ANIARA Reviews

Page 1 of 3
February 13, 2020
ANIARA does not offer a resolution, nor hope, nor catharsis. The film presents, if anything, a warning: our existence is a universal privilege to cherish, not a selfish entitlement to be hubristically guarded.
January 21, 2020
Aniara mostly feels like a dramatization of facts rather than telling a story.
November 12, 2019
Although little of this is new, it's delivered with poise and grace, aided by finely tuned performances. Interpersonal dynamics are explored with a light touch but it takes only the slightest deviation to reveal great gulfs of darkness.
October 22, 2019
It's an acquired taste and its view on humanity is perhaps blacker than the depths of space, but Aniara is sci-fi of melancholy near-brilliance.
September 30, 2019
You start going through all the logistical problems inherent in this scenario... [But] once I was able to get past some of that, then I was able to absorb some of the big existential questions.
September 5, 2019
Aniara cogently makes the point that if mankind ever does manage to leave this blighted planet for another, we'll bring our problems with us.
September 3, 2019
Aniara is a compelling study of human nature, which never shies away from condemning the ways in which mankind has scuppered its own continued existence, and will continue to do so even when it does consider a move into the stars.
August 31, 2019
A haunting allegorical tale, Aniara warns of humanity hurtling in the wrong direction and realising too late that there is no turning back.
August 31, 2019
Pella Kagerman and Hugo Lilja's adaptation of a 2018 sci-fi poem finds bleak beauty in a nihilisitic odyssey.
August 29, 2019
Special effects are used minimally, the directors instead concentrating on the fragile human emotions of the disparate travellers, among whom Jonsson especially impresses.
August 29, 2019
A strange and unsettling sci-fi which has a rather bleak outlook on the future of humanity.
August 28, 2019
A cold, cruel, piercingly humane sci-fi parable that's both bang on the zeitgeist and yet also unnervingly original.
August 20, 2019
It's terrifying precisely because it looks current rather than space age. We see ourselves reflected more clearly, and don't have the luxury of thinking that a futuristic setting means we have time to spare. Oh and the ending is a belter.
August 16, 2019
Aniara watchers will be divided into exactly one of two camps: those who think that this bleak and mournful contemplation of life is nigh-perfect and those who are furious about having been tricked into watching a Swedish space orgy.
July 5, 2019
Aniara is an assortment of ideas that never gel together into a single narrative, instead half-forming into a fractured tale that fails to connect with the human emotion it tries to portray.
July 2, 2019
Aniara is a bold and beautiful film, that is sweeping in both its scope and thematic complexity.
June 7, 2019
An ambitious concept launches this atmospheric science-fiction saga into orbit, before a lumbering script strands it in the cosmos.
May 24, 2019
"Aniara" may be the coolest, costliest, most dystopian shaggy-dog story ever filmed.
May 22, 2019
For those onboard with its relentless, brutal fatalism, Aniara is remarkable.
May 17, 2019
A corker of an ending kind of makes up for long stretches of nothingness, and if you can make it to the end, there is a reward. This is one strange trip.
Page 1 of 3