Presumed Guilty (Presunto culpable) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Presumed Guilty (Presunto culpable) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ June 12, 2016
Terrible situacion en que se maneja la justicia en Mexico. Es lo que hay.
½ July 26, 2015
A nice documentary, about a country where when arrested you are presumed guilty and you have to prove your innocence. Crazy
June 6, 2014
Un exelente documental que nos muestra la realidad de un estado fallido; Mexico.
May 30, 2014
Very well done documentary that shows the reality of my beloved homeland.
May 24, 2014
Great documentary that exposes the corruption of Mexico and it shows what Mexican government is all about.
October 18, 2013
Wow! This "true crime/courtroom procedural" documentary about the criminal justice system in Mexico is 90 minutes of intensity and drama. If it were just a movie it would be one of the best in its genre. As a documentary, it is heartwrenching.
July 10, 2012
Un muy buen documental que evidencía totalmente al sistema judicial mexicano contando el caso de Josà (C) a quien se le acusa de un asesinato que no cometió. Está muy bien relatado, nos muestran el lado humano de el protagonista haciendo empatía con el espectador sin dejar que todo el aspecto jurídico acapare el 100% de la historia.
Al final, es un filme que te hace tomar conciencia de la realidad y empezar a creer y propagar el cambio con acciones.
½ March 20, 2012
Truly heartbreaking! A great example of why people don't trust their penal system. Truly shameful!
December 29, 2011
El sistema penitenciario en Mèxico es muy deplorable. Este documental da prueba de ello. Mostrando tan sólo una parte de de lo mucho que a diario le suceden a la gente que no puede hacer nada contra de estas injusticias. Un país que se llena de pobres, donde crimen y gobierno matan gente por las calles todos los días.
Super Reviewer
½ November 29, 2011
It's a good documentary about the irregularity of the prisons, is a clear example of some irregularities and gives justice to a completely unfair case .
ElCochran90
Super Reviewer
October 10, 2011
Hear a funny story, my dear foreign reader:

This documentary was shot in 2008. Ok, cool. The government said: "Oh crap! The Judicial Power is the antagonist! We'll look awful." And so, it was banned for two years. It was never released.

Miraculously, Presunto Culpable finally hits theaters nationally in 2010, and the commotion and controversy caused is ENORMOUS, I mean, GODDAMN GIGANTIC. YouTube clips, media, newspapers and the news turn it into a great sensation.

BUT there is always a but. One of the authorities depicted during a small trial (or perhaps another related acquaintance; no one knows and I really don't believe the crap news) raised a lawsuit claiming that his/her(?) appearance affected his/her(?) public image and reputation. So, while Presunto Culpable had been for around less than two weeks in theaters, it is immediately banned again by the government.

Result? EVERYBODY wanted to see it, and thanks to the government's stupidly idiotic and immature move, the Mexican nation associated the commentary of Presunto Culpable with the government's fear to reveal its nature in the law-making processes and the incompetence of those in power. Piracy, torrents and cheap copies arised.

Sharp, witty, unafraid, accurate, well done, Presunto Culpable is a sickening look into the repulsive and infuriating lack of interest of the authorities who do not give a flying f*** about a proper execution of justice. Why are we still stuck into a middle-development crisis of insecurity and macroeconomic problems? Ha...

77/100
September 25, 2011
Muy buena, pero realmente me puso de malas y me preocupa la corrupción descarada de nuestros funcionarios públicos
½ August 19, 2011
Toda persona que vive en Mexico sabe acerca de la corrupción de nuestro sistema jurídico y de las injusticias que se cometen todos los días. Debe de haber miles de casos como el de Antonio, donde hombres inocentes son encerrados sin evidencias ni el menor grado de remordimiento por parte de judiciales ni jueces (quienes en la mayoría de los casos ni están presentes durante la sentencia).
"Presunto Culpable" no es un gran documental pero si es uno importante ya que trae a luz una realidad que las autoridades ya no pueden negar y que ademas incita a la gente a exigir mas de sus gobernantes. Esta causo mucha controversia durante su proyección en cines mexicanos (hasta fue suspendida por una demanda de uno de los entrevistados). Para muchos es una experiencia poderosa y un grito exigiendo el cambio. Recomendable.
April 16, 2011
It can be really gross to realize how corrupt the goverment can be. But it´s also a relief to know that there´s ppl willing to do something.
April 5, 2011
Este excelente documental con toques de cine dramático (por lo bien producido y editado), resulta una verdadera afrenta para cualquiera que tenga dos miligramos de ética y congruencia. Es una clarísima fotografía de lo podrido, corrupto y enredado que es el sistema de "justicia" mexicano y que como fundamento de una nación, la protección de los derechos en México no existe, a menos que tengas poder, dinero o ambas. Hay que verla.
March 29, 2011
definitely a controversial film who has changed the way we look the police system in mexico
½ March 24, 2011
Lo vemos a diario y no hacemos nada,solo unos pocos se atreven a defender a las victimasdel pobre sistema de justicia mexicano y he aqui un ejemplo de ello
March 22, 2011
amazing. i always doubt documentaries, so i'm still not fully convinced of some data presented in this film; however, the essence of this film is astonishing, and extremely persuasive. it seems like it finally sheds some of the so crucially needed light on the mexican judicial system. while i believe that this film presents an extreme case of a biased system, i'm confident that every judicial system has the potential for some of the malpractices presented here. very worth a watch.
March 19, 2011
Lo terrible es que la ley esta hecha asi, y q lo que ocurre es tan cotidiano que ya no escandalizaba... hasta ahora que se ha hecho publico. La q parecia la mas inocente era la villana!!!
March 17, 2011
Impresionante lo asqueroso que es el sistema judicial penal. Me dieron ganas de ir a partirle la madre al Juez de primera instancia! Tipos como à (C)se son la lacra del mundo
Page 1 of 3