Fritz the Cat - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fritz the Cat Reviews

Page 1 of 24
July 13, 2016
I loved this movie since me and my big brother use to watch!
½ May 31, 2016
A rarely animated bizarre acid trip into a surreal raunchy satire commentary, Fritz the cat is often too juvenile, but it delivers its laughs.
October 25, 2015
Paved the way for The Simpsons, Family Guy, South Park, Futurama, etc.
September 18, 2015
Not very funny, and unexpectedly creepy, this comedy is not funny, nor fun! But does have good animation and unique visual effects! C
June 8, 2015
A boring, incoherent, Mess of a movie. Good animation however
Super Reviewer
April 24, 2015
Worth a watch, but it's a tough film to love.
½ January 2, 2015
I wasn't sure what to think about this, it was pretty funny but pretty bad too. It was too crude but that was the point I guess.
½ December 12, 2014
Not bad. Not bad at all! This X-rated cartoon is quite good, actually. It does have some rather explicit scenes, but by today's standards, it's not that much. The story is quite mature and deals with heavy themes, like racism and revolution. It has quite a few good jokes. The jokes are mostly political and were controversial at the time. The animation style is good, quite nostalgic I must say. The ending is at first emotional, but it's just a cover up for a happy/funny ending. All in all, it's a good cartoon that delivers in theme of explicitness and jokes, but it's not all that fascinating. Would recommend to those still believe cartoons are just for kids.
½ October 19, 2014
SAW IT BACK IN DA DAY!! WAS ONE OF THE CRAZIEST "CARTOONS" I'VE EVER SEEN!!! LOL
September 1, 2014
Pokes at the exploitative, self-indulgent side of hippie culture and at social hypocrisy generally, while wallowing in misogyny and racism of its own.

Seeing this on film now that digital projection has taken over theaters, I was in awe of the rich, varied colors and sharp lines in what was, admittedly, on-the-cheap animation. It's a shame hand drawn animation doesn't have a chance at high quality presentation anymore.
½ September 1, 2014
I do like the animation, as simple and as revealing of its budget as it is. The backgrounds and layouts do look nice, and there are genuinely creative illustrations of various events in American history. In the end however, this is a really tasteless exercise in vulgarity, pornography and violence (too tasteless for me even), that only exists in order to say, "I am the first x-rated animated feature film ever!" There really is not much to it, and Fritz the cat, is a oddly constructed character, who really doesn't have any progression or any meat to him; the storyline is just too random and chaotic for me to care about, because I don't find any of the characters that interesting. The film's blatant satirical nature is too "on the nose" for me, and its exploration of marijuana, LSD, the Black Panthers, Harlem, the neo-nazis, racism, civil rights and other aspects of America in the 60s just doesn't flow as well for me.

The film also supposedly parodies Walt Disney Animation at some points, or just simply insults the grand animation empire; the way I see it, this film has no authority to make such a statement against Disney, and I usually try to support indie features over big corporate projects. I know Bakshi is better than this, and I'm sorry to all fans of the film, but I cannot recommend the film beyond some of its animation and historical significance.

Even though this is not the crudest film I've ever seen, I still feel unclean after seeing it and I never want to watch the film ever again.
June 26, 2014
This is a pretty funny movie that makes not much sense but is entertaining!
½ June 15, 2014
The story is so thin it's almost non-existent and it borders on cartoon porn for the amount of gratuitous nudity, but it serves as a perfect time capsule for the zeitgeist of student life in the 1960s and as a style of animation that would never be made today.
May 31, 2014
Wonderful satire on politics and college life in the 60s!
½ May 12, 2014
Represents an insane time in American history. Satires everything from politics, to social movements to racism. It even brutally skewers the typical trust-fund hippie college student we all know of. Fritz the Cat may be raunchy and crude, but it's incredibly smart.
½ April 5, 2014
This is one of the strangest movies I have ever seen. It has some good animation, especially for 1972, along with some interesting characters, but the plot is so strange and doesn't really make any sense. I would recommend watching it if you are interested in animation, just don't watch it with your kids.
March 4, 2014
Every character in this film is stupid! Every character is a single-minded, ignorant & ridiculous dung pile...

In fact, if there is one character that is not accurately described by that description, then, it is Duke! It is, perhaps, besides the point that a number, perhaps a large number, of the characters in this film do, obviously, have some measure of intelligence, be it street smarts or book smarts; and in having either one of them...none of them have more than a meager amount of the other. And none of them that have any relevant level of intelligence are smart enough to know what to do with it, which is, blisteringly, obvious from what takes place throughout the film!

...except for, perhaps, Duke! So, it is not only ironic that Duke is not only the only character that dies in the film, it is also ironic that he dies proving that he is the only character that does not possess this dreadful stupidity in the film!

While it is obvious that Duke does not have to die to prove this, it is apparent that those associated with this film, such as Crumb & Bakshi, believe(d, at least at the time when this film was made) that he does. Which makes me question their very intention(s) & motivation(s) about why this film was made at all.

(I have heard that Crumb hated the script & that he was, at least ultimately, not related to the creation nor its release. If that is the case, I would love to see his version of this film!)

Given the cultural, political & societal, etc., impacts that was had on this film, by the 1960's, which was almost a character in the film, by comic books & music, etc., and given the impacts that this film has had on comic books, movies, cartoons, the 60's & beyond, etc., I feel as if I can not rate the film based on purely the film itself. I feel that to rate the film I must include things that are connected to, but, not, necessarily, related to the film. And I don't know if that does an injustice to the film or not!

I am, also, made even more confused by the fact that, since music had such an influence on the film, the music in the film isn't very good at all! And regardless of what intention(s) and/or motivation(s) influenced those associated with this film had, to make this film, i.e. Crumb & Bakshi, I can't shake the feeling they tried, desperately, to piss ppl off with this film...

Robert Crumb is to comic books what Hunter S. Thompson is to journalism. And that's not always a good thing, too!
February 26, 2014
After 40 years, "Fritz the Cat" is still X-rated, animated fun. It takes all the moral confusion of the 1960's fills it with sex, drug, violence and Ralph Bakshi animation.
½ January 23, 2014
Even if I know that R. Crumb has disowned this film, I still enjoy it for the wild animation that Bakshi throws at us,and the clever use of colors and texture throughout.

Fun flick, well worth a revisit.

Rental?
½ October 24, 2013
Funny propaganda film making
Page 1 of 24