, Game of Thrones is not the same series that was when it started ... I've made my peace with that and I accept it for what it is, and not for what I want it to be. [Full review in Spanish]

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mireia Mullor
Fotogramas
May 19, 2019

Fasten your seatbelts. [Full Review in Spanish]

William Evans
Black Nerd Problems
May 14, 2019

I just want people to remember mess like this when they start praising the writers for how powerful the women on Thrones are.

Julia Alexander
The Verge
May 14, 2019

The best word to describe what went down in this episode is "bizarre."

Marianna Neal
Impression Blend
May 10, 2019

The problem is that most of the good dialogue of earlier seasons is taken from the books. Once the show outpaced the books, while the writers try their best ... the dialogue-driven episodes just don't carry the show as well as they used to.

Ben Pearson
Slashfilm
May 10, 2019

While it appears another battle might be imminent, I'm already thrilled that this season has taken the time to come full circle and get back to basics with its political intrigue.

Jacob Hall
Slashfilm
May 10, 2019

I found this to be a supremely satisfying hour of feel-bad television.

Sinead Brennan
RTÉ (Ireland)
May 10, 2019

Parts of the episode were great but its flaws really stood out. I hope the final two episodes don't feel as rushed.

Huw Fullerton
Radio Times
May 10, 2019

I don't mind the deaths and heartbreak (if anything, I relish Game of Thrones getting its teeth into things a bit), but hope the final two episodes have slightly better pacing than this one did.

Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
May 10, 2019

Dany isn't going to take the loss of yet another longtime and loyal friend calmly. It was the perfect move for Cersei and it's going to take a long time to clear that burning stench out of King's Landing.

Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
Jo Bradley
Film Inquiry
May 10, 2019

Ultimately the frustratingly bad writing of Sansa and Brienne, coupled with the racially fraught implications of Missandei's death, make this episode feel like a huge letdown, and a glaring reminder of just how far television has to go.

Daniel Krauze
El Financiero
May 10, 2019

GOT no longer moves at its own pace, but at one which Weiss and Benioff impose on it. Bad news. [Full Review in Spanish]

Jeff Spross
Brightest Young Things
May 10, 2019

Daenerys' evolution into the monster she's fought against has suffered similar problems. As a narrative idea, it's great. But in actual execution it's been roughly sketched.

Ben Lindbergh
The Ringer
May 9, 2019

Game of Thrones seems to be suffering from a similar hunger to arrive at its goal. Even more so than in Season 7, showrunners David Benioff and D.B. Weiss are playing the part of Daenerys, so fixated on the finish line...

Lili Loofbourow
Slate
Top Critic
May 8, 2019

"The Last of the Starks" was a fascinating lesson in how Westerosi official histories come about.

Matthew Gilbert
Boston Globe
Top Critic
May 8, 2019

I didn't think the episode, called "The Last of the Starks," was particularly smooth overall.

Kimber Myers
The Playlist
May 8, 2019

"The Last of the Starks" begins in mourning with a few sad moments, but this is a mostly sunny 80 minutes compared to "The Long Night." Well, except for that last 20 minutes.

Elsa Fernández-Santos
El Pais (Spain)
May 8, 2019

A dense chapter, verbal combats and in many ways at ground level. [Full Review in Spanish]

Page 1 of 6