Fritz the Cat - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fritz the Cat Reviews

Page 1 of 24
October 23, 2017
i really want to see this movie it looks really amazing its the first X rated animated movie and is very vilonte and has lots of swearing and nudity
½ August 5, 2017
I love Ralph Bakshi. He is an innovating animator and wonderful story teller. That's why this one is so perplexing. The story has no focus but it does have his artistic flair for toned down colors and a small sample of the type of animation that would become his signature. Many of the scenes feel like he just let his actors have a conversation, rather than read from a script and he just drew the movie around it. Some of the social commentary is on point and you can see how Ralph saw a certain aspects of the 60s, the hypocrisy and all that. Things we seem to be dealing with again today. Not a great movie, but you have to start somewhere.
½ June 7, 2017
'Fritz The Cat' is a very unpleasant and cynical movie. Fritz himself is a frustrated drug-addicted college student feeling as though he isn't learning anything worthwhile. After burning down his dormitory he sets off in an attempt to gain more real-world experiences. On his journey he encounters violence erupting almost everywhere he goes. This is a very polarizing movie. Ralph Bakshi must be insane to make an animated film involving bathtub orgies, vivid drug trips, a gang rape, incompetent police portrayed as actual pigs, and a neo-nazi rabbit among other things. Yet 'Fritz The Cat' is still an important piece of work within the animated genre. If you are interested in animation and at all curious about this film then it's worth a look.
March 16, 2017
"I'm a writer, let's talk about it" - Almost passed out from laughter at this line.
July 13, 2016
I loved this movie since me and my big brother use to watch!
½ May 31, 2016
A rarely animated bizarre acid trip into a surreal raunchy satire commentary, Fritz the cat is often too juvenile, but it delivers its laughs.
October 25, 2015
Paved the way for The Simpsons, Family Guy, South Park, Futurama, etc.
September 18, 2015
Not very funny, and unexpectedly creepy, this comedy is not funny, nor fun! But does have good animation and unique visual effects! C
June 8, 2015
A boring, incoherent, Mess of a movie. Good animation however
Super Reviewer
April 24, 2015
Worth a watch, but it's a tough film to love.
½ January 2, 2015
I wasn't sure what to think about this, it was pretty funny but pretty bad too. It was too crude but that was the point I guess.
½ December 12, 2014
Not bad. Not bad at all! This X-rated cartoon is quite good, actually. It does have some rather explicit scenes, but by today's standards, it's not that much. The story is quite mature and deals with heavy themes, like racism and revolution. It has quite a few good jokes. The jokes are mostly political and were controversial at the time. The animation style is good, quite nostalgic I must say. The ending is at first emotional, but it's just a cover up for a happy/funny ending. All in all, it's a good cartoon that delivers in theme of explicitness and jokes, but it's not all that fascinating. Would recommend to those still believe cartoons are just for kids.
½ October 19, 2014
SAW IT BACK IN DA DAY!! WAS ONE OF THE CRAZIEST "CARTOONS" I'VE EVER SEEN!!! LOL
September 1, 2014
Pokes at the exploitative, self-indulgent side of hippie culture and at social hypocrisy generally, while wallowing in misogyny and racism of its own.

Seeing this on film now that digital projection has taken over theaters, I was in awe of the rich, varied colors and sharp lines in what was, admittedly, on-the-cheap animation. It's a shame hand drawn animation doesn't have a chance at high quality presentation anymore.
½ September 1, 2014
I do like the animation, as simple and as revealing of its budget as it is. The backgrounds and layouts do look nice, and there are genuinely creative illustrations of various events in American history. In the end however, this is a really tasteless exercise in vulgarity, pornography and violence (too tasteless for me even), that only exists in order to say, "I am the first x-rated animated feature film ever!" There really is not much to it, and Fritz the cat, is a oddly constructed character, who really doesn't have any progression or any meat to him; the storyline is just too random and chaotic for me to care about, because I don't find any of the characters that interesting. The film's blatant satirical nature is too "on the nose" for me, and its exploration of marijuana, LSD, the Black Panthers, Harlem, the neo-nazis, racism, civil rights and other aspects of America in the 60s just doesn't flow as well for me.

The film also supposedly parodies Walt Disney Animation at some points, or just simply insults the grand animation empire; the way I see it, this film has no authority to make such a statement against Disney, and I usually try to support indie features over big corporate projects. I know Bakshi is better than this, and I'm sorry to all fans of the film, but I cannot recommend the film beyond some of its animation and historical significance.

Even though this is not the crudest film I've ever seen, I still feel unclean after seeing it and I never want to watch the film ever again.
June 26, 2014
This is a pretty funny movie that makes not much sense but is entertaining!
½ June 15, 2014
The story is so thin it's almost non-existent and it borders on cartoon porn for the amount of gratuitous nudity, but it serves as a perfect time capsule for the zeitgeist of student life in the 1960s and as a style of animation that would never be made today.
May 31, 2014
Wonderful satire on politics and college life in the 60s!
½ May 12, 2014
Represents an insane time in American history. Satires everything from politics, to social movements to racism. It even brutally skewers the typical trust-fund hippie college student we all know of. Fritz the Cat may be raunchy and crude, but it's incredibly smart.
½ April 5, 2014
This is one of the strangest movies I have ever seen. It has some good animation, especially for 1972, along with some interesting characters, but the plot is so strange and doesn't really make any sense. I would recommend watching it if you are interested in animation, just don't watch it with your kids.
Page 1 of 24