Henry V - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Henry V Reviews

Page 1 of 41
June 17, 2017
Players are so cold.
April 19, 2017
To put it briefly, this is the best live-action film adaption any of Shakespeare's work. Period! You can find live action film adaptations of Hamlet, Romeo and Juliet, Cats, or whatever, but none compare to the flawless performance done in this adaptation of Shakespeare's Henry V, with word for word dialogue and the best casting choices ever made. We few, we happy few, we band of brothers. Henry V gets a 5/5.
April 16, 2017
With an appropriate level of grit, solid acting, and emotional heft to carry all the banter, Kenneth Branagh's version of this Shakespearean history of England is darker but also more complex, as well as a little cheaply edited.
September 6, 2016
a PAin...... for sure....
½ August 28, 2016
Shakespeare is tough to turn into good movies especially the history shows. Branagh is intermittently successful here. As King Henry leading the Brits from arguing into full fledged war with the French, Branagh doesn't quite inspire the way Henry must to be successfull. The first third is a bit scattered and tough to follow if you don't know the source material, the second act improves with some more action, and then it drags on almost 20 minutes past where it should end. Branagh would do better adaptations later, so stick to those.
Super Reviewer
June 24, 2016
Kenneth Branagh's spectacular, totally engrossing adaptation of William Shakespeare play is his finest cinematic achievement to date. A feast for both the eyes and ears, indeed Shakespeare's words are spoken in this film with such conviction, depth and power by an extraordinary cast of British thespians, and the truly stunning cinematography by Kenneth MacMillan brings this epic tale to life. But the film's greatest attribute is Kenneth Branagh's brilliant Oscar nominated powerhouse performance as King Henry V which completely dominates this motion picture. The tale concerns young King Henry of England who embarks on a conquest of France after being insulted by the King of France, he leads his small rag-tag army against a vastly superior number of French forces on the field of Agincourt. Masterful Oscar nominated & BAFTA Film Award winning direction by Branagh who also wrote the captivating screen adaptation. Magnificent supporting performances by Derek Jacobi, Brian Blessed, Sir Ian Holm, Paul Scofield, Emma Thompson, James Simmons, Paul Gregory, Alec McCowen, Robbie Coltrane, Geraldine, McEwan, Judi Dench, and Christian Bale. A movie masterpiece in every sense of the word. Unmissable. Oscar winner: Best Costume Design: Phyllis Dalton. Highly Recommended.
May 25, 2016
Wow. Kenneth Branagh's debut film is full of vigor and bravado, with gritty and visceral action sequences. I thoroughly enjoyed this.
½ February 8, 2016
Shakespearean classic with an outstanding crew of actors. The battle scene is unforgettable in its realism. I cannot stress how great these scenes are. A must see for fans of history, or military battles, this is epic drama at its best.
½ December 13, 2015
A lot more accessible than the Olivier version but still pretty long and boring. You do have to be a bit of a Shakespeare nut to enjoy such films.
November 27, 2015
It's a tragedy this isn't available to purchase.
October 1, 2015
fabulously done, tons of action,
½ March 15, 2015
The most cinematic and epic Shakespeare adaptations ever to be put on screen. The fact that this is Kenneth Branagh's first film as director shows how advanced he was before his time. Branagh is also great on screen. The way he says Shakespeare's words and how he makes his actors say it is why his versions are always the best. This is the definitive Shakespeare adaptation.

Grade: A
½ March 6, 2015
Revu. Du très lourd même si je ne me rappelais plus quelques longueurs.
Mais la mise en scène de Branagh, le jeu de Branagh énorme (il avait à peine 30 ans), ce que ça raconte et ce que ça veut dire, c'est un grand film !
(avec Christian Bale encore tout jeune dans un petit rôle et Ian Holm qui, au détour de quelques plans, déchire !
Super Reviewer
February 21, 2015
It's probably good if you're into Shakespeare. It went right over my head.
February 15, 2015
This is an excellent adaptation of Shakespeare's "Henry V". Branagh is excellent in the title well, and his direction is superb. I hadn't seen this in ages, so it was nice to revisit it on blu-ray. The battle scenes are excellent, and he's got a talented cast. It's funny seeing Christian Bale as a kid. If you are a Shakespeare fan, this film is a MUST!
January 31, 2015
Back in 1989, Kenneth Branagh directed this adaptation of William Shakespeare's classic stage play. Branagh would be a prolific director in the 1990s and made movies in several different genres often utilizing a stock family of characters including his soon-to-be-wife/wife/soon-to-be-ex Emma Thompson (an early-mid 1990s cinematic power couple). Branagh would return to Shakespeare with his adaptations of Much Ado About Nothing and his very complete (and very long) adaptation of Hamlet. Contrasting this with Olivier's 1947 adaptation of the same play is interesting. Olivier was celebrating Britain's recent victory over Nazi Germany and there was still a concept of British Exceptionalism despite the decision to grant independence to India (thus beginning the dissolution of the British Empire). Branagh directed this film after the Vietnam War and after Thatcher's adventurism in the Falklands. Branagh shows the human cost of medieval war and his young king becomes disillusioned with dreams of conquest following his victory at Agincourt. A great cast of English thespians can be found here including Branagh regulars Derek Jacobi, Brian Blessed. Emma Thompson, and Judi Dench. The latest Shout Factory Blu-Ray is very crisp, I had this on VHS once but never picked it up on DVD. I'll have to seek out a copy of Branagh's Much Ado About Nothing next, which IMHO is his best Shakespeare adaptation.
January 28, 2015
Way too complicated for me to understand with my brain working the way it is at the moment.
January 13, 2015
Branagh is so good at Shakespeare adaptations and this is his best. Period.
October 11, 2014
This is a gritty film adaption of Shakespeare play of the English King Henry V (Kenneth Branagh) and his battles in France. Director Kenneth Branagh has in one film re-energized Shakespeare as more than stuffy old plays.

I'm not a Shakespearian scholar. So this is just a review from a lay person. Most of it is understandable which is quite important. More importantly, almost all of it is quite passionate and compelling. The most rip roaring is the iconic St. Crispin's Day speech. The other interesting thing is the introduction of Kenneth Branagh as a great Northern Ireland director. In many ways, this signals something new.
Page 1 of 41