Adam - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Adam Reviews

Page 1 of 67
September 25, 2016
Dancy's portrayal of someone with Aspergers Syndrome is sensitively played. You do laugh how he takes things literally, but then realise that you probably shouldn't.
May 7, 2016
Probably my all time favorite Rom-Com! a biased statement considering like the character in the movie has Asperger's just like me.
½ January 28, 2016
Adam has a good representation of the Aspergers community and I as a member of that community connected and sympathised with this character which doesn't happen often and also should it to two of my fellow A.S friends one who watched it 3 times and the other who seemly loved it. I can't say that it's perfect has many flaws but Hugh Dancy if it's this or Hannibal represents us well so all in all its something worth grabbing in a dvd store it would never be that expensive so give it a watch :D
November 18, 2015
An underrated view of life with Aspirger Syndrome. Charming and ultimately illuminating.
November 4, 2015
Adam isn't really a love story, it's more a story about two people meeting. One of them a little more different than the other, they become friends and then they naturally fall in love, without the difference having any meaning.
This is a sweet movie with a great soundtrack. It shows that we're all the same and that we should accept everyone for who they are. When you start looking inside a person, instead of outside, that's when you'll find what really matters.
Super Reviewer
½ November 3, 2015
A bittersweet and unconventional love story that benefits mostly from Hugh Dancy's great and extremely impressive performance as a handsome young man with Asperger's Syndrome.
½ August 13, 2015
This has its heart in the right place, although the script is a bit clunky. An hour and a half of undemanding New York romance, with a twist in the tale and a sympathetic portrayal of a high-functioning Asperger's adult. Not a waste of time.
May 8, 2015
Gentle, somewhat timid drama, but keeps an interesting with the burgeoning relationship that's depicted.
January 29, 2015
Hugh Dancy and Rose Byrne are good but the script is a little too weak to make something great as a result. Full review later.
½ December 17, 2014
Hugh Dancys performance is spectacular making this movie sweet and heartbreaking
½ December 7, 2014
Byrne and Dancy succeed, but that is all that's holding this attempt at full scale human drama up from sinking completely. Although clearly trying to be a rom-com, it does little romantic or funny and offers nothing more than a flat depiction of dating someone with mental illness, without conveying the necessary heart.
½ October 19, 2014
Knew i had seen this before. Enjoyed watching this, although i always had the feeling it's not possible for romance to develop between to people such like these
October 18, 2014
This refreshing approach to romcom throws in a man living with Aspergers and does it with aplomb! Believable performances all round.
½ October 17, 2014
Loved it. Hugh Dancy's character is charming.
September 18, 2014
WOW....WOW...WOW....I CAN REALLY REALLY RELATE TO THIS STORY (AS I HAVE GOT Asperger syndrome,/ ADHD), i can really relate to this story as some of the things adam (hugh dancy), does in this movie i do myself.......its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie.....i think that hugh dancy, rose byrne, peter gallagher, amy irving, frankie faison, play good roles/parts throughout this movie.....i think that the director of this romance/drama movie had done a great job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie....i think that this is such a powerful drama movie 2 watch.....its got a great cast throughout this movie......





The movie received mixed reviews. Roger Ebert gave it 2.5/4 stars, saying that the movie "wraps up their story in too tidy a package, insisting on finding the upbeat in the murky, and missing the chance to be more thoughtful about this challenging situation." The movie holds a 64% rating at Rotten Tomatoes and 56% at Metacritic. Nina Caplan of Time Out London accused the movie of dishonesty: "But it's not clear why a pretty daddy's girl would fall for a talkative and lonesome engineer with Asperger's and a space fixation."

The movie was also somewhat of a flop, making only around 80% of the spent budget at the box office and losing millions of dollars to the producers.




Adam had its world premiere at the 2009 Sundance Film Festival on January 20, 2009 where it won the Alfred P. Sloan Prize for "an outstanding feature film focusing on science or technology as a theme, or depicting a scientist, engineer or mathematician as a major character." Although producer Leslie Urdang was initially doubtful of the film's chances of finding a distributor at Sundance, Fox Searchlight Pictures bought the distribution rights. In March 2009, Adam was screened at the Method Fest Independent Film Festival, winning the Jury Award for Best Picture. It was shown at the Seattle International Film Festival, Edinburgh Film Festival, CineVegas Film Festival and San Francisco Jewish Film Festival before it had a U.S. theatrical release on July 29, 2009. It was released on DVD January 5, 2010




Max Mayer formed the idea for Adam when he heard a man with Asperger syndrome being interviewed on National Public Radio about how he viewed the world. He was intrigued and, after doing further research on Asperger's, felt that the syndrome was a metaphor for "the tension between all of us human beings [... and] the desire to connect to one another". As he worked on the screenplay, Mayer drew the character of Adam from the man he had heard talking on the radio in addition to his research, while Beth's character was based on numerous people Mayer knew. Hugh Dancy and Mayer worked together for a month before filming began to develop Adam's character, and in preparation for his role, Dancy spoke with individuals affected by Asperger's about their feelings, sensory issues and interests.

Principal photography took place in New York City in December 2005. Specific filming locations included Greenwich Village and Central Park




i think that hugh dancy was absolutley brilliant throughout this movie as adam (the lead role throughout this movie) as he played the part really well, because some of the things that adam does in this movie i do, as well because i have aspergers syndrome as well



Mayer was inspired to write the film's script when he heard a radio interview with a man who had Asperger's.

Filming took place in New York in December 2005. The film premiered at the 2009 Sundance Film Festival, where it won the Alfred P. Sloan Prize, and was released in the United States on July 29, 2009. The release date in Canada and the UK was 7 August 2009 in Australia, and everywhere else after Labor Day.



man i think that this is such an enjoyable romantic movie 2 watch, its got a great cast throughout this movie....its got a good soundtrack throughout this movie...i think that this is such an enjoyable movie 2 watch with a great cast throughout this movie.....
½ August 27, 2014
Hugh Dancy delivers a stellar portrayal of Asperger's syndrome in this light hearted romantic charmer.
½ August 3, 2014
A movie about relationships and Asperger's Syndrome. I have mixed feelings about this movie and the role Beth played in his life. She started the relationship too soon after a breakup and when he was vulnerable as his father had just died. Then they both played each other to get what they wanted without looking at the whole picture or being willing to sacrifice for each other. He should have been working with a coach/councilor to help with recognizing social situations and guiding him through difficult times way before she came along.
½ August 2, 2014
(First and only viewing - 8/8/2011)
July 15, 2014
Pretty good acting from the leads and lovely story
July 14, 2014
This movie isn't about a superhero, it's about a spectacular man who had to learn to live with the burdens of aspergers and that's what I love about this movie. It's not concept that's been overdone hundreds of times and it gives an honest peek into the lives of people that we often glance oddly at. It's a sincere movie that's not simply about romance but also the journey and growth it had brought him. A must watch!
Page 1 of 67