I'll Sleep When I'm Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I'll Sleep When I'm Dead Reviews

Page 1 of 5
April 19, 2005
While the performances are excellent and the Get Carter-in-reverse plot is intriguing, this is a film where atmospherics triumph over the script.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 10, 2005
I'll Sleep When I'm Dead deftly traces the sad, steady pulse just under the skin of things . . . the lingering images etching out their own fitting epitaph.
January 4, 2005
...ended up sending us to slumberland a good deal sooner than the title implied.
November 18, 2004
Atmospheric post-noir film of the London underworld that never amounts to much of anything.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 24, 2004
Next time Mike Hodges wants to make a movie, I would suggest he shoot it in total darkness and drop the dialogue.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/10
September 8, 2004
[S]trip[s] the mobster film down to its bare essentials, and the result is stark and relentless...
September 3, 2004
Ace noir title, OK noir movie.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 23, 2004
...a kind of inside-out noir, a stately film about the sad progress of a diminished and sad but still frightful and dangerous monster.
Read More | Original Score: B-
August 20, 2004
Hodges and Preston have a commendable attitude, but with the thin story and shallow characters, even the right idea doesn't seem as interesting as it should be.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 2/4
August 13, 2004
Predictable to a fault.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 13, 2004
... Hodges is the kind of director who can breathe new life into old material with an offhand, deceptively minimalist approach.
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 13, 2004
Too often sleepwalks to its inevitable finish.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
August 13, 2004
In the end, it is the complex aura surrounding Owen's character...that stay with the viewer long after the threads of the story have unraveled in one's mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 12, 2004
Though the film is your basic revenge tale, it moves at such a snail's pace that the visceral excitement of the genre is nowhere to be found.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 8, 2004
A film whose pacing gives new meaning to the term 'sluggish,' and actually makes the charismatic Owen seem boring.
August 8, 2004
This sad, dark movie moves across the screen like a sleepwalker, aloof and belonging neither to this world nor the next.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 6, 2004
Languorous, elliptical and dull.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
August 6, 2004
Hodges' films are grinders and chiselers. Dry and satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 5, 2004
Maddeningly shapeless.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
August 5, 2004
While "Get Carter" had the visceral nastiness of an electric guitar solo, "I'll Sleep When I'm Dead" is more like a mournful jazz riff, atmospheric and unresolved.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 5