The Bachelorette: Season 13 Reviews

Top Critic
November 25, 2019
This season of "The Bachelorette" retained the materialism, manipulation and princess fantasy stuff that's always made the show so damaging.
April 30, 2019
If only there were literal tongues of wind lashing at this union before it even started, trying to get across how the universe overall is feeling about this union.
April 30, 2019
It was a live, three-hour, overblown spectacle complete with a raucous studio audience - and we wouldn't have had it any other way.
April 30, 2019
In my opinion, sprinkling the live segments in with the recorded pieces was unfair for the happy couple, because it put us on an emotional roller coaster in which we felt more attached to Peter.
April 30, 2019
This is excruciating. As far as I can tell, Rachel clearly wants to be with Peter. They hug and kiss and hug and kiss in the doorway. She can't bring herself to leave for some time. It's a genuinely heartbreaking scene.
April 30, 2019
If you don't arrive at the conclusion that Rachel should have just picked Eric with his cute-ass beard, you failed. I failed. We all failed.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 30, 2019
Unfortunately, any semblance of the series' newfound integrity disappeared when news about contestant Lee Garrett, a Nashville-based singer-songwriter, emerged.
April 30, 2019
Also, it's so weird that the show is revealing the winner this way. Couldn't they have just teased Peter showing up to propose? We all know the editors on this show are talented.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 30, 2019
Sometimes invigorating and other times infuriating.
April 30, 2019
Honestly, aside from like Homeward Bound and any movie about war, HAVE YOU EVER SEEN SOMETHING SO SAD?! Rachel might not have pulled a full Mesnick, but I think I might've.
April 30, 2019
The 13th season of The Bachelorette was, in a word, disappointing.
September 20, 2017
It felt raw, it felt emotional, and it made Rachel and Bryan's eventual proposal fall flat. No one at my viewing party cared about the ending.
September 12, 2017
Rachel is the first black Bachelorette, and with that comes the most diverse cast of men, both of which the show boasts about in a gross, self-congratulatory way.