Virus - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Virus Reviews

Page 1 of 20
June 5, 2016
Monsters: fantastic. Everything else: descent. Outside of the animatronics, nothing will wow you, but the acting is good and you're always wondering what's going to pop out next. It's a monster movie that any horror fan can sit down and guzzle popcorn to.
½ November 1, 2015
special effects r great story kinda boring and nothing original
½ September 8, 2015
Good rendering of a harrowing idea.
½ May 28, 2015
As far as this movie goes,they should have let this patient die.
December 28, 2014
I don't scare easily, but this movie freaked me out a little bit. Perhaps it was because I was 12 at the time...
July 13, 2014
Not great but definitely exciting. Sutherland steels the show and the effects are really cool!
Super Reviewer
June 29, 2014
A rather mediocre sci-fi monster chase with a typical 90s cast, Baldwin, Curtis and Sutherland, all of which do not deliever their best performances here, in parts due to lack of talent (Baldwin) and some are just victims of the awful screenplay (Curtis). Sutherland has a few funny moments, then again, playing a grumpy old Captain is always quite rewarding and even that partiuclar sketch becomes tiresome not far in to the film. The film starts out pretty good and the setting (an abandonend Russian science ship) is extremely interesting and could have been way more thrilling that it turns out to be. Once the cat is out of the bag, what could have been an interesting fight for survival becomes a tedious and utterly boring array of chases, chases, chases and more people running through dark corridors. Think shaky "found footage" films and you know what quality to expect. The special effects are good and something for fans of evil robots for sure and may have been one of the few good things about this. Unfortunately, it takes itself to serious to be one of those rare "so-bad-it'sgood" films, so there no hope left in that department.
½ April 29, 2014
The directorial debut of special effects designer John Bruno, who has worked on Ghostbusters (1984), Terminator 2: Judgment Day (1991) and Avatar (2009),and based on Chuck Pfarrer's 1992 comic book published by Dark Horse Comics. This should have been a good piece of sci-fi suspense, but ir's all a bit cack-handed, and lop sided. Even the inventive special effects on display can't save this piece of guff. A week after crew of the Mir space station were killed by a mysterious energy force, which also hits the crew of the Russian research ship Akademik Vladislav Volkov. A sea tug led by Captain Robert Everton (Donald Sutherland), along with ex-Navy officer Kelly Foster (Jamie Lee Curtis) and engineer Steve Baker (William Baldwin) come across the abandoned Akademik Vladislav Volkov, and go on board to salvage anything they can, as they'd lost their cargo in a typhoon, and they need the money. On board, they discover most of the ship's electronics are destroyed, and they try to find some power, but they soon discover the power was off for a reason. It's a very silly film, and even the special effects, which are good, end up being tarnished by the predictable plotting and hokey dialogue. It had a troubled production, with it's release date delayed by nearly a year after poor test screenings, and the film was recut. Bruno has never directed a feature film since.
½ April 3, 2014
Quick, pass the Bleach...
½ March 29, 2014
This film in general was rather predictable, cheesy in that aspect, and the action could have been met to the conflict better through a better script, and more unique planning, but the plot of the movie gives a different, darker vibe to sci-fi/horror, and the agonist displays it's ruthlessness, and goriness of what it is. In a nutshell, could have easily hot box office with better planning, but retains a unique conflict.
½ March 24, 2014
Pretty good, rather interesting
March 23, 2014
Wonderful effects and a nice twist on an over-used premise. The story is a bit thin, and the characters aren't the most interesting to follow, but the atmosphere and location really add a special feel. Not to mention the machine creature eye-candy.
February 6, 2014
If you didn't know how much money was spent on this, you would think its a decent b-movie. It doesn't stand alone as a blockbuster, but it is built on an interesting and disturbing concept.
½ January 27, 2014
The alien needed another leg to stand on. All it seemed to have going for it was intelligence. Which it used that to build itself a robot body and then later add human remains. That too me was the biggest creep factor, all the dismembered body parts dangling and left lying around. Despite the various flaws I'd watch it again.
½ January 15, 2014
A sci-fi action film that owes everything to it's cast & pretty much nothing to it's scenario , script or terrible CGI. Jamie Lee Curtis is showing off some amazing action skills once again but her huge talent is unfortunately misused in this complete flop.
½ December 23, 2013
How did i miss this one, its been out ages but well worth a look.
½ December 2, 2013
Weirdly, I bought this on a whim as a kid...and I really liked it. No idea what I'd think now but it was a ton of fun with my dad back them.
October 18, 2013
Efectos especiales son buenos al menos.
½ September 29, 2013
Its predictable and generic, but I was mildly entertained.
Page 1 of 20