3:10 to Yuma - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

3:10 to Yuma Reviews

Page 1 of 1753
December 5, 2016
The decent cast keeps you watching and thinking there might be something to this film. But, in the end it's just a confused mess with the characters throughout acting in ways that just don't make any sense.
½ December 3, 2016
James Mangold's best work to date, 3:10 to Yuma is a modern Western remake that brings out the best from the genre along with an excelente cast - led by powerful performances from Christian Bale and Russell Crowe.
November 22, 2016
Excellent plot dynamic juxtaposing and contrasting the noble, lawful and Christ-fearing poor farmer attempting to see the criminal to justice, as the criminal turns the table on its head by comparing his traditionally "wrong" value system with the flaws and hypocrisies of the lawful and righteous man. Excellent character study btw these two contrasting perspectives, uprooting simplistic notions of "good vs evil", although the specifics of the ending might strain belief for many; it conforms to the basic premise and morale of the story, but seems to do so in a way that is forced rather than organic- still only a minor flaw hiwever
½ November 10, 2016
A swashbuckling quintessential western that's both exhilarating and emotional; all held up by excellent characters and performances.
½ November 7, 2016
Ben foster boosts this
November 4, 2016
What sticks out to me in this western film is the acting, because there is a ton of suberb actors with great talent in this film. Russell Crowe is amazing as outlaw Ben Wade. He is nasty and a stone-cold killer and yet so charismatic. He plays alongside the protagonist, Christain Bale. Now although Bale's Dan Evans doesn't really have any interesting character traits that make him different than many other heroes in Western movies, but Christain Bale always brings a great level or dedication and heart to his roles that he makes it work. The rest of the cast including Ben Foster, Peter Fonda, Alan Tudyk, Logan Lerman and Dallas Roberts all do an excellent job too. Now with lots of movies I've seen, either you get great acting, or great action. It's hard to find a film with both. This film has both. Bullets fly, and when they hit, you feel it. I also love how the wild west is shot in this film. In reality, I just love the aesthetic of Western films. If you are new to the Western Genre, this is a great one to start with because this film is fantastic!
½ November 3, 2016
It really is the only time I've seen Christian Bale play a half way normal character. It was a good movie.
½ October 22, 2016
Absolutely gorgeous and brutal western.
½ October 4, 2016
Nothing interesting to keep us move.
½ October 3, 2016
4.5/5. A really excellent western with outstanding performances all around. The train itself isn't in the film much, and I was really hoping for an action scene involving the train, but apart from that, 3:10 to Yuma delivers more than one would expect.
October 1, 2016
It is extremely rare that any remake in American cinema is as good as the original but this can be said for this updated version of the classic western from 1957 which starred Glenn Ford and Van Heflin.

Here, Christian Bale gives a very good performance in his role as Dan Evans, a hard-up rancher trying to earn money and his family's respect by escorting an outlaw (Russell Crowe) on his way to jail. Crowe is also good in his role as Ben Wade, the man who terrorizes 1800s Arizona until he is captured.

The direction from James Mangold (his first film since the absolutely superb Walk the Line) is very good because he keeps a tense atmosphere going from start to finish and also allows good action sequences, some of these are well-filmed and there is excellent cinematography to be provided thanks to the glorious sunny weather. The script is well written by Michael Brandt, Derek Haas and Halsted Welles because it makes the story easy to follow.

Some of the violence can be a little uncomfortable to view in places but this is part of the story so therefore it has to be included. Westerns are now quite rare on the screen so it does create anticipation when they appear, unlike the Golden Age of Hollywood.

This western remake is one that is enjoyable as the original because it works very well due to the gripping action sequences and the terrific performances from Bale and Crowe. Mangold can be very proud of himself.
September 20, 2016
good movie to watch!!
September 19, 2016
Best all around movie I've ever seen!
September 6, 2016
Very good Western led by great Russell Crowe and Christian Bale performances
August 18, 2016
am not normally a fan of westerns but this was very entertaining
August 7, 2016
Great film with fantastic acting and sharp directing. Better than the original, that's for sure.
August 3, 2016
Well made western ,Crowe and Bale are top form ,well acted ,lot of action ,
One complaint wierd ending
But overall enjoyable movie
½ July 29, 2016
Very good in many ways, but the psychological groundwork behind Wade's final sequence of choices - needed far more work imo. And it's a key feature.
July 24, 2016
****
With good performances from both Russel Crowe and Christian Bale, 3:10 to Yuma succeeds in being a fun, classic-esque western.
July 24, 2016
some serious acting and character study without a plot or dialogue which can hold your attention for the entire run-time.
Page 1 of 1753