Short Circuit - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Short Circuit Reviews

Page 1 of 206
November 4, 2017
When what others see the future for war, we see artificial intelligence is here to stay. When we see that an AI is different from others when lighting strikes, we don't know what it is capable of doing when it's meant to be a tool for war. When the AI is able to see and comprehend, it sees it is able to do more that others can't do. When it can see and feel all dangers & all what is safe. When it can see what to do and not to do when it is learning life as it explorers everything around them. When it is able see everything identify fast when it can process all physical data and learn to communicate with a feminist touch. When it is able express emotions and objects, able to understand life and death, assemble and reassemble to know what we see is danger we must stay away. When we don't always understand this world and see it for what it means we try to take parts and put them together to find a connection.
October 24, 2017
I seen this movie on The Disney Channel when I was Kid in 90s, I really like this movie so much. but the 80s fans who totally miss our favorite friendly robot so much
September 7, 2017
Short Circuit is an okay film. It is about number 5 of a group of experimental robots in a lab who is electrocuted, suddenly becomes intelligent, and escapes. Steve Guttenberg and Ally Sheedy give decent performances. The script is a little slow in places. John Badham did an alright job directing this movie. I liked this motion picture because of the humor.
May 20, 2017
#5 is a military robot who is struck by lightning and becomes "alive". A cute family comedy.
May 6, 2017
Fantastic sci fi comedy
April 28, 2017
One of greatest movie from 80's !
½ February 9, 2017
It's good movie to watch
½ January 7, 2017
It's a pretty cute movie. It had a couple of funny parts. But, overall, it was a pretty cliche movie. The acting wasn't special and the story wasn't special. But, it was a cute family movie
September 24, 2016
Seriously, a rotten tomato. I already hated rotten tomatoes but now I hate them more.
August 8, 2016
8/9/2016: A pretty cheesy 80's movie. Silly, but not funny.
June 19, 2016
Robot escapes from research facility and ends up at the home of a single cat lady type named Stephanie. She helps the robot from getting hurt. This family comedy is a little cheesy and dated. But, at the time of its release its special effects and the robot itself were seen as high technology in its own right.
June 16, 2016
Great movie that holds up over time (if you allow for the special effects)

Interesting, The 80's had a very positive view of AI where as we seem to have developed a very "End of the World" view of AI.

That aside, a very fun and positive move that it still watchable today. Good job folks!
½ May 20, 2016
Short Circuit may contain some controversial subjects, and its story may be too shallow, but it has some enjoyable moments, and a really likeable protagonist
Super Reviewer
May 1, 2016
An 80's film I never saw whilst growing up. I really enjoyed it. It is clear that Wall-E from Pixar was inspired by Johnny-Five and this movie, even if Pixar deny it. A lot of the jokes are clearly not for kids either but otherwise this is a very enjoyable film. On to the sequel now.
½ April 22, 2016
A lot of nostalgic fun. Great kids movie! Johnny 5 is alive!!!
March 20, 2016
It is not original, but Johnny Five is a very underrated protagonist with likable to cling on. the effects are decent and the rest is ok
February 23, 2016
The plot is by-the-numbers and hits every plot point you'd expect, and the acting is underwhelming, but its sense of fun and charm, delivered mostly from its adorable protagonist, is quite undeniable.
February 1, 2016
Cute but dumb, charming but lame. The characters are hollow and the acting is bad. Entertaining as a kid I guess. Enjoyable family flick.
½ December 23, 2015
i have watched this,and as always rotten tomatoe reviews ,are far too self important,this is a CLASSIC film for children,it 2000 my 7 yr old watched it and loved it,adult reviewers are normally arrogent and lack,an understanding,believing in there own intelligence far more than they should
December 22, 2015
I love this movie and ally sheedy is one of my favorite actress
Page 1 of 206