Excision - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Excision Reviews

Page 1 of 17
½ November 9, 2017
Annalinn McCord gives the best performance I've seen in a horror movie since Chloe Grace in let me in. It's what carries this movie, without it, the movie could easily be dismissed
September 26, 2017
I loved the performances of every actor. The end scene is overwhelming. Great horror movie where everyday life becomes the most horrific nightmare.
½ August 4, 2017
Movies don't get much weirder than this, a hybrid of teen angst and splatter genres.
June 6, 2017
By far one of the most bizarre and disturbing movies I've ever watched. I like to think Im somewhat of a horror connoisseur so for me to say this movie is disturbing... That is really saying something. I've seen the goriest of gory movies and it's not even the gore that is the most disturbing in this movie... it's the context. While this isn't necessarily one of the"scariest" movies I've ever watched I would definitely recommend it to any horror aficionados purely for the shock and awe value.
June 1, 2017
bullshit movie. waste of time. story of a psycho girl but not interesting
May 15, 2017
I didn't like this movie, and I seem to be in the minority. But this thing was just seemed to me like a heartless, pointless, altogether vile movie without a single likable character (especially the so-called heroine Pauline). I have a strong stomach for horror and gore but all I got out of this was 85 minutes I'll never get back. (One star for John Waters. Just because he's John Waters.)
½ March 29, 2017
An exceptionally bizarre and affecting little piece of body horror and teenage dysphoria. Moments of piercing honesty are consistently punctuated by those of equal insanity. How I've never heard of the lead actress prior to stumbling across this on a streaming service is a mystery to me. And let's be honest, if you've got Traci Lords, Malcolm MacDowell, AND John Waters playing parts in your film, it's at least worth a look-see.
January 16, 2017
A little disturbing, very strange.
January 7, 2017
A typical movie about a not typical female teenager, though amazingly portrayed by the actress. The ending is shocking.
December 9, 2016
Darkly comic and disgusting. Directed with clinical precision by Richard Bates Jr.
December 9, 2016
There's a huge amount of attitude in the teenage protagonist and it's an excellent performance too. There's a macabre undercurrent throughout, with a decent climax.
November 13, 2016
weird but a fine horror film. a troubled teenager has an unhealthy obsession with sex and death which leads to a shocking finale.
October 25, 2016
Distorted, excellent photo, art direction, disturbing in all very good sense.
Super Reviewer
½ October 16, 2016
The most surprising thing about this movie is the fact that Traci Lords, a former pornographic actress, has turned into a surprisingly solid actress. She's actually quite good in this movie as the domineering mother who expects things to be done her way and everyone who disagrees with her is in the wrong. With that said, however, I don't know if this can be classified so much as a horror movie. It definitely has some horror elements, like Pauline's increasingly violent and disturbing dreams, for example there's one where she has sex with a corpse, there's one where she removes her own head from someone else's body, there's one where she has an abortion and this person puts the fetus in this oven where it proceeds to blow up, etc, etc. When she wakes up, she is clearly turned on by her dreams, so that tells you a lot about her. These scenes with the dreams can definitely be classified as horror, but the movie as a whole, to me, can't. I think it's more of a character study into the mind of a very disturbed, yet vulnerable, teenage girl that does whatever she can to gain some sort of attention from her mother, who's only really worried about Pauline's sister, who's suffering from cystic fibrosis. Grace, Pauline's sister, sees her health deteriorate throughout the film. This is very important, as Pauline spends, pretty much, the entire film coming up with these ideas to get some sort of attention from her mother. At least the attention that she wants, since all she gets from her mother is disapproval or statements about how disappointed she is in Pauline's actions. So, Pauline, seeing that her mother really only cares about Grace, devices a plan to help save her sister, so her mother will finally love her. It's actually really fucking sad if you think about it. That the only way Pauline feels she'd get her mother's love is if she saves the daughter she actually shows some sort of affection for. The movie doesn't exploit this theme, thankfully, but it's actually pretty heartbreaking if you actually think about it. It also helps when you have AnnaLynne McCord puts forward an absolutely incredible performance in this film. Seriously. She is phenomenal in this role as she portrays this character that does all these things that might make her seem unlikable, but it's really just a call for attention and yet none of it works. Thankfully, though, the movie has a very clear obvious sense of humor that helps alleviate some of the film's darker and more disturbing themes or scenes. My favorite scene, from a comedy standpoint at least, has to be one with Marlee Matlin where she's thankful she's deaf after witnessing an argument between Pauline and her mother. The last act of the movie, where Pauline is finally pushed to the edge and she completely loses everything that made her sane, goes to some pretty dark places. But, again, it does reveal another layer of how sad Pauline's quest for her mother's love and approval really is. Honestly, I thought this was a really damn good movie. The writing is really strong and the acting, particularly from AnnaLynne, is pretty damn good as well. That adds up to what, I felt, was a really good movie and one that I would definitely recommend.
½ September 9, 2016
What a fucking ending man!
½ June 29, 2016
Pretty good and interesting flick in which we have Pauline, one of two sisters who already struggling to deal with her sisters illness (cystic fibrosis) also has to deal with her overly religious mother (played by porn legend Tracy Lords). Pauline is currently finishing her last year of high school and has aspirations of having a career in the medical field. With her knowledge of that and the chaos around her she has constant dreams sexual arousal while being involved with cadavers and large amounts of blood. The great thing about this movie is it builds and builds and just when you think you know what is going to happen...the bomb drops. Definitely recommend this.

9/10
½ May 18, 2016
it's a weird yet interesting watch. at times uncomfortableness will set in like watching it is wrong but it passes and you have gotten a better insight to what is going on. definitely won't be a watch for everyone but the over all surrealness and strange story will intrigue some.
½ May 15, 2016
Absolutely perverse on any number of levels, EXCISION will not be an easy watch for most not already familiar with the more extreme and unconventional elements of bizarre cinema. Nevertheless, it is psychologically rich and a fascinating character study, though one filled with deeply twisted and profoundly uncomfortable themes and scenarios. It is not without humor - though of the ultra-black variety, complete with moments that incite nervous chuckles at the brazen nature of the humor - and McCord's performance is legitimately great, an awkward and idiosyncratic portrayal of the sort that you've never seen before in other movies. It's a character dealing with aberrant, deviant impulses and desires, and McCord's physical work communicates so much just through body language. There are things in the movie that are truly gross, and it's a film clearly designed to push lots of buttons; in the end, I didn't like the experience of watching the movie, but in a certain way I admire its audacity. It's a go-for-broke kind of thing, and not for all (or even many) tastes, but those willing to go along with a story that feels genuinely dangerous and transgressive will probably be impressed.
March 27, 2016
one of the most boring movies that simply gets anoying due to how slow it is all for an ok pay off at the end that just isnt worth it
½ March 9, 2016
A well crafted, pitch black comedy. Very unique and sadistic, with performances that sit well with the tone of the film.
Page 1 of 17