Wet Hot American Summer - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Wet Hot American Summer Reviews

Page 1 of 137
March 8, 2018
, the fIrst time i watched wet hot i was 12. Since then i have grown to appreciate it even moRe; the commentary on social norms and social abnorms is both hiLarious and emOtionally jarring. Is this a joke on them, or a joke on Us? PRoBably, no definitely Both.
November 15, 2017
super funny movie. with a good cast. and a weard brand of comedy
October 16, 2017
What a ridiculous movie. ARTS AND FARTS AND CRAFTS.
October 13, 2017
It?s ok, not bad, not very good...
½ October 7, 2017
Hilarious sent up of 1980s teen sex comedies with an amazing cast that includes Janeane Garofalo, David Hyde Pierce, Michael Showalter, Paul Rudd, Christopher Meloni, Molly Shannon, Ken Marino, Michael Ian Black, Joe Lo Truglio, Amy Poehler, Bradley Cooper, Elizabeth Banks, Judah Friedlander, Jon Benjamin, and Kevin Sussman. A complete flop when it originally came out (I don't even remember it being released), it has since garnered a significant cult following, so much so that Netflix commissioned a follow-up film nearly 10 years later, which hilariously is a prequel to the original film where the now much older cast is actually playing younger versions of themselves. But to this film in particular, the story revolves around a group of horny "teen" counselors on the last day of camp, the summer of 1981, wrapping up unfinished business before everyone leaves camp to go back home. The film is brilliant in it's recreation of movies like "Meatballs," "Hot Dog," "Little Darlings," "Up the Creek," or any other number of other 80s teen comedies that is so spot on that it almost seems like a straight up homage at times (whether it's the outfits, or the banter between senior counselors Garofalo and Hyde Pierce, to the camp PA announcements, and so on), but it also throws in some wildly absurd humor a well (a homicidal cook, the clearly non-teenage actors playing teen, and so on), but it all worked for me, mostly because of my love and nostalgia for all things 80s. This is a comedy that won't work for all tastes and the folks who made this film appear to have made a comedy to merely amuse themselves. So if you "get it," this film is magic! If you don't "get it," you'll probably find this film unbearable.
½ September 4, 2017
(4.5/5) Oh hell. RT can take its critic consensus and shove it up its ass. This is a great comedy, and a classic too. It doesn't always hit the mark with its jokes, but its great satire.
½ August 23, 2017
I went back to watch this after the Netflix series aired and it's possible I enjoyed it more because of the context.
August 7, 2017
Not sure why this has such a low rating here. This is summer camp movie parody is hysterical. And the subsequent Netflix spin offs are a must for any comedy lover. The more it doesn't make sense, the funnier the movie/shows become.
August 1, 2017
This is a crazy, weirdo, campy, comedy, at its finest!
I was born in 1973 and would have loved to attend this summer camp! I watch it every summer. It's a summer tradition! LAUGH OUT LOUD FUNNY!
½ May 31, 2017
3.5/5. Funny, but extremely weird.
May 22, 2017
Great cast, some hilarious bits but overall, probably no loss if were to miss this movie.
May 12, 2017
The year is 1981, a looser time for all. It?s the last day of camp at Camp Firewood (real original name), and camp director Beth (Janeane Garofalo) is trying to keep the camp running. Meanwhile, many other camp stories go on, some of which are left unresolved, others are wrapped into a neat little bow. There?s romance, teen drama, and just plain weirdness throughout. The plot moves as casually as a summer day, which works for it because like a hot summer day, the plot moves this way, that way and every other way. There are a lot of characters they follow, and some storylines go unresolved, and the climax comes from out of nowhere, which is both as absurd as classic summer vacations can be and just plain dumb at the same time. Look, the plot?s a mess in terms of coherence, but the pace reflecting summer days works out. Most adult viewers will be able to relate to the main characters in some way, whether it?s the laid back guys, the girls, Professor Henry Newman (David Hyde Pierce), or any of the kids, because this is a classic summer vacation movie. The main characters you really care about are Beth and Henry, but everyone else just takes up time that could be spent on them. Otherwise, character development is weak due to too many characters they try to focus on, but some of their arcs go unresolved, or just feel shoehorned in. However, the film was hilarious, whether it was the wild dialogue from Gene (Christopher Meloni) and his ?friend? the can of peas (H. Jon Benjamin). There?s plenty of sight gags and zany dialogue to keep you entertained, even if you think afterward ?that was really stupid.? Theodore Shapiro and Craig Wedren make an orchestral score, but with great 80s songs put to good use, we don?t hear much of that. All the music sets the mood and is appropriate to the scene. And there were also a lot of swears. Wow, that was as random as this movie, which may be the unique charm that doesn?t sink my rating of it.
April 7, 2017
Like Role Models and Stella, it has its moments of hilarity, mostly involving Paul Rudd, but is mostly painfully unfunny.
March 16, 2017
Didn't know what life was before this movie
½ January 22, 2017
Though containing a bunch of future stars and having some pure comedic moments, Wet Hot American Summer ultimately lacks solid characters to actually make anyone care about its story, which went nuts upon itself.
January 11, 2017
the second best of this type, the best when is dumb movie, only behind dazed and confused - 20/12/2016
November 14, 2016
One of the 20 best comedy movies of the 2000s.
October 9, 2016
Absolutely delightful, silly, stupid, and constant fun, this movie was a perfect parody within a parody. Is it an Oscar-winning blockbuster? Of course not. Is it a perfect low-budget indie romp? You bet. Watch it alone, watch it with your friends, watch it with your parents, watch it with your little siblings. It's a constant good time with so much cheesiness and goofiness to make it the perfect comedy for the person who just wants to have a good time. I am head-over-heels in love with this nonsense.
August 7, 2016
absolutely despise this movie the first time I saw it. It is now one of my favorite movies
July 17, 2016
The jokes are few-and-far between; and when they do land it generates nothing more than a chuckle.
Page 1 of 137