2001: A Space Odyssey Reviews

Page 1 of 6
June 30, 2020
The faults of Space Odyssey are attributable to the fact that Kubrick is unwilling to give structure to his emotions, or to put in philosophical context ideas which have metaphysical connotations. There are three plots in Space Odyssey and they never mix.
April 10, 2020
Way ahead of it's time, Stanley Kubrick delivers one of the most influential and important films of all time. {Full review in Spanish]
March 4, 2020
Films like 2001: A Space Odyssey may come along only once in a generation, but is it too much to ask for a film with a bit of artistic flair, or at least a modicum of dignity and a respect for actual storytelling?
January 31, 2020
A triumph of surpassing technical mastery and probing thematic eloquence. It is everything we ever dreamed it could be.
July 26, 2019
Stanley Kubrick's excellent film reaches the status of a masterpiece. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 28, 2019
Stanley Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey is the picture which science-fiction enthusiasts of every age and in every corner of the world have prayed (sometimes forlornly) that the industry might one day give them.
June 11, 2019
Stanley Kubrick's whirligig vision of past and present, inner and outer space, is an overwhelming space opera of visual dance and prophetic trance.
June 9, 2019
Thekey to unlocking the humour and understanding Kubrick's intentions can be found in the director's previous film.
May 1, 2019
A film of such symbolic and visceral power as "2001" invites various interpretations, like a prism you can turn at different angles, each revealing a new facet.
January 19, 2019
Watching 2001 on the 50th anniversary of its release brings about feelings of both wonder and disappointment.
December 19, 2018
Among the most important and iconic pictures ever produced... [it] continues to amaze and inspire.
November 16, 2018
Director Stanley Kubrick's amazing marriage of music and images - seen at its absolute best in the space ballet of the capsule docking to the strains of Strauss' Blue Danube waltz - points to what we can achieve as a species when we put our minds to it.
October 10, 2018
It's a profound statement on humanity. It is one of the greatest films ever made, and it is one that should be seen in theaters to truly appreciate its greatness.
September 12, 2018
My makeup was smudged because I had tears running down my face...the beauty of the cosmos, I loved every minute of it.
September 6, 2018
2001: A Space Odyssey is an experience, with one of the best soundtracks ever.
August 29, 2018
2001: A Space Odyssey shows violence, deception, and hubris as built inside our DNA with permanence fated to fuel our demise.
July 13, 2018
[2001] endures as a monument to monumental filmmaking not because it's asking big questions or positing big answers, but because it just looks so damn good on the big screen.
July 10, 2018
Part of the pleasure one derives from 2001 is watching it coolly chip away at a lot of restrictive assumptions about how you construct a spectacular.
June 19, 2018
2001 is something which will never go out of fashion. As long as there are people, it's a film that will grace our big screens time and time again.
May 27, 2018
Revisiting 2001: A Space Odyssey on its 50th anniversary in 70mm is a real trip... It is an enthralling marriage of music, imagery, sound and philosophy.
Page 1 of 6