Marley & Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Marley & Me Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
October 21, 2014
I can vouch that director David Frankel succeeds in wringing out every last tear from the audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Ali Gray
TheShiznit.co.uk
September 29, 2012
Save some time; stay at home and think of your dead pets instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Neil Pond
American Profile
September 28, 2011
It's shaggy and scattered, but give Marley a biscuit for its realistic depiction of how powerful can be the bond between dogs and their "people."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
January 12, 2011
If you like the Lassie films, or even Beethoven and Old Yeller, you'll probably find this one easy to like.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
July 7, 2010
Although billed as a romantic comedy, this film is neither: it's a drama spanning about two decades in a marriage
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
William Goss
Cinematical
December 17, 2009
I'm fairly sure that the book and the film shared a common goal -- to make its audience sit, stay, laugh, cry, then move on -- and at those modest aspirations, the movie succeeds.
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
July 5, 2009
It left me crying like a five year old...
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
April 26, 2009
Even dog skeptics might be surprised how deftly Marley & Me adapts newspaper columnist John Grogan's book...into the equivalent of a kid's movie for adults. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Sukhdev Sandhu
Daily Telegraph (UK)
April 23, 2009
Sometimes, and especially on a crummy afternoon in the middle of March, it's nice to be able to switch off and settle down to enjoying the sight of middle-class families eating well and playing together in sprawling, bucolic gardens.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
April 17, 2009
...the strength of the finale effectively elevates everything that preceded it...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Ryan Cracknell
Movie Views
April 10, 2009
Marley & Me is a film of moments and many of them are cute. For anyone who has ever had a dog or a close pet, there's bound to be some connection.
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide
April 8, 2009
The conclusion transforms at least this part of the film from sappy romance to beautifully authentic meditation on life, death and a family's love for its long-time loyal dog.
| Original Score: 69/100
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
March 22, 2009
soy deihnoyn ypodeigmatika kai perissotero ap' tis proigoymenes apopeires toy, pos mporei kaneis na royfiksei entelos ti freskada, tin energeia kai tin idia ti zoi, apo ena biblio poy kseheilizei apo dayta
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
March 20, 2009
Directed with admirable sensitivity and spot-on populist instincts...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
March 15, 2009
It is a very positive film, so it won't appeal to cynics, but it should appeal to just about everyone else.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
March 15, 2009
The idea that this screen dog is so cute and lovable that everything ripped, chewed, swallowed or destroyed can merely be replaced and ignored is more out of a Stephen King reality than the world as we know it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
March 13, 2009
In the cinema, all of us tough, cynical critics had tears welling in our eyes, swallowing hard; our lips, so often curled in a cheap sneer, were now trembling, because of the same desperately sad thought: "Owen Wilson used to be really good..."
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
James Christopher
Times (UK)
March 13, 2009
There is something wildly odd about a film that measures human happiness with the whims of a dog.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
March 13, 2009
There's much more to this than just the cute dog.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Trevor Johnston
Time Out
March 13, 2009
Evidently contrived and something of an ungainly hybrid, the film shares its canine protagonist's facility for wearing down your resistance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
Page 1 of 7