The Secret Life of the American Teenager (2008 - 2013)

The Secret Life of the American Teenager

Avg Tomatometer


Avg Audience Score

Series Info

A drama focusing on a teenager coping with an unexpected pregnancy, followed by new motherhood. The series, from '7th Heaven' creator Brenda Hampton, also explores how this drastic change in her life affects her family and friends.

The Secret Life of the American Teenager Photos


Critics Consensus: No consensus yet.

2012, ABC Family, 23 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

2011, ABC Family, 24 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

2010, ABC Family, 26 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

2009, ABC Family, 24 episodes

Critics Consensus: While The Secret Life of the American Teenager manages to show teens behaving like real teenagers, forced dialogue and an overall lack of originality leaves the show stranded at the border of soap opera parody.

2008, ABC Family, 23 episodes


Shailene Woodley
as Amy Juergens
Molly Ringwald
as Anne Juergens
Mark Derwin
as George Juergens
India Eisley
as Ashley Juergens
Francia Raisa
as Adrian Lee
Megan Park
as Grace Bowman
Greg Finley
as Jack Pappas
Ken Baumann
as Ben Boykewich
Kenny Baumann
as Ben Boykewich
Daren Kagasoff
as Ricky Underwood
Steve Schirripa
as Leo Boykewich
Josie Bissett
as Kathleen Bowman
Luke Zimmerman
as Tom Bowman
Paola Turbay
as Cindy Lee
Mayim Bialik
as Dr. Wilameena Bink
John Schneider
as Marshall Bowman
Ernie Hudson
as Dr. Fields
Beverley Mitchell
as Kaitlin O'Malley
Alex Boling
as Donavan
Ben Weber
as David Johnson
Shane Coffey
as Jimmy Nash
Tom Virtue
as Rev. Stone
Chaz Bono
as Himself
Michael Imperioli
as Dr. John Ottavi
Abbie Cobb
as Francine
Mitch Rouse
as Josh Nash
Show More Cast

Series Details

TV Network: ABC Family
Premiere Date: Jul 1, 2008
Genre: Drama
Executive Producer: Brenda Hampton
Full Cast
Related News & Interviews