The Kids Are All Right - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Kids Are All Right Reviews

Page 1 of 242
½ October 8, 2016
The Kids Are All Right is a mind-opening movie about a reality not so told that busts some myths as well as bringing the audience closer to the subject.
The acting is good, with a remarcable performance from Mark Ruffalo.
October 2, 2016
The Kids Are All Right has humor, drama and the right dosis of reality, making a truly appealing approach to the controversy behind gay marriage and the core of family union.
September 19, 2016
The Kids Are All Right is one of the first larger budget family dramas that really focuses on a non-traditional family. What I appreciated about the film is that, while it looked at the differences of their family life, it never acted like this was a big deal. The movie is simply about a family and the fact that the parents were both women was kind of a non-issue. I was impressed with the forthright way that they talk about their sex life with the son and it had a rather humorous setup, too. I do wonder if anyone recognized the irony of 2 straight women who are paid to pretend they are lesbians complaining about lesbian porn because it's 2 straight women paid to pretend they are lesbians, but I took it as a tongue-in-cheek reference and laughed it off. Sadly, The Kids Are All Right lost me in act two because it took a sudden left turn and was no longer about the kids, and became primarily about the parents and their issues. The setup seemed to promise a different film than the one that was delivered later on. As things came to a head I thought the movie picked back up and I was once again on board, because the family of four was back center stage, and we were able to see how they worked through issues just like any family would. Don't get me wrong, I love Mark Ruffalo as an actor, and his early scenes in this movie were great. I just wanted this to be a traditional drama about a non-traditional family, because it seemed so charming when it was only being that one thing. From the moment the kiss took place (and if you've seen the movie hopefully you know what kiss I'm referring to) I wondered "Where did my movie go?" The Kids Are All Right is still a fairly progressive movie, but it didn't hit a home run, so I was somewhat disappointed.
½ September 17, 2016
It's the kind of film that I wouldn't expect too much from, but it turned out to be a very entertaining one.
Super Reviewer
September 12, 2016
A pretty forgettable movie.
½ September 8, 2016
Good movie, I recommend it but this is one lesbian movie where the guy gets the shaft.
½ September 1, 2016
Director and co-writer Lisa Cholodenko delivers a take on the traditional family drama that is not only refreshingly quirky and heartfelt, but unflinchingly brave in its willingness to place its characters into morally oblique situations that ultimately help form more interesting thematic statements on some of the complex matters at hand. Marriage, growing up, what it means to be a parent - all of these issues are discussed to an impressive degree. But, where this movie really excels is in its performance work. It's hard for a movie to sink when you have such heavy-hitters as Annette Bening, Julianne Moore, and Mark Ruffalo giving it their proverbial all in nearly every scene. Indeed, "The Kids Are All Right" is not just an effective piece that discusses salient issues relative to contemporary society, but its also just a very well-acted and well-put-together film in general.
July 30, 2016
Great film. Very well done.
July 23, 2016
Heartfelt and great acting. :)
May 31, 2016
2010 certainly wasn't short of great films: The King's Speech, 127 Hours, The Social Network, Black Swan. As I recently discovered, The Kids Are All Right more than belongs on this list. The story of a family thrown into turmoil and inner conflict is nothing especially new, but it's done with such warmth, realism and humanity that it never fails to entertain. The central characters are a homosexual couple, each one with a biological child, living what appears to be a relatively normal life. Rather than saying they have to deal with issues because they're a non-conventional family, it shows that they are a non-conventional who deals with issues. Mark Ruffalo, undoubtedly one of this generation's finest and most charming actors, brings to life a free-spirited individual who tries to accept new responsibilities, but is unable to change his own carefree, laid back nature. All of the cast are fantastic, and none more so than Annette Benning. I believed her character within minutes of her being on screen, and every glare, sideways word and tear she delivers feels honest and heartfelt. She, and everyone else on screen, deserves all the praise they received. A magnificent cast, snappy dialogue and a real feeling of purpose, meaning and relevance, I loved it from start to finish.
May 23, 2016
Although it's occasionally monotonous, great performances, intelligent writing, and heartfelt drama make this a poignant and refreshing picture.
April 19, 2016
The Kids Are All Right is a touching change of pace from the average hollywood movie. A lesbian couple played brilliantly by Annette Bening and Julianne Moore use the same sperm donor to father two kids themselves. The kids independently seek out their father, played by Mark Ruffalo and a mix of emotions take you through the rest of the movie. Predictable in parts, yet never dull.

It was really important to have a man and a woman write this. Unlike some movies where you get a one gender perspective the female and male characters are balanced here. It brings out the authenticity of the actors and makes them people who are very real.
March 14, 2016
I only heard about this movie by the many Academy Awards that it got. So I kind of came in with an open mind and watched it. While The Kids Are All Right is a great movie, it seems to be a tad overrated to me. I'll give it props to the movie for putting it to the big screens as it's very rare for a lesbian film, and is a problem for it as homosexuality is still a problem to some people. The writing by Lisa Cholodenko and Steven Blumberg is really good and does the same-sex parent relationship very well. The acting is great, and the characters are very likable. It does go through family issues very well, and is very realistic too. The film is interesting, but for some reason I wished it was more interesting. It had some good humor which made the film a bit more interesting, but wasn't really much of it. As is, I can kind of see why The Kids Are All Right got the awards and I still enjoyed it for what it is.
½ March 10, 2016
"The Kids Are All Right" is a well rounded comedy-drama combining humor with understandable, realistic characters.
Super Reviewer
January 26, 2016
The Kids Are All Right make a nice change from all the awful Hollywood comedies about kids searching and finding their sperm donor fathers. This is probably a more realistic version of what could happen and certainly a more entertaining one that raises some interesting questions. All the performances were good but it is Annette Bening who really steals the show, this is by far her best role yet.
January 25, 2016
so i started watching this hoping it would be mostly comedy but was surprised to find an insight into relationships, couples with problems, father-child bonding and some more heart warming surprises. good movie
½ January 20, 2016
A nice film with awesome performances and a great story.
January 16, 2016
Bittingly honest and unfailingly heartfelt; The Kids Are All Right is a heartwarming and touching film, boosting an insightful narrative, an excellent well-rounded cast an an effortless mix of humor and humane genuineness.
December 17, 2015
I give it 5 stars mainly because the script was incredible and it really is a great film
Page 1 of 242