Anamorph - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Anamorph Reviews

Page 1 of 20
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
A serial killer movie with the brilliant Willem Dafoe. This movie reminds much of Zodiac and Seven because the killer have a unique way of killing his victims. I would probably wanted more thriller from this flick and more tempo but still its a decent flick.
August 22, 2014
Unlike Silence of the Lambs or Se7en Anamorph lacks urgency but delivers a movie that is more of an art piece, literally. In that sense it's more like Christopher Nolan's Prestige. The film also manages to take the widely accepted cliches of the detective thriller genera and turn them around.
February 3, 2014
Dark. Slow. Shallow and disjointed narrative. Intriguing but unsatisfying. You don't share the main characters obsession. There's no point to the whole mystery. Big waste of time.
November 25, 2013
Anamorph: the truth depends on where you stand--wonderfully dark!!
½ June 30, 2013
i enjoy a good old fashioned detective vs serial killer story but this really does push the line of boredom and stupidity. dafoe has no real plot or character to work with and especially speedman who could have read he's lines minutes before delivering them.
this is definitely not the worst detective film but its far from the best
April 25, 2013
A film whose creative plot would have been better executed in other hands. Enjoyable, but ultimately a let-down when it came to tying up its story. A weaker Seven, essentially.
½ April 6, 2013
Great idea but there was something missing, it was watchable
February 8, 2013
The most action you'll get from this is some running men in the first hour. Yet worth seeing once, not completely bogus still overall a dozen flick.
January 23, 2013
interesting story line
½ January 21, 2013
muy buena, luego de pecados capitales una de las mejores de investigacion de asesinos seriales
½ January 15, 2013
This film is basically two hours of Dafoe's character drinking himself - nearly literally - to death. The only surprise in this film is that you didn't have enough clues or character knowledge to be surprised. It was just a grim, sad waste of time.

Willem Dafoe is excellent actor. Peter Stormare is an excellent actor. But this film just sucked. Slow doesn't make the movie bad, it was just bad. The sketchy plot mixed with artistic ramblings of anamorphic detail aren't cohesively drawn together in a meaningful way for a plot except to highlight some gore which is illustrated from several perspectives, finally at the end. I really appreciate the artistic vision, but as entertainment, it put me to sleep. (Seriously, I fell asleep and had to re-watch the film - which was even more disappointing.)

I generally don't like to make negative comments or reviews on the works of others, even when they suck, but this film warranted one. It's just too bad that these great actors were shamed with this end result.
December 7, 2012
Certainly a strange film, although the slow build up and visuals are really outstanding at times. Not sure about Director Henry Miller's other works but quite enjoyed the anamorphic theme...Unsure about the ending but will have to re-watch sometime. Willem Dafoe's hair & Scott Speedman's acting seemed major annoyances.
October 20, 2012
i think that this could have been a very good movie but it was too busy being stylized and artsy and forgot to build the characters and the tie the plot together. it just kind of stumbled over itself and i was left to believe the implausible to help the director along. disappointing.
½ October 17, 2012
Thriller som är bra den första timman och där finns en del klyftiga mord (man är väl lite makaber) som alla har nåt med konst att göra. Willem Dafoe är polisen som 5 år innan varit med och dödat en seriemördare Uncle Sam, men nu verkar det vara nån copy-cat som dödar precis som Uncle Sam gjorde.

Som jag skrev så är den första timmen bra och regissören har på ett listigt sätt lagt ut lite ledtrådar lite här och där men sen blir det bara flummigt och obegripligt och slutet ska vi inte prata om, jag fattade absolut inget av slutet. För en gång skull i en amerikansk film så får Peter Stormare spela en normal roll.
March 19, 2012
There is just a fine line between murder and art. And this fine line seems to vanish in "Anamorph". Beautiful, carefully arranged still lifes appear allover New York. They are just not to be seen in galleries. They are crime scenes, where the murderer composed his art from corpses.

Detective Stan Aubray (Willem Dafoe) works for the New York police. He lets his intuition lead him, so you can say he is more a profiler, than a plain detective. He is obsessed with cleanness and order, he likes to drink, and he flees from the ghosts of the past. And those ghosts become very present again, when he starts to investigate the murders. He failed to solve a very similar crime-series five years ago, and he never got over that. Now, he smells the chance to wash his name white again and most important of all, he smells the chance to calm his own conscience.

The movie is very dark and the colors and music are gloomy. The "art-objects" are cruel, but also very tempting. And they are much more than the work of a psychopath. They are jigsaws. Beautiful jigsaws.

Soon Aubray feels that he is somehow part of the enactment of the killer. The killer wants him to be on the right track and he makes sure that Aubray gets enough clues to follow him on his bloody way.

As much as I liked the movie and as much as it drew me under it's spell, just as much I was disappointed by the ending when I finished watching. I love movies where I have no idea where they will lead to. And "Anamorph" is one of those movies. I just lay back and let the flow carry me thorugh the movie. But the ending was a little too simple for me. A little too flat. I hoped for something bigger. Maybe something more shocking....but after a while, I understood why the ending is good the way it is. The murders are pompous, cruel and beautiful. The work of Aubray is fascinating, captivating and disturbing. This movie is not about the end. It is about the process of getting to the end. It is about sneaking into a sick mind. And I like that very much!
March 13, 2012
the beginning was ok but after an hour this movie became quite shitty.
2/5
½ March 2, 2012
i like ,sick as HELL
February 8, 2012
A dark, slow, humorless movie that worked for me nonetheless. Might have scored it higher, but the ending was clumsy and did not answer the main question that hovers throughout the film.
January 30, 2012
Watched 5 minutes. Stupid sicko murderer movie
January 30, 2012
Very noir. I wish I understood ending. Would not recommend foe anyone.
Page 1 of 20