Akira - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Akira Reviews

Page 1 of 439
½ September 25, 2016
at first it isn't easy to understand the movie, but if you look online for an explanation - it makes a lot more sense
September 22, 2016
*English Dub*
Stunning in every sense.
September 18, 2016
This movie is like the anime equivalent of Citizen Kane. Several anime fans and critics praise it as one of the best anime films of all time. While it might have been groundbreaking for its time, I think it's a little overrated. I would still recommend for anime fans to watch it at least once (or maybe twice so you understand it better), but there are a lot more anime films and series that I consider much better than this.
September 12, 2016
Animação espetacular. Obrigatório.
½ September 2, 2016
The animation in this film is beyond amazing. It delivers art on a whole other level! The problem is, I found the story to be both boring and confusing. There is no sense of proper story structure and the pacing is abysmal. Still, I can see why so many people like it, I just wish the story did service to the beautiful animation.
September 2, 2016
Probably one of the best IF not the best Anime Film ever.
August 29, 2016
Akira puts the most unlikely of individuals at the center of an apocalyptic event.
Super Reviewer
August 20, 2016
Dazzling, frenetic, audacious and insane. This movie gave me at least half a dozen things I had never seen in my life. You feel kind of dazed and blinded when it's over. My partner tells me that the anime series Neon Genesis Evangelion is even better and darker than Akira though... to which I replied "How the heck can it be darker than this?!"
August 19, 2016
This film is as absolutely stunning today as it was almost 20 years ago. You will struggle to catch your breath as you watch it, and may have difficulty sleeping for a day or two. It defined every trait of what I consider good animation to be, and stands as a benchmark for every other animated film yet to come.
If only I could give it more stars...
August 16, 2016
Anime has always been a polarizing medium, as it has been labeled exaggerated/nerdy/dumb or hailed as a sophisticated medium, and while I grew up watching classic anime (from the more childish ones like "Dragon Ball Z" and "Yu Gi Oh!" to more mature ones like "Full Metal Alchemist" and "Cowboy Bebop") I most of the time find them silly and cliched.But few works have surprised audiences and shown the potential of the medium, recently with Miyazaki and his studio, but the film that solidify anime/manga and even managed to leave its mark in the sci-fi genre is the cult classic "Akira".

At the verge of the XXXII Olympic Games, Tokyo has been replaced with Neo Tokyo and its filled with anti government terrorism and gang violence. With society as fucked up as it is, many religious leaders predict the arrival of a violent savior called Akira. On an standard night a young biker, named Tetsuo, finds himself in a dangerous position with the Tokyo government but little does he know what the future has planed for this boy.

It isn't for nothing that anime has earn a reputation of an exaggerated, melodramatic, cliched and at times gross and perverted, so when an anime receives the level of praise this film achieved it made me want to watch it a few years ago (plus the fact I will watch any acclaimed sci-fi film) and I got to say Katsuhiro Otomo's work is quite something. "Akira" has beautiful animation that hasn't aged a day, striking visuals, an atmosphere is a mixture of "Blade Runner" and "A Clockwork Orange" with a little Orwellian vibe and the standard anime formula, it uses a high level of violence effectively for setting a mood (it's not just there to be shocking or tasteless), an insane and trippy story that starts with promise but it ultimately gets far up its own ass, the character designs are distinct (which is not as usual in the medium as it is required) and cool looking, the action sequences are what you would expect from anime but the combination of guns blazing and supernatural powers is quite unique (I haven't seen anime fights quite unique and intense since I saw "Cowboy Bebop", which I know came latter), it's world is so creative and out there that I find it extremely fascinating to watch, the character relationships are believable (I can see where the Naruto and Sasuke bromance came from) and it is overall quite fun to watch. But sadly this impressive and gorgeous film has numerous issues. The characters lack personality as they are just stereotypes, the story is a little hard to follow at times, the dialog is at times groan inducing (not surprising for Japanese animation), the standard anime comedy is so dumb and awkward, Tetsuo is the worst written character I have seen in a while, the third act goes on too long, and the last 15 minutes go to Psychomagic bullshit territory (not surprising considering Otomo made that ending after meeting Jodorowsky) but what's funny is that it tries to come off as "2001" (when I was 14 I though it was a mind blowing finale but it really is a tacked on addition). Furthermore it needs to be said that you need to like anime or even know about it as it follows the standard formula of the medium which you may go with or you won't (the world is bizarre and they don't try to give sense to it, the action is composed by massive explosions, technology is shown as destructive but also as miraculous, the characters are as over the top as the setting, the soap opera writing and the awkward comedy).

"Akira" is one undeniably the most influential anime film ever made (it is debatable whether it is the best but no other film has achieved the same impact as Otomo's work, not even Miyazaki) as it is creative, unique, gorgeous, mesmerizing, mostly solidly written and extremely fun to watch. If you can go with anime logic then you will enjoy this film but if you can't or prefer kid friendly anime like Pokemon then I recommend to stay away from it. It is not for everyone and has major flaws but it still is powerful and highly entertaining.
August 16, 2016
very strange but enticing
½ August 14, 2016
Another WTF anime from Japan right here. Seriously, all the stuff going on in the end was very bizarre, like Evil Dead type stuff. It's not boring which is one positive I suppose. Also, how on Earth did they predict Tokyo(:ahem: 'Neo' Tokyo) was going to get the Olympics in 2020 when this came out in 1988? Hmm...
August 12, 2016
l know the movie was about cyberpunk gangs in late 1980s anime
whatever their kaneda and tetsuo had gotten better than naruto and sasuke have no rest of anime.
August 9, 2016
1940's Fantasia Is My Tenth Favorite Film Of All Time.
August 5, 2016
As far as anime goes. This is the peak. This is the "go to" for first time anime fans. Fabulous animation and a deep rooted storyline. Very cool film.
July 6, 2016
Back then in the early 2000s, I enjoyed it. But nowadays I find it as overrated as Crash.
It's just so damn annoying seeing it's face everywhere.
It's not the masterpiece everyone thinks it is.
July 3, 2016
I watched this because I heard it was a classic, but afterwards I have no idea how it got that title. So much is unexplained: Why are there grey midget psychic people? Why does that red motorcycle only have like two minutes of screen time? Why is every. single. character such a piece of shit? Seriously there's not a single damn character I could root for. EVERYBODY is a bad guy. And the way the conflict is resolved is some microchip turns into a god and vaporizes a crazy guy and then just disappears, and then the credits roll? This movie sucks. Would not recommend.
June 30, 2016
Amazingly powerful to the animation and performances, even though occasionally out-of-sync with each other in the midst of losing melodramatic steam, while structured by the same culturally perspective taste in storytelling; sums up into an entertaining picture with dystopian sci-fi mixed conventions. However at the unappealing side of it that threatened its level isn't pretty by its violent contents when animated under the aforementioned genre to a scale of disaster in addition that are deemed disturbing. Worth watching though, but the unpleasant contents are bitter to swallow when watching it. (B+)

(Full review TBD)
Page 1 of 439